Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I wanted

PostedJuly 11, 2014
I have a late 2013 iMac. I am using this enclosure with an SSD as my boot drive. No trouble putting it together. The USB 3.0 cable is very stout. Transfer speed is what I have come to appreciate from OWC products.
Pros: Quality, ease of assembly
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Denver
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedJune 29, 2014
I'm using this 120 GB Ext SSD FW800 on an iMac 20" Early '09. It was taking about 4 minutes to boot 10.8. I moved to 10.9 on this smaller drive, except for my iTunes and iPhoto libraries.It is now my preferred machine; over the mac bk pro, chrome bk, iPad 3. Responds nicely and is now a pleasure to use. Boot time might be under a minute.
Made this old dog of a machine usable for the next few years at least!
Customer sec helped to pick it out. They made it easy for me. Pricing is good also.
Pros: Quality
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedJune 23, 2014
bought this because i needed a bus-powered 7200rpm portable drive. works great in the field, i have used it to record multi-track audio and had no problems.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Austin, TX
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedJune 22, 2014
I am a Mac addict. I use this drive to back up my iMac. I must own 5 or 6 of these drives that I have bought over the years to image everything from eMac to iMacs for school and home. They are compact, easy to use and have never given me any trouble. Everyone who sees these drives is impressed enough to buy one for themselves.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Elizabeth, NJ
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these 1TB USB drives; have more'n half a dozen!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Over some number of years now, I've slowly purchased more'n'more of these. I use 'em for daily (and yearly, long-term, etc.) drives - "driven" perfectly by Mike Bombich's stellar-great, VERY low-cost Carbon Copy Cloner.
(Have two attached to my Mac at any one time, each partitioned into two logical drives. Have CCC set to clone to one partition each night - first to 1st partit on 1st drive, then to 1st partit on 2nd drive, then to 2nd partit on 1st drive, then to 2nd partit on 2nd drive. That gives me full bkups for the last four nights, plus having CCC archive all removed files ... which slowly fills-up the drive and requires either a new drive or selective deletions of the archives, once every few months.)
Periodically, I rotate some of the drives to off-site storage. They're sufficiently low-cost to do this without cringing.
Pocket-sized (well, for large pockets :-); powered off of the USB connection; quiet; reliable. Couldn't ask for more!
--jim
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hansville WA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unit assembles easily, works great

PostedMay 30, 2014
The unit came with good instructions and plenty of the correct screws.
Easy to install the SSD in the unit, and easy to put everything together.
Works fine in my Mac Mini, and seems quite speedy using the provided FireWire 800 cable.
Pros: Quality, Durability, compact design
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oregon
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little bulky, but works good

PostedMay 29, 2014
The enclosure is a little bulky, bigger than a off the shelf external hard drive. But overall it works good, as fast as the drive inside the enclosure.
Pros: Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Montreal, Qc
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning Performance

PostedMay 15, 2014
top construction, easy to assemble, works perfectly, I love the USB 3.0 / Firewire 800 combination. It supports Firewire 800 daisy chaining.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Vancouver, B.C.
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 120GB SSD has great features like having both FireWire and USB connections.

PostedMay 3, 2014
I was seeking an external drive I could put a lot on, but recall any small or large file quickly. The 120GB SSD matched my needs. Technical support offered by OWC was "right-on" it, in answering my questions. Really, what more could you ask for from the product or vendor?
Pros: Quality, Durability, multi-connectivity, compact
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Conyers, GA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works !

PostedApril 28, 2014
Put in an SSD drive, mounts right away on Snow Leopard, passes power to the bus powered Firewire interface (that's two bus powered devices on a 2009 MacBookPro). Extra bonus - didn't get too hot. Glad I got this, recommend !
Pros: Quality, Durability, heat dissipation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boston
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC + TIM = TOP NOTCH!!!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
First off before I proceed with this review, I have to give a big shoot out to Tim for his expertise as well as wealth of knowledge in the products I was looking to buy. He defintely explained every aspect of each product I was looking into buying with great detail. This is my second time going with OWC and they have yet to let me down.
Pedro J Jr
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
This is a great little FW800 kit for any drive. Very fast and great protection for your hard drive. Highly recommend this to anyone with a spare drive! A superb deal at this price!
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Broken Arrow, OK
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Specifications misleading, SSD owners look elsewhere

PostedNovember 23, 2013
I purchased this enclosure because I had a spare SSD lying around that I would like to put to good use. To my unpleasant surprise, this enclosure did not meet my speed requirements.Benchmarks could not score anything higher 280MB Sequential Read and write using USB 3.0. There is a clear difference in being able to use 6 a Gb drive and getting the speeds of a 6 Gb drive. In this case, this enclosure is NOT 6Gb capable, OWC should revise the specifications and indicate it is 6Gb compatible, but not 6Gb capable.
This kit is more suitable to mechanical drives, as I suspect that the enclosure is a 3 Gb chip.
In addition, I have observed that this drive has a tendency to disconnect itself when using the front panel USBs, though this is of minor concern, (I find this to be unusual as 2.5 inch drives do not require much power, and that the drive being installed in this enclosure was an SSD) this can solved by using the rear USB ports instead.
I was using a Samsung 830 in that enclosure kit, I would like to return this product but the shipping charges along with the restocking fee greatly discourages me from doing so.
Pros: Quality, Durability, aesthetics
Cons: not really 6gb
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Other World ComputingTech SupportTech SupportNovember 27, 2013
This drive is indeed 6Gb/s compatible and capable - see the benchmarks for the enclosure with an OWC 6G SSD pre-installed: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Othe...
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best enclosure kit for 2.5" SATA HDD/SSD

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
This product is one of the best purchase I've made and glad I made the right choice. Before I decided to get this product, I've done my homework searching around for a good all rounder enclosure kit for my Samsung 840 pro SSD. It is one of the few that have both the FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 ports. Been using it almost daily for the last 3 months and have not disappoint me once. With good built quality and excellent features and not to mention at a very affordable price, for me OWC have scored a perfect 10 with this product!!
Pros: Durability, Quality, excellent features, ease of use, affordable price
Cons: none so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brunei
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup solution and no power cord

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
I grew out of my smaller On the Go hard drive and upgraded to the 1.0 TB. It is set up with Time Machine and easily stored (hidden, actually). It is BUS Powered and thus no power cord to contend with.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

popped my mini 1tb right in

PostedJune 30, 2013
I upgraded my mini to a 2 drive system and used this enclosure so that I could use the drive as a backup for other items. It works great. It's got a power button to turn the drive off and the case is simple to set-up.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from denver
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work for me.

PostedJune 25, 2013
I bought this enclosure in May, hoping to put one of my older SSD's in it to use as an external drive. Unfortunately, it doesn't work for me, at least not the way I hoped it would.
The issue I have with this is weaker bus power than is required for the enclosure. That is, when I connect this drive to the computer by the USB 3.0 cable provided with the unit, the drive will sometimes show up but will get disconnected while operation from time to time. I imagine that cannot be good for my drive, so I am not feeling too good using this unit to house my drives.
I contacted OWC support about this issue, and they told me that there could be something wrong with the provided USB cable. Indeed... I tried another USB cable(from OWC fyi) and it did work without problem(at least for a short time.), but the USB cable provided with this on-the-go unit performs just fine on the OWC Express that I have, so I'm not really sure if the cable is to blame, at this time.
At any rate, I'm not going to risk my data with a stuttering connection; the enclosure has a little jack where you can add another USB bus power cable or a DC power cable, so I think if the need arises, I'll just use the extra power with this enclosure. But that means this enclosure isn't being bus powered after all, which is my problem ultimtately.
In the meantime, I think an OWC Express or OWC mercury elite pro mini would do the job just fine if you need a quality enclosure. I really, really liked the transparent design and the fancy blue LED of this drive, but... this is the first time I had a USB enclosure with an unstable connection, so I guess I'll settle for the other enclosures for now.
Pros: design
Cons: Durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding products & service

PostedJune 22, 2013
This is my second SSD from OWC. The first was an internal drive for a PPC PB G4 and the improvement in performance was significant. The online installation videos were also excellent. The second was an external SSD for backup for this same PB and, again, the quality of build and appearance are both first-rate. Of note, the first drive I purchased was the USB-only and wouldn't mount on my older PB because of inadequate power from the USB ports, so I went for the Firewire option and it works flawlessly. OWC handled the exchange efficiently and without hassle, and the replacement drive arrived in 2 days. This is an outstanding company to do business with as are their products.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bay Area
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedDecember 26, 2012
I bought this so I could quit using my old Apple Time Capsule for backups. I was tired of the wifi connection drop-outs that sometimes happened when Time Machine would start a backup.
I use the FireWire 800 connection and backups are done before you know it.
The drive ships with a FireWire 800 cable, a USB 2 to USB 3 cable and a disc with data backup software.
Pros: Quality, quiet, small footprint
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Mountainair, NM
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

otimo product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
received on time and I am already using case ... very fast .. I'm using him as a 750 gb hd that was in Pro mac .. was very fast ... conecxao extra doors are very fast to ... usb and normal as any other .... but the high speed of it .. really are high-level
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Burini
from Brasil
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>