Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
37 out of 40(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
The drive holds a huge amount of info at a reasonable price. The fact that it's USB powered means one less power cord hanging down the back of my desk.
Backing up is way cheaper than getting files off a crashed hard drive.
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Upstate NY
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Needed to add an SSD drive as a backup. Easy to add the SSD drive to the unit and had the drive up and running in minutes.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lincoln, Nebraska
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No problems, and it’s very cute

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alamo CA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Arrived quickly worked perfectly

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Well thought out product. Does exactly what I wanted.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boone, Iowa
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedAugust 27, 2014
I have two of these, one formatted with OS X and the other NTFS. Great for high speed mobile data transfers. If you intend to use a 7200rpm drive that draws a bit of power, note that the drive may not always switch on over USB. Best to try another USB port or if connected to a desktop, always use the USB ports on the back of the tower as they can supply more power.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Burleigh Heads, QLD Australia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent external drive

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Lightweight, big capacity, small power consumption, quiet.... what else do you want in a drive? This is the second one I've bought. The first is still running great, too!
Pros: Quality, Durability, bus-powered, portable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from WMass
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent speed for use with SSD's

PostedAugust 22, 2014
With its Firewire 800 speed this enclosure this enclosure complements the high speed of SSD's very nicely.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Canyon Lake, TX
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, slim and fast

PostedAugust 20, 2014
This nice, small external USB 3.0/2.0 external drive is everything you are hoping it will be when you are looking at drives. It's fast, small/slim and easy to use. Plug it in, it shows up on the desktop, start using it. It even has a heat sink to help extract heat out of the enclosure. I highly recommend this unit.
Pros: Quality, Durability, slim/small
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Charlottesville, VA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it so much, I bought 2

PostedAugust 7, 2014
I research and recommend products for clients regularly. My first stop is typically OWC because I rarely have to go elsewhere. This little drive is wonderful for training people to backup. I set it up using the OWC software, then turn it over to the client. All they have to do is remember to connect.
Pros: Quality, Durability, small size, included carrying case
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alaska
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice enclosure

PostedJuly 25, 2014
It's very practical as well as stylish. 2 Firewire ports allows you to daisy-chain. Has on on/off switch. The combo Firewire 800/USB 3 means you're guaranteed to get high performance no matter what Mac you're connecting to. (I have some 3+ year old Macs with USB 2.) Also, its transparency allows you to quickly identify exactly what drive it is. Plus it's cool looking. :)
My only suggestion: It took me a while to figure out how to stick my SSD into the enclosure. The instructions were more for software installation and not hardware.
Pros: Quality, Durability, high performance, versatility, nice looking!
Cons: could use better h/w instructions
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Modi'in, Israel
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I wanted

PostedJuly 11, 2014
I have a late 2013 iMac. I am using this enclosure with an SSD as my boot drive. No trouble putting it together. The USB 3.0 cable is very stout. Transfer speed is what I have come to appreciate from OWC products.
Pros: Quality, ease of assembly
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Denver
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedJune 29, 2014
I'm using this 120 GB Ext SSD FW800 on an iMac 20" Early '09. It was taking about 4 minutes to boot 10.8. I moved to 10.9 on this smaller drive, except for my iTunes and iPhoto libraries.It is now my preferred machine; over the mac bk pro, chrome bk, iPad 3. Responds nicely and is now a pleasure to use. Boot time might be under a minute.
Made this old dog of a machine usable for the next few years at least!
Customer sec helped to pick it out. They made it easy for me. Pricing is good also.
Pros: Quality
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedJune 23, 2014
bought this because i needed a bus-powered 7200rpm portable drive. works great in the field, i have used it to record multi-track audio and had no problems.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Austin, TX
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedJune 22, 2014
I am a Mac addict. I use this drive to back up my iMac. I must own 5 or 6 of these drives that I have bought over the years to image everything from eMac to iMacs for school and home. They are compact, easy to use and have never given me any trouble. Everyone who sees these drives is impressed enough to buy one for themselves.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Elizabeth, NJ
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these 1TB USB drives; have more'n half a dozen!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Over some number of years now, I've slowly purchased more'n'more of these. I use 'em for daily (and yearly, long-term, etc.) drives - "driven" perfectly by Mike Bombich's stellar-great, VERY low-cost Carbon Copy Cloner.
(Have two attached to my Mac at any one time, each partitioned into two logical drives. Have CCC set to clone to one partition each night - first to 1st partit on 1st drive, then to 1st partit on 2nd drive, then to 2nd partit on 1st drive, then to 2nd partit on 2nd drive. That gives me full bkups for the last four nights, plus having CCC archive all removed files ... which slowly fills-up the drive and requires either a new drive or selective deletions of the archives, once every few months.)
Periodically, I rotate some of the drives to off-site storage. They're sufficiently low-cost to do this without cringing.
Pocket-sized (well, for large pockets :-); powered off of the USB connection; quiet; reliable. Couldn't ask for more!
--jim
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hansville WA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unit assembles easily, works great

PostedMay 30, 2014
The unit came with good instructions and plenty of the correct screws.
Easy to install the SSD in the unit, and easy to put everything together.
Works fine in my Mac Mini, and seems quite speedy using the provided FireWire 800 cable.
Pros: Quality, Durability, compact design
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oregon
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little bulky, but works good

PostedMay 29, 2014
The enclosure is a little bulky, bigger than a off the shelf external hard drive. But overall it works good, as fast as the drive inside the enclosure.
Pros: Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Montreal, Qc
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning Performance

PostedMay 15, 2014
top construction, easy to assemble, works perfectly, I love the USB 3.0 / Firewire 800 combination. It supports Firewire 800 daisy chaining.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Vancouver, B.C.
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 120GB SSD has great features like having both FireWire and USB connections.

PostedMay 3, 2014
I was seeking an external drive I could put a lot on, but recall any small or large file quickly. The 120GB SSD matched my needs. Technical support offered by OWC was "right-on" it, in answering my questions. Really, what more could you ask for from the product or vendor?
Pros: Quality, Durability, multi-connectivity, compact
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Conyers, GA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>