Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.803 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
64 out of 67(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go
Fantastic, smooth, noiseless, portable the best external Hard Drive, I'm a musician and composer in need to travel with big files, 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro takes care of all of it ....
Pros: Durability, Quality, poratable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NYC
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owc mercury on the go usb3.0 & firewire case

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
I love it! I really use it! Faster! The best buy ever!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Montevideo, uy
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good case...

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
My second case like this. That says it. If I didn't like the first one, I wouldn't have bought another. I do like metal cases better, but maybe they aren't made now. Cooling issues have changed I guess.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from The Prairie
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice drive

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Nice drive. Formatted easily and works fine. Installed easy in my MBP 15". Extra drive is nice and sturdy for the old drive. Not sure if it is much faster than my old drive but I have lots more space.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from California
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best external drive!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
I got this drive to be my backup. Awesome product! Cool looking and perfect performance. I'll buy more soon!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still working as advertised

PostedDecember 6, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Workhorse of an Enclosure

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
I have lost count of the number of drives that have cycled through this enclosure over the years since I bought it. It has served as an emergency backup drive, and enclosure to hold internal drives that have been upgraded until they could be "migrated" to the new drive or new computer, to transport large amounts of data that would not fit on an SD card or thumb drive, temporary boot drive when running beta software, etc. Through it all the enclosure has been absolutely trouble free, dead bang reliable, and fast.
Pros: Quality, Durability, reliability, compatibility, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fort Worth, Texas
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as expected

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Bought this for a grandson in his freshman year at college. Works well as a backup for the MBP we bought him.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Michigan, US
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around SSD

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
After replacing all the internal HDD of my Mac Pro for SSD´s, I was looking to have an external SSD to move heavy files around and to be able to do it as fast as possible. This SSD is not only reliable but very fast. Avg. I´m getting 200 MB/s write and 340 MB/s read speeds.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Chile
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The HD is fine, but s/w is not.

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
The HD seems to work as advertised but the s/w that came the with it is not easy to use. I ended up buying Carbon Copy Cloner which use to come with it.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Evergreen, CO
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast_firewire

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Nice looking device with a sturdy quality feel to it. Used to back up MacBookPro data of about 110GB. Connected through the firewire port, data transfer took approximately 2 hours, which felt swift.
The promise of super-quiet definitly holds up..
Pre-formatted for Mac the 120GB SSD is ready to go as soon as it is connected*
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 6, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's fast quiet and very portable

PostedDecember 5, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability, very portable, like the fact it it usb powered. one less charger
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedNovember 30, 2014
This is a very well made unit that does exactly what I wanted it to. Fast and reliable, it goes on the road with me and functions flawlessly. Definitely recommended.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Texas
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 15, 2014
This seems to be the ideal product for keeping my backups while on the move.
It has good additional features and the Firewire connection suits my older MacBook perfectly
Thanks
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New South Wales, Australia
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An eminently useful portable drive

PostedNovember 11, 2014
I use the portable drive for two purposes. One is to provide backup storage when I am away from Time Machine on a photo shoot. The second is when I am upgrading or fixing a customer's Mac; then I use it to copy the customer's startup volume in case things go south, as they say. At this point the drive has been fast, reliable, and convenient.
Pros: Durability, Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boston, MA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Transaction, great support

PostedOctober 31, 2014
I had pretty well decided upon this product from OWC as an addition to my computer complex, but needed to confirm my understanding of the connection arrangements. Upon contacting OWC Support not only did I get a complete explanation but some good advise on how to better utilize the product than I had previously determined.
The subsequent order was very simple and the delivery was amazingly quick.
The unit fully meets my requirements.
I shall return to OWC for any further needs.
Pros: Quality, Durability, support service, online tutorials
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Indiana
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedOctober 28, 2014
I currently use external drives for the majority of my motion projects (animation, editing, vfx). So far, OWC's drives have worked very well. I always have a good experience with OWC and hope they continue to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Excellent way to return life to an old Mac Book. Works well and sped up computer performance that we decided to keep the old computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Macgeorge
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Works perfectly x 2 weeks. Really sped up the performance of the old laptop so much, we decided to keep it instead of selling it.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>