Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.789 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
5 stars
76
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
80 out of 84(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great back up drive

PostedMarch 27, 2015
I needed a back up hard drive and I wanted one that didn't need a separate power supply for when I travel. This one works as advertised. Comes with both Firewire and USB cables and has a nice light on it to tell you it's on. Formatting for Apple OS was a breeze.
Pros: Quality
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Torrance CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mercury Drive

PostedMarch 27, 2015
great drive. use it for weekly backups. Works great. NIce bag for storage when not in use.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from philly
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Compliments my late 2013 Mac Pro. My goal is to run all SSDs since spinning hard drives can be stressful when you're traveling. I love the speed, quality and assurance.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaces HD on late-2009 iMac 11,1

PostedMarch 20, 2015
I am using this item as a replacement for the hard drive on my 27" iMac 11,1 (late 2009). It was easy to connect, format, and load (using the iMac's migration assistant). The instructions were clear and precise, the drive and enclosure appear well made, and the price is just right. It is no wonder that this item has been highly rated by MacWorld and others.
Pros: Durability, Quality, easy set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Clovis, CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great service- great product

PostedMarch 15, 2015
I now have 3 owc portable harddrives. They work well out of the box. OWC is very quick to fill the order. I'll try to remember to write another updated review after a year or so after I have a chance to experience their durability and reliability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from chicago
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A smok'n fast SSD !

PostedMarch 12, 2015
This SSD was purchased to store video for surveillance system. It is stupid fast and the entire connection process was a breeze. Being SSD no noise and the light on it gives my office a nice blue hue with the lights out. Could not be more satisfied with this drive...
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Tracy, CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly handy

PostedMarch 2, 2015
I have purchased several of these drive enclosures over the years and ease of set up and portable convenience can not be beat. I carry one with me at all times to do a quick backup of a client or friend's data as a safety measure. They come with a handy carrying case and necessary cables. Also, BUS powered and so convenient.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Richmond, VA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but I need a Thunderbolt equivalent

PostedMarch 1, 2015
This product is perfect for what it does, but really I should have waited until the thunderbolt version is available (whenever that will be). Even Firewire is not really fast enough for the purposes I wanted the case for (replacing the boot disk on an old iMac using an SSD drive I already have).
Also, it confused me when I received it with only one cable - the other cable was hidden inside the carry case which took me a while to find!
Pros: Quality
Cons: performance compared to thunderbolt
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Other World ComputingMarketingMarketingMarch 3, 2015
The Thunderbolt version is available here:
http://eshop.macsales.com/search/Me...
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Perth, Australia
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick Enclosure

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Excellent design and well made!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Monroe, NC
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Noob
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Very happy with the On-The-Go USB 3.0 2TB drive. It loses a star because the connector is a little vulnerable to carelessness (read; I messed it up a bit). But overall, very happy.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Los Angeles
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup solution

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Quality production. Very easy for installation. All cables included and also carrying case. So far very reliable. Ideal solution for backup.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Belgrade, Serbia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Works as advertised. Easy installation, attractive product, excellent packaging and shipped in a timely fashion.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Texas
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Enclosure!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
I had to remove and re-install a bunch of drives into this case because I was using it to recover data from a couple of failing drives as well as for backing up (cloning) my main laptop drive and finally installing a drive that I will use permanently in this enclosure for backup. I must have removed and installed a drive from the enclosure about twenty times over a period of a week or so. My analysis? This is a very high quality enclosure at a great price that I would recommend to anyone. It just works and that's what I expected from OWC. Great product.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Rock City Falls, NY
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's really good but..

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
It's nice to have usb 3 and firewire.
Putting it together took longer than expected because the metal thing inside needed to fit in the square hold of the plastic case. In order for me to get it right I had to not put two screws in but it still was secure.
So on the side there are two screws and one screw can slide a little. I kept that one in and didn't use the other one.
Customer Avatar
LaDude
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
I have used these cases several times to replace hard drive enclosures with failed bridge sets, where the drive itself is still good. In the latest instance, I needed to replace a Western Digital My Passport Studio enclosure - because WD offers no replacement cases for their drives. OWC provides a wide selection of connectivity options for their On-The-Go cases; I was able to actually upgrade from the FireWire 800/mini USB 2 WD case to a FireWire 800/USB 3 OWC case. While these cases are not inexpensive, the enclosures are solid and have an improved design that has an exposed heat-sink on the bottom of the case. Assembly is a bit tedious, with three sets of four screws and one set of two screws. But it provides an alternative to throwing away a perfectly good hard drive. And, if the drive eventually fails - as they all do - you can pop in a new drive without paying for yet another enclosure.
In addition, the On-The-Go enclosures can use a power adaptor if for any reason the drive won't mount on bus power alone. OWC offers power adaptors for a variety of drives and devices. I've purchased a number of these as well - as I did for this enclosure - see below.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: tedios installation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Northern California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast storage; very noisy

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
The 1tb drive I purchased is super fast. I hardly notice I'm using it as my secondary HD for my MBP. It does get noisy and clicky when processing at fast speeds or performing a backup.
All in all, great drive if you can handle a noisy one.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Houston,Tx
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 2.5'' external case available

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
The only thing that would make this better is if it had e-sata like the metal ones they sell , by the way the metal one with e-sata is the fastest external with their SSD in it that I can find .
Pros: Quality, Durability, transparent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from La.
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best portable drive

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
I purchased one of these and found it to be an excellent portable package. It is much better than the cheep portable products I bought which failed and the drive could not be replaced. It is easy to use and carry when I travel. I like it so much that I bought one for my daughter and one for a friend.
Pros: Quality, Durability, easy to change hdd if needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Dallas
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy for non-techie

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
I bought one to use as backup for my MacBook Pro. It was so easy to use that I quickly purchased a second one so that I can alternate (I like to switch out weekly and keep one safely stashed elsewhere). I know just enough about computers and technology to be dangerous, but this was truly simple to use. It takes a little time to open Time Machine preferences and select the disk when I switch them out, but for me it is worth the peace of mind (real or imagined). I pretty much plug it in and ignore it until I switch, I don't even notice it doing its thing in the background. A nice case holds the unit and cable. I bought mine back in April and have had no problems.
Pros: Quality, Durability, easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Burleson, TX
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go
Fantastic, smooth, noiseless, portable the best external Hard Drive, I'm a musician and composer in need to travel with big files, 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro takes care of all of it ....
Pros: Durability, Quality, poratable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NYC
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>