Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.803 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
54 out of 57(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still working as advertised

PostedDecember 6, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 6, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's fast quiet and very portable

PostedDecember 5, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability, very portable, like the fact it it usb powered. one less charger
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedNovember 30, 2014
This is a very well made unit that does exactly what I wanted it to. Fast and reliable, it goes on the road with me and functions flawlessly. Definitely recommended.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Texas
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 15, 2014
This seems to be the ideal product for keeping my backups while on the move.
It has good additional features and the Firewire connection suits my older MacBook perfectly
Thanks
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New South Wales, Australia
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An eminently useful portable drive

PostedNovember 11, 2014
I use the portable drive for two purposes. One is to provide backup storage when I am away from Time Machine on a photo shoot. The second is when I am upgrading or fixing a customer's Mac; then I use it to copy the customer's startup volume in case things go south, as they say. At this point the drive has been fast, reliable, and convenient.
Pros: Durability, Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boston, MA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Transaction, great support

PostedOctober 31, 2014
I had pretty well decided upon this product from OWC as an addition to my computer complex, but needed to confirm my understanding of the connection arrangements. Upon contacting OWC Support not only did I get a complete explanation but some good advise on how to better utilize the product than I had previously determined.
The subsequent order was very simple and the delivery was amazingly quick.
The unit fully meets my requirements.
I shall return to OWC for any further needs.
Pros: Quality, Durability, support service, online tutorials
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Indiana
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedOctober 28, 2014
I currently use external drives for the majority of my motion projects (animation, editing, vfx). So far, OWC's drives have worked very well. I always have a good experience with OWC and hope they continue to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Excellent way to return life to an old Mac Book. Works well and sped up computer performance that we decided to keep the old computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Macgeorge
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Works perfectly x 2 weeks. Really sped up the performance of the old laptop so much, we decided to keep it instead of selling it.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Blazing fast delivery and amazing product! love all the products.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Dubai
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast Compact Portable

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Using my "On the Go" to back up one of my external drives. Easy to use. OWC listened to what I wanted a back-up to do and made this recommendation. Have been very happy with it so far. Comes with it's own case.
Pros: Quality, Durability, small, fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Portland, ME
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
The drive holds a huge amount of info at a reasonable price. The fact that it's USB powered means one less power cord hanging down the back of my desk.
Backing up is way cheaper than getting files off a crashed hard drive.
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Upstate NY
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Needed to add an SSD drive as a backup. Easy to add the SSD drive to the unit and had the drive up and running in minutes.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lincoln, Nebraska
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No problems, and it’s very cute

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alamo CA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Arrived quickly worked perfectly

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Well thought out product. Does exactly what I wanted.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boone, Iowa
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedAugust 27, 2014
I have two of these, one formatted with OS X and the other NTFS. Great for high speed mobile data transfers. If you intend to use a 7200rpm drive that draws a bit of power, note that the drive may not always switch on over USB. Best to try another USB port or if connected to a desktop, always use the USB ports on the back of the tower as they can supply more power.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Burleigh Heads, QLD Australia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hard drive

PostedAugust 25, 2014
This is a good combination of storage capacity - spinning velocity - size - price. The only drawback I've found is that the firewire cable that comes with this unit is unreliable, it connects whenever it feels like it which is not most of the time, just replace that cable and you're good to go.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Guayaquil
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent external drive

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Lightweight, big capacity, small power consumption, quiet.... what else do you want in a drive? This is the second one I've bought. The first is still running great, too!
Pros: Quality, Durability, bus-powered, portable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from WMass
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>