Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
32 out of 35(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedAugust 27, 2014
I have two of these, one formatted with OS X and the other NTFS. Great for high speed mobile data transfers. If you intend to use a 7200rpm drive that draws a bit of power, note that the drive may not always switch on over USB. Best to try another USB port or if connected to a desktop, always use the USB ports on the back of the tower as they can supply more power.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Burleigh Heads, QLD Australia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent external drive

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Lightweight, big capacity, small power consumption, quiet.... what else do you want in a drive? This is the second one I've bought. The first is still running great, too!
Pros: Quality, Durability, bus-powered, portable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from WMass
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent speed for use with SSD's

PostedAugust 22, 2014
With its Firewire 800 speed this enclosure this enclosure complements the high speed of SSD's very nicely.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Canyon Lake, TX
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, slim and fast

PostedAugust 20, 2014
This nice, small external USB 3.0/2.0 external drive is everything you are hoping it will be when you are looking at drives. It's fast, small/slim and easy to use. Plug it in, it shows up on the desktop, start using it. It even has a heat sink to help extract heat out of the enclosure. I highly recommend this unit.
Pros: Quality, Durability, slim/small
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Charlottesville, VA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it so much, I bought 2

PostedAugust 7, 2014
I research and recommend products for clients regularly. My first stop is typically OWC because I rarely have to go elsewhere. This little drive is wonderful for training people to backup. I set it up using the OWC software, then turn it over to the client. All they have to do is remember to connect.
Pros: Quality, Durability, small size, included carrying case
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alaska
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice enclosure

PostedJuly 25, 2014
It's very practical as well as stylish. 2 Firewire ports allows you to daisy-chain. Has on on/off switch. The combo Firewire 800/USB 3 means you're guaranteed to get high performance no matter what Mac you're connecting to. (I have some 3+ year old Macs with USB 2.) Also, its transparency allows you to quickly identify exactly what drive it is. Plus it's cool looking. :)
My only suggestion: It took me a while to figure out how to stick my SSD into the enclosure. The instructions were more for software installation and not hardware.
Pros: Quality, Durability, high performance, versatility, nice looking!
Cons: could use better h/w instructions
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Modi'in, Israel
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I wanted

PostedJuly 11, 2014
I have a late 2013 iMac. I am using this enclosure with an SSD as my boot drive. No trouble putting it together. The USB 3.0 cable is very stout. Transfer speed is what I have come to appreciate from OWC products.
Pros: Quality, ease of assembly
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Denver
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedJune 29, 2014
I'm using this 120 GB Ext SSD FW800 on an iMac 20" Early '09. It was taking about 4 minutes to boot 10.8. I moved to 10.9 on this smaller drive, except for my iTunes and iPhoto libraries.It is now my preferred machine; over the mac bk pro, chrome bk, iPad 3. Responds nicely and is now a pleasure to use. Boot time might be under a minute.
Made this old dog of a machine usable for the next few years at least!
Customer sec helped to pick it out. They made it easy for me. Pricing is good also.
Pros: Quality
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedJune 23, 2014
bought this because i needed a bus-powered 7200rpm portable drive. works great in the field, i have used it to record multi-track audio and had no problems.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Austin, TX
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedJune 22, 2014
I am a Mac addict. I use this drive to back up my iMac. I must own 5 or 6 of these drives that I have bought over the years to image everything from eMac to iMacs for school and home. They are compact, easy to use and have never given me any trouble. Everyone who sees these drives is impressed enough to buy one for themselves.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Elizabeth, NJ
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these 1TB USB drives; have more'n half a dozen!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Over some number of years now, I've slowly purchased more'n'more of these. I use 'em for daily (and yearly, long-term, etc.) drives - "driven" perfectly by Mike Bombich's stellar-great, VERY low-cost Carbon Copy Cloner.
(Have two attached to my Mac at any one time, each partitioned into two logical drives. Have CCC set to clone to one partition each night - first to 1st partit on 1st drive, then to 1st partit on 2nd drive, then to 2nd partit on 1st drive, then to 2nd partit on 2nd drive. That gives me full bkups for the last four nights, plus having CCC archive all removed files ... which slowly fills-up the drive and requires either a new drive or selective deletions of the archives, once every few months.)
Periodically, I rotate some of the drives to off-site storage. They're sufficiently low-cost to do this without cringing.
Pocket-sized (well, for large pockets :-); powered off of the USB connection; quiet; reliable. Couldn't ask for more!
--jim
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hansville WA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unit assembles easily, works great

PostedMay 30, 2014
The unit came with good instructions and plenty of the correct screws.
Easy to install the SSD in the unit, and easy to put everything together.
Works fine in my Mac Mini, and seems quite speedy using the provided FireWire 800 cable.
Pros: Quality, Durability, compact design
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oregon
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little bulky, but works good

PostedMay 29, 2014
The enclosure is a little bulky, bigger than a off the shelf external hard drive. But overall it works good, as fast as the drive inside the enclosure.
Pros: Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Montreal, Qc
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning Performance

PostedMay 15, 2014
top construction, easy to assemble, works perfectly, I love the USB 3.0 / Firewire 800 combination. It supports Firewire 800 daisy chaining.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Vancouver, B.C.
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 120GB SSD has great features like having both FireWire and USB connections.

PostedMay 3, 2014
I was seeking an external drive I could put a lot on, but recall any small or large file quickly. The 120GB SSD matched my needs. Technical support offered by OWC was "right-on" it, in answering my questions. Really, what more could you ask for from the product or vendor?
Pros: Quality, Durability, multi-connectivity, compact
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Conyers, GA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works !

PostedApril 28, 2014
Put in an SSD drive, mounts right away on Snow Leopard, passes power to the bus powered Firewire interface (that's two bus powered devices on a 2009 MacBookPro). Extra bonus - didn't get too hot. Glad I got this, recommend !
Pros: Quality, Durability, heat dissipation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boston
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC + TIM = TOP NOTCH!!!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
First off before I proceed with this review, I have to give a big shoot out to Tim for his expertise as well as wealth of knowledge in the products I was looking to buy. He defintely explained every aspect of each product I was looking into buying with great detail. This is my second time going with OWC and they have yet to let me down.
Pedro J Jr
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
This is a great little FW800 kit for any drive. Very fast and great protection for your hard drive. Highly recommend this to anyone with a spare drive! A superb deal at this price!
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Broken Arrow, OK
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Specifications misleading, SSD owners look elsewhere

PostedNovember 23, 2013
I purchased this enclosure because I had a spare SSD lying around that I would like to put to good use. To my unpleasant surprise, this enclosure did not meet my speed requirements.Benchmarks could not score anything higher 280MB Sequential Read and write using USB 3.0. There is a clear difference in being able to use 6 a Gb drive and getting the speeds of a 6 Gb drive. In this case, this enclosure is NOT 6Gb capable, OWC should revise the specifications and indicate it is 6Gb compatible, but not 6Gb capable.
This kit is more suitable to mechanical drives, as I suspect that the enclosure is a 3 Gb chip.
In addition, I have observed that this drive has a tendency to disconnect itself when using the front panel USBs, though this is of minor concern, (I find this to be unusual as 2.5 inch drives do not require much power, and that the drive being installed in this enclosure was an SSD) this can solved by using the rear USB ports instead.
I was using a Samsung 830 in that enclosure kit, I would like to return this product but the shipping charges along with the restocking fee greatly discourages me from doing so.
Pros: Quality, Durability, aesthetics
Cons: not really 6gb
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Other World ComputingTech SupportTech SupportNovember 27, 2013
This drive is indeed 6Gb/s compatible and capable - see the benchmarks for the enclosure with an OWC 6G SSD pre-installed: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Othe...
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best enclosure kit for 2.5" SATA HDD/SSD

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
This product is one of the best purchase I've made and glad I made the right choice. Before I decided to get this product, I've done my homework searching around for a good all rounder enclosure kit for my Samsung 840 pro SSD. It is one of the few that have both the FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 ports. Been using it almost daily for the last 3 months and have not disappoint me once. With good built quality and excellent features and not to mention at a very affordable price, for me OWC have scored a perfect 10 with this product!!
Pros: Durability, Quality, excellent features, ease of use, affordable price
Cons: none so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brunei
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>