Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.819 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
95 out of 99(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit

PostedJuly 30, 2015
This great enclosure ensures I'll get added use from my replaced-by-an-SSD hard drive. It fits and works perfectly. I've never yet been disappointed by ANY OWC product, so please keep up your great standard of thoughtfully designed and built goodies for us Mac Book Pro people.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Los Angeles CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast reliable portable storage

PostedJuly 27, 2015
I have a large number of digital photos from digital cameras, film slides, and film negatives. I wanted a solution to have multiple backups in various locations. The 2.0 TB Portable Bus Powered Solution gave me this ability without having to deal with power supplies. The USB 3.0 interface is also extremely fast, so I can add data to all my drives quickly.
Next the quality is outstanding and the travel pouch is designed to assure the safe transport and storage of the drive. I definitely recommend this solution.
Pros: Quality, Durability, very fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for commuters

PostedJuly 23, 2015
I use this SSD storage device to hold ALL of my work-related files, amounting to over 130GB of data, source code, books, articles, and graphics. Every morning I throw it in my bag, and take it to work. In the evening I return home with it.
So far so good with reliability and durability. No errors of any kind in the two months or so that I have owned the product.
Being solid-state, it has a robust durability that rotating memory lacks. It has taken some pretty good knocks, bangs, and falls, without complaint or issues. I also like its speed and capacity.
Recommended.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Colorado
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 4, 2015
This portable drive is great. Easy setup, no problems. The clear look is fantastic. It comes with a case which can house the drive and cable (firewire). It might be a little big for some people but I can live with the size in exchange for the great features. Bravo!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Houston, TX
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Drive works great!! Compact, durable, fast. I edit video on my laptop with ease.
I've now bought 3 and will probably buy more.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hudson Valley, NY
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact & Great Features

PostedJune 29, 2015
I bought a new (2015) MacBook Pro OS X 10.10.3. When I tried (twice) to hook up the On-The-Go-Pro it would not use the installed software within the hard drive. I had to go to Mac Sales of your website and get information as to how to initialise the On-The-Go-Pro hard drive. When I followed the instructions all the software offered on the hard drive was erased. This meant that I no longer had access to your software bundled with the hard drive. That said, the On-The-Go-Pro has worked very good and am pleased with its performance. As a side note this is the fifth On-The-Go-Pro I have purchased over a ten year period and have always had great performance. Though this is the first time I have had to initialise the hard drive to the computer thereby losing the software bundle offered. I do not know weather this incompatibility was due to the newness of the MacBook Pro OS or the hard drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bangkok, Thailand
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Just Like It Should!

PostedJune 25, 2015
I have purchased a number of items from OWC over the years. From memory to internal and external disk drives, cables and accessories. Most, if not all have, been exactly as advertised. This is my second Mercury On The Go drive. It works exactly as advertised and as expected it should, and my older one is still chugging along. Powers up just fine on my mid-2015 MBP . I used it to back up my 2006 Mac Pro before selling it and moving on to Yosemite on two MBP's. Transferred data to my new laptops from the Mac Pro, which was running 10.7.5 and all went just fine.
What can you say about an external drive? It just works. The included software is really not of any use to me, but there are options built in to leave it, copy it to your main drive, etc.. So, no big deal.
Pros: Quality, ease of use, small footprint
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Virginia
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJune 18, 2015
Perfect and simple
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Missouri
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

PostedJune 16, 2015
Great tool
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Va
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mercury On-The-Go Pro

PostedJune 16, 2015
This is a very useful device. I am using as my TimeMachine backup and it works extremely well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Evergreen, Co
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great, just like you said it would

PostedJune 10, 2015
Works great, just like you said it would. And the sales rep lady was absolutely fabulous and went overboard to help us solve our problems.
Thanks,
We appreciate it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very dependable backup solution

PostedJune 8, 2015
I've owned this drive since May of 2011, and have used it with a Macbook Pro as a Time Machine backup drive. Never had any problems with it, and it still works great after over four years of use.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Dubois, Indiana
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable HD Enclosure

PostedMay 9, 2015
I purchased the OWC portable HD Enclosure (USB 3, FireWire 800) as a supplement to my other brand Thunderbolt external drive (that company has stopped making/supporting Thunderbolt). In terms of speed for what I use the external drive for (files, music, movies) no drag nor buffering. I am using a MacBookPro 13" 2015 (non-retina) USB 3. For the Enclosure I added a Seagate/Samsung 2 TB 5400 2.5" HD. I had the proper tools to install the HD & enclosure, taking five minutes total. One note: Be sure to tighten the screws securely between the aluminum heat sink and HD. There will still be a small amount of play once HD/heat sink are installed. Once the plate is installed everything becomes tight and otherwise secured.
Pros: Quality, Durability, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Camarillo, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best little external drive

PostedApril 19, 2015
Hefty in construction, lithe in size and shape, quiet, bus-powered, warranty.... what more do you need? This is the third Mercury On-the-Go USB drive I've bought from OWC.
Pros: Quality, Durability, bus-powered, quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from WMass
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Enclosure

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Quality built, and this thing flies! Very pleased with how product has held up and performance. Worth the $$$
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Georgia
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great back up drive

PostedMarch 27, 2015
I needed a back up hard drive and I wanted one that didn't need a separate power supply for when I travel. This one works as advertised. Comes with both Firewire and USB cables and has a nice light on it to tell you it's on. Formatting for Apple OS was a breeze.
Pros: Quality
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Torrance CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mercury Drive

PostedMarch 27, 2015
great drive. use it for weekly backups. Works great. NIce bag for storage when not in use.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from philly
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Compliments my late 2013 Mac Pro. My goal is to run all SSDs since spinning hard drives can be stressful when you're traveling. I love the speed, quality and assurance.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaces HD on late-2009 iMac 11,1

PostedMarch 20, 2015
I am using this item as a replacement for the hard drive on my 27" iMac 11,1 (late 2009). It was easy to connect, format, and load (using the iMac's migration assistant). The instructions were clear and precise, the drive and enclosure appear well made, and the price is just right. It is no wonder that this item has been highly rated by MacWorld and others.
Pros: Durability, Quality, easy set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Clovis, CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great service- great product

PostedMarch 15, 2015
I now have 3 owc portable harddrives. They work well out of the box. OWC is very quick to fill the order. I'll try to remember to write another updated review after a year or so after I have a chance to experience their durability and reliability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from chicago
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>