Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
All

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(147 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
5 stars
129
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
134 out of 139(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I needed, but glad I have it!

PostedApril 21, 2016
Now that OWC explained the DIY SSD's to me, I purchased this case not realizing I really didn't need portability, but that I did need the option of USB 3.0 & FireWire. So this was a good move. Like all the products I've purchased from OWC so far, no glitches, no issues, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable 2.5" FW800/USB3.0 went straight to work.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Nashville TN area
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 4, 2016
Easy To Used.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Awesome!

PostedApril 3, 2016
Rather than wipe and destroy a SATA hard drive that I replaced with a solid-state drive that I purchased from OWC, I saw this as an option to continue using the SATA hard drive. The assembly process was simple, thanks to the comprehensive tutorial. Everything is included here, even the USB cables. As an added benefit, the drive is powered by the USB cable, so no separate power cable is needed. I now have a bootable drive that I can use when I travel. The padded carrying case protects the drive and holds the cable.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, FL
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality, reasonable price.

PostedMarch 23, 2016
During the last two months I have placed multiple orders for hardware for my clients. I have never been disappointed with OWC products, information and support. I always choose OWC for mission critical hardware for myself and my clients. OWC equals stress free.
Pros: Quality, Durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product to have, easy to use and affordable.

PostedMarch 16, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Montreal, Quebec
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use it every day

PostedMarch 15, 2016
It's fast, efficient, and portable. I use Pro Tools at work, at home and on the road. I have a 1TB SSD in it which holds a lot of big sessions. This drive is always with me so my latest projects are always right at hand if I have an inspiration, or need to fix something quick. I can use it in my studios, or on my laptop in bed (my favorite way to work). Couldn't do without it.
Pros: Quality, Durability, size
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Drive

PostedMarch 10, 2016
I've ordered these drives before and have been very pleased with their performance and reliability. Great drive for the money....
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Enclosure !

PostedMarch 4, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability, s
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Enclosure !

PostedMarch 4, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability, size
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 29, 2016
Excellent product. Good service.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Marietta, GA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from 750GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB2 7200RPM Storage Solution.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these mobile devices

PostedFebruary 21, 2016
I love these mobile devices, particularly the fact that they do not require a separate power unit. Big plus!
Overall performance has always been excellent. I highly recommend!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these mobile devices!

PostedFebruary 21, 2016
I love these mobile devices, particularly the fact that they do not require a separate power unit. Big plus!
Overall performance has always been excellent. I highly recommend!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these mobile devices!

PostedFebruary 21, 2016
I love these mobile devices, particularly the fact that they do not require a separate power unit. Big plus!
Overall performance has always been excellent. I highly recommend!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice product with quality

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super fast!

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
I love this external drive, it has been a power house for me! Being Solid state, I feel it's far more durable for traveling with compared to a conventional drive which has lots of moving parts. It also has very fast read/right speeds, great for on the fly video editing and for transferring and viewing large photo files.
The only slight downside is the housing is far larger than it needs to be, adding some unnecessary bulk. But it is very well made.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: size
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, Pa
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Encased Drive

PostedFebruary 16, 2016
Like it so far. Used to back up my wife's Air book. Throw it right into the safe. Comes with a nice neoprene protector too. Fine little gadget. Lots of connector options.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Aiken, SC
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for archiving

PostedFebruary 6, 2016
It seems like only a few years ago buying a terabyte external hard drive cost a small fortune. This was on sale at a price I could afford. And it was just what I needed. I determined my laptop was sluggish and showing too many beachballs from a too full hard drive. After copying all my video and music files to the Mercury hard drive and deleting stuff that I didn't need on my laptop then defragging, my laptop finally got it's speed back and no beachballs. I have several of Mercury on the Go hard drives. Love them. It gets power from the USB on my laptop though I did buy a power cable to plug in the wall just in case. it's small, fast, quiet and has a cool blue blinking light that indicates when working and when resting. It really shows up in the dark. Some shareware is included. It also comes with a carry case which holds both the drive and the cable. The case is sturdy and I don't worry about stuffing it in suitcase or computer bag.
Pros: Quality, Durability, quiet, plug and go, great price, wide selection of connectors, can buy power cord for wall outlet
Cons: not wireless
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

solid performance

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
As a backup for my digital music collection this is a fine product. I needed capacity and reliability at a reasonable price. I could wish for more transfer speed and perhaps more options for continuing backups, but those are quibbles not major concerns. OWC is a consistently good performer in my experience.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A USB 3.0 drive that works with lots of drives connected!

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
I have a couple of backup drives and several other USB peripherals connected through an industrial strength 7-port USB3 25W powered hub connected to my MacBook Pro. Basically all ports are full. I've tried out two other USB drives, and doing a clone from my internal SSD drive to them would inevitably end in errors, even when not connected through the hub! I think OWC's drive came with a better cable... it has shielding rings on both ends. (I tried the cable with a cheaper drive, and it worked.)
Thanks for a problem-free product all around, OWC!!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, reliable and the USB is a bonus

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>