Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
48 out of 51(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedOctober 28, 2014
I currently use external drives for the majority of my motion projects (animation, editing, vfx). So far, OWC's drives have worked very well. I always have a good experience with OWC and hope they continue to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Excellent way to return life to an old Mac Book. Works well and sped up computer performance that we decided to keep the old computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Macgeorge
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Works perfectly x 2 weeks. Really sped up the performance of the old laptop so much, we decided to keep it instead of selling it.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Blazing fast delivery and amazing product! love all the products.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Dubai
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast Compact Portable

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Using my "On the Go" to back up one of my external drives. Easy to use. OWC listened to what I wanted a back-up to do and made this recommendation. Have been very happy with it so far. Comes with it's own case.
Pros: Quality, Durability, small, fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Portland, ME
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
The drive holds a huge amount of info at a reasonable price. The fact that it's USB powered means one less power cord hanging down the back of my desk.
Backing up is way cheaper than getting files off a crashed hard drive.
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Upstate NY
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Needed to add an SSD drive as a backup. Easy to add the SSD drive to the unit and had the drive up and running in minutes.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lincoln, Nebraska
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No problems, and it’s very cute

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alamo CA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Arrived quickly worked perfectly

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Well thought out product. Does exactly what I wanted.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boone, Iowa
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedAugust 27, 2014
I have two of these, one formatted with OS X and the other NTFS. Great for high speed mobile data transfers. If you intend to use a 7200rpm drive that draws a bit of power, note that the drive may not always switch on over USB. Best to try another USB port or if connected to a desktop, always use the USB ports on the back of the tower as they can supply more power.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Burleigh Heads, QLD Australia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hard drive

PostedAugust 25, 2014
This is a good combination of storage capacity - spinning velocity - size - price. The only drawback I've found is that the firewire cable that comes with this unit is unreliable, it connects whenever it feels like it which is not most of the time, just replace that cable and you're good to go.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Guayaquil
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent external drive

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Lightweight, big capacity, small power consumption, quiet.... what else do you want in a drive? This is the second one I've bought. The first is still running great, too!
Pros: Quality, Durability, bus-powered, portable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from WMass
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent speed for use with SSD's

PostedAugust 22, 2014
With its Firewire 800 speed this enclosure this enclosure complements the high speed of SSD's very nicely.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Canyon Lake, TX
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 21, 2014
I have two of these firewire drives - one for a start-up - one cloned weekly from the start-up - a drive failure means all of two minutes down-time - this drive is perfect and fast....
barry
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Vancouver Island
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, slim and fast

PostedAugust 20, 2014
This nice, small external USB 3.0/2.0 external drive is everything you are hoping it will be when you are looking at drives. It's fast, small/slim and easy to use. Plug it in, it shows up on the desktop, start using it. It even has a heat sink to help extract heat out of the enclosure. I highly recommend this unit.
Pros: Quality, Durability, slim/small
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Charlottesville, VA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it so much, I bought 2

PostedAugust 7, 2014
I research and recommend products for clients regularly. My first stop is typically OWC because I rarely have to go elsewhere. This little drive is wonderful for training people to backup. I set it up using the OWC software, then turn it over to the client. All they have to do is remember to connect.
Pros: Quality, Durability, small size, included carrying case
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alaska
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice enclosure

PostedJuly 25, 2014
It's very practical as well as stylish. 2 Firewire ports allows you to daisy-chain. Has on on/off switch. The combo Firewire 800/USB 3 means you're guaranteed to get high performance no matter what Mac you're connecting to. (I have some 3+ year old Macs with USB 2.) Also, its transparency allows you to quickly identify exactly what drive it is. Plus it's cool looking. :)
My only suggestion: It took me a while to figure out how to stick my SSD into the enclosure. The instructions were more for software installation and not hardware.
Pros: Quality, Durability, high performance, versatility, nice looking!
Cons: could use better h/w instructions
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Modi'in, Israel
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I wanted

PostedJuly 11, 2014
I have a late 2013 iMac. I am using this enclosure with an SSD as my boot drive. No trouble putting it together. The USB 3.0 cable is very stout. Transfer speed is what I have come to appreciate from OWC products.
Pros: Quality, ease of assembly
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Denver
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value

PostedJuly 1, 2014
I bought OWC's Mercury-On-the-Go external hard drive as a Time Machine backup for my new Mac Pro, that has a 1 TB SSD. It offers the best value for the specs. Competitors don't offer 1 TB USB 3.0 drives that are 7200 RPM at this low price. Others only offer a slower 5400 RPM, so this drive is much faster and cheaper. The Mercury on-the-Go uses a transparent case, so you can see the exact hard drive specs, and know what HD brand you are actually getting. I used to use full-size external hard drives for my backup, but find that their reliability is no better than the smaller drives, plus I like the smaller footprint. It shipped and arrived very quickly, set-up easily and so far has worked flawlessly. OWC branded hardware I find is dependable and their phone service is always friendly and helpful, so I consider them a reliable source that stands behind their products. I just wish they would offer this product with a Thunderbolt 2 connection.
Pros: Quality, Durability, owc service
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York City
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>