Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.832 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 131 reviews
5 stars
114
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
119 out of 123(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for archiving

PostedFebruary 6, 2016
It seems like only a few years ago buying a terabyte external hard drive cost a small fortune. This was on sale at a price I could afford. And it was just what I needed. I determined my laptop was sluggish and showing too many beachballs from a too full hard drive. After copying all my video and music files to the Mercury hard drive and deleting stuff that I didn't need on my laptop then defragging, my laptop finally got it's speed back and no beachballs. I have several of Mercury on the Go hard drives. Love them. It gets power from the USB on my laptop though I did buy a power cable to plug in the wall just in case. it's small, fast, quiet and has a cool blue blinking light that indicates when working and when resting. It really shows up in the dark. Some shareware is included. It also comes with a carry case which holds both the drive and the cable. The case is sturdy and I don't worry about stuffing it in suitcase or computer bag.
Pros: Quality, Durability, quiet, plug and go, great price, wide selection of connectors, can buy power cord for wall outlet
Cons: not wireless
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

solid performance

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
As a backup for my digital music collection this is a fine product. I needed capacity and reliability at a reasonable price. I could wish for more transfer speed and perhaps more options for continuing backups, but those are quibbles not major concerns. OWC is a consistently good performer in my experience.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A USB 3.0 drive that works with lots of drives connected!

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
I have a couple of backup drives and several other USB peripherals connected through an industrial strength 7-port USB3 25W powered hub connected to my MacBook Pro. Basically all ports are full. I've tried out two other USB drives, and doing a clone from my internal SSD drive to them would inevitably end in errors, even when not connected through the hub! I think OWC's drive came with a better cable... it has shielding rings on both ends. (I tried the cable with a cheaper drive, and it worked.)
Thanks for a problem-free product all around, OWC!!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, reliable and the USB is a bonus

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Gothenburg Sweden
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speeds up back-ups from MBP greatly

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
I have a late '08 MBP 2.53Ghz which I have upgraded with an SSD 480 Gb HD. It has rejuvenated it so much that I needed an external enclosure to place a spare 7200 rpm HD which could be used on both MBP with Firewire 800 & use USB-3 with my new 27" Imac.
The Backups from the MBP via Firewire 800 to the 7200 HD is great, compared to my experience in the past with slower HD's. Of course, via USB-3 its faster still.
Extremely pleased, gets a little warm but no worries.
Pros: Quality, Durability, so easy to do anyone can do it, extends life of legacy items, permits advantage of fast new connections, all cables suppllied
Cons: absolutely none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional & affordable external hard drive

PostedDecember 27, 2015
I bought this to use as my Time Machine backup on my MacBook Pro. So far, it's been great. MacSales has a good reputation, and my own experience suggests that it's deserved. Highly recommended if you're looking for an external hard drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Be Beat

PostedDecember 26, 2015
For the price and the quality, you can't beat the 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM. I have a few older models 40GB and 100GB that I needed to replace as they aren't compatible with the newer iMacs. This drive is perfect. Plug and play. I use the Apple Time Machine with it and there are no configuration problems. I am pleased with my purchase as I am with anything I have bought from Macsales.
Pros: Quality, Durability, potability
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Elizabeth, NJ
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, no complaints.

PostedDecember 22, 2015
This little drive feels very sturdy, compact yet it sits solidly on a flat surface. Not quite as cheap as some portable drives but this thing feels well worth the quality boost price.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These drives are great

PostedDecember 22, 2015
This is my 4th OWC Mercury and they are flawless.
I have one in both laptops I own and now also have started using them externally as backup drives, as they have become so affordable.
I don't even consider other drives when I buy.
The On the Go enclosure is very fast to assemble and high quality.
I travel some 200 days a year and those enclosures never blink.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from NEPA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very handy product

PostedDecember 21, 2015
The product is excellent and the customer support was superlative. It suited my needs for a new startup disk for both my old iMac, using Firewire 800 and for my Mac'Book Air, using the USB 3 port.
Pros: Quality, convenience
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Age: Over 65
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always as expected

PostedDecember 21, 2015
Every order has been perfection on what was advertised and performed perfectly . shipping was fast and tracking worked right on... Im happy and will always continue with OWC
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Chattanooga,Tn
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great little hard drive enclosure

PostedDecember 11, 2015
I purchased this enclosure to provide access to the hard drive from my MacBook Pro while its logic board was being repaired -- a sad story involving a spilled glass of beer. :-( It performed flawlessly, as have all the drives and enclosures I've previously purchased from OWC.
Pros: Quality, Durability, value
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Exeter, RI
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable backups at a reasonable price

PostedNovember 29, 2015
There are no bells or whistles with this -- you plug it in, you turn it up, you back up your computer. I regard this simplicity as a feature. The reliability has been rock-solid, as with every OWC drive I've bought.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from DC
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice unit.

PostedNovember 20, 2015
This is a quality product accomplishing everything it is supposed to do.
Looks good, great build quality.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Australia
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to setup

PostedOctober 1, 2015
works great and easy to setup
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Monterey, CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best external backup for MacBook Pro

PostedSeptember 25, 2015
I have used these Mercury On-the-Go enclosures for many, many years and have owned about six of them. I continuously upgraded as new / different bus connections became available. Not a single one ever gave me a problem. Easy to upgrade the drives inside as you upgrade the capacity of your laptop. Fast enough for backups or even booting if necessary. I use these to clone my internal drives and tend to use the FireWire 800 port. They get warm during longer (45m) backups, but that's what the heat sink is for, and they never get super hot. You can rely on them. Has a power switch if you want to keep them plugged in but off. Bus powered, so no need for external power. Small, light, and durable enough to keep in a backpack or laptop bag. Only gripe is that you may not like the small blue light on the controller board. It is not annoying, I prefer it, but it does exist and may annoy you if you are Donny Darko.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backup drive

PostedSeptember 24, 2015
I use this for a Timemachine back, daisy chained with the same drive which has a SSD as my secondary drive- all connected to a 2010 Mac mini, this way it does not slow the boot time that a USB drive did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Christchurch NZ
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed and stability.

PostedSeptember 19, 2015
The 240GB SSD external matches up nicely with the 240 SSD internal - both from OWC giving me all the speed and stability I can expect out of my macBook plus lower power consumption. Almost like a processor upgrade. Once again I'm completely satisfied with an OWC product.
Pros: Quality, Durability, low power use
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Sequim, WA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product... excellent company.

PostedSeptember 9, 2015
This external hard drive is small and extremely functional. I like buying from OWC because they are swift in their deliveries, they have high quality products and excellent customer service and warranty options.
Thanks OWC!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>