Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

Other World Computing 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution

500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Oxford FireWire 800&400+USB3 5400RPM 8MB Cache Portable SATA 2.5" based Storage Solution. Connection Cables, Carrying Case, Prosoft Data Backup, and Intech HD SpeedTools included. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Review 1 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC + TIM = TOP NOTCH!!!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
First off before I proceed with this review, I have to give a big shoot out to Tim for his expertise as well as wealth of knowledge in the products I was looking to buy. He defintely explained every aspect of each product I was looking into buying with great detail. This is my second time going with OWC and they have yet to let me down.
Pedro J Jr
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
This is a great little FW800 kit for any drive. Very fast and great protection for your hard drive. Highly recommend this to anyone with a spare drive! A superb deal at this price!
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Broken Arrow, OK
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Specifications misleading, SSD owners look elsewhere

PostedNovember 23, 2013
I purchased this enclosure because I had a spare SSD lying around that I would like to put to good use. To my unpleasant surprise, this enclosure did not meet my speed requirements.Benchmarks could not score anything higher 280MB Sequential Read and write using USB 3.0. There is a clear difference in being able to use 6 a Gb drive and getting the speeds of a 6 Gb drive. In this case, this enclosure is NOT 6Gb capable, OWC should revise the specifications and indicate it is 6Gb compatible, but not 6Gb capable.
This kit is more suitable to mechanical drives, as I suspect that the enclosure is a 3 Gb chip.
In addition, I have observed that this drive has a tendency to disconnect itself when using the front panel USBs, though this is of minor concern, (I find this to be unusual as 2.5 inch drives do not require much power, and that the drive being installed in this enclosure was an SSD) this can solved by using the rear USB ports instead.
I was using a Samsung 830 in that enclosure kit, I would like to return this product but the shipping charges along with the restocking fee greatly discourages me from doing so.
Pros: Quality, Durability, aesthetics
Cons: not really 6gb
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Other World ComputingTech SupportTech SupportNovember 27, 2013
This drive is indeed 6Gb/s compatible and capable - see the benchmarks for the enclosure with an OWC 6G SSD pre-installed: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Othe...
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best enclosure kit for 2.5" SATA HDD/SSD

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
This product is one of the best purchase I've made and glad I made the right choice. Before I decided to get this product, I've done my homework searching around for a good all rounder enclosure kit for my Samsung 840 pro SSD. It is one of the few that have both the FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 ports. Been using it almost daily for the last 3 months and have not disappoint me once. With good built quality and excellent features and not to mention at a very affordable price, for me OWC have scored a perfect 10 with this product!!
Pros: Durability, Quality, excellent features, ease of use, affordable price
Cons: none so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brunei
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup solution and no power cord

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
I grew out of my smaller On the Go hard drive and upgraded to the 1.0 TB. It is set up with Time Machine and easily stored (hidden, actually). It is BUS Powered and thus no power cord to contend with.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

popped my mini 1tb right in

PostedJune 30, 2013
I upgraded my mini to a 2 drive system and used this enclosure so that I could use the drive as a backup for other items. It works great. It's got a power button to turn the drive off and the case is simple to set-up.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from denver
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work for me.

PostedJune 25, 2013
I bought this enclosure in May, hoping to put one of my older SSD's in it to use as an external drive. Unfortunately, it doesn't work for me, at least not the way I hoped it would.
The issue I have with this is weaker bus power than is required for the enclosure. That is, when I connect this drive to the computer by the USB 3.0 cable provided with the unit, the drive will sometimes show up but will get disconnected while operation from time to time. I imagine that cannot be good for my drive, so I am not feeling too good using this unit to house my drives.
I contacted OWC support about this issue, and they told me that there could be something wrong with the provided USB cable. Indeed... I tried another USB cable(from OWC fyi) and it did work without problem(at least for a short time.), but the USB cable provided with this on-the-go unit performs just fine on the OWC Express that I have, so I'm not really sure if the cable is to blame, at this time.
At any rate, I'm not going to risk my data with a stuttering connection; the enclosure has a little jack where you can add another USB bus power cable or a DC power cable, so I think if the need arises, I'll just use the extra power with this enclosure. But that means this enclosure isn't being bus powered after all, which is my problem ultimtately.
In the meantime, I think an OWC Express or OWC mercury elite pro mini would do the job just fine if you need a quality enclosure. I really, really liked the transparent design and the fancy blue LED of this drive, but... this is the first time I had a USB enclosure with an unstable connection, so I guess I'll settle for the other enclosures for now.
Pros: design
Cons: Durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding products & service

PostedJune 22, 2013
This is my second SSD from OWC. The first was an internal drive for a PPC PB G4 and the improvement in performance was significant. The online installation videos were also excellent. The second was an external SSD for backup for this same PB and, again, the quality of build and appearance are both first-rate. Of note, the first drive I purchased was the USB-only and wouldn't mount on my older PB because of inadequate power from the USB ports, so I went for the Firewire option and it works flawlessly. OWC handled the exchange efficiently and without hassle, and the replacement drive arrived in 2 days. This is an outstanding company to do business with as are their products.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bay Area
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedDecember 26, 2012
I bought this so I could quit using my old Apple Time Capsule for backups. I was tired of the wifi connection drop-outs that sometimes happened when Time Machine would start a backup.
I use the FireWire 800 connection and backups are done before you know it.
The drive ships with a FireWire 800 cable, a USB 2 to USB 3 cable and a disc with data backup software.
Pros: Quality, quiet, small footprint
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Mountainair, NM
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

otimo product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
received on time and I am already using case ... very fast .. I'm using him as a 750 gb hd that was in Pro mac .. was very fast ... conecxao extra doors are very fast to ... usb and normal as any other .... but the high speed of it .. really are high-level
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Burini
from Brasil
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Product

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
I have 5 and highly recommend them to friends and family. True, there are more compact and stylish external drives on the market but these feel solid and durable. Plus, I really like the clear enclosure which allows you to easily see and read the hard drive label. This is handy if you upgrade the drive mechanisms or need to keep track of multiple drives because you can easily tell what's inside. I have been using Mercury On-The-Go portable drives for over 4 years and very pleased.
Pros: Quality, Durability, unique see-thru case
Cons: not real pretty
Customer Avatar
Paul
from Paul
Age: 45-54
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and effective fire insurance

PostedJuly 3, 2012
I just purchased my fourth OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB drive. They have proven invaluable for sending back and forth to clients and photographers for large file transfers, as they are small and easy to use. This summer I found another use for them; the Colorado wildfires have posed a serious threat to property, mine included, so I videoed my entire home and its contents for insurance purposes. These large video files went directly upon the On-The-Go drive and to the safe deposit box at my bank. The small size of the drive makes this possible. I have probably 10TB of various OWC drives, and while there are cheaper drives on the market, they are no bargain if they fail. I've had excellent luck with all OWC storage products and will buy no others.
Pros: Quality, Durability, small size
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
MountainMan
from Woodland Park, CO
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 External Enclosure for Apple MacBook Air 2010 & 2011 Flash Storage.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointing

PostedJune 30, 2012
Having ripped out many a hard drive from all sorts of computers and also having set up plenty of portable bare hard drives I found this kit to be disappointing and difficult. The instructions are split into two separate documents neither of which fully cover the installation process. Normally this wouldn't be a problem because this kind of installation should be straightforward. However, the SSD hold down screw was too long such that it wouldn't firmly hold the SSD in place and the other screws were too short to hold the bridge card in. Luckily it seems to fit in quite snugly without any screws.
But if the ultimate test is does it work? - Well yes.
Is it blazingly fast? - No not really.
With an OWC 500GB SSD in there it certainly doesn't achieve the 500MB/sec max speeds claimed for USB3.0 nor the 200MB/sec for the SSD.
I transferred 150GB using USB3.0 in 31 minutes (which by my calculations is about 80 MB/sec). I did exactly the same test onto another brand's USB3.0 5400RPM SATA 2.5" HD and it took 46 minutes. Did the same onm a USB2.0 5400RPM SATA 2.5" HD and it took 66 minutes.
So I guess there are speed advantages but in the order of two times and no more.
Response from Other World ComputingMarketingMarketingJuly 2, 2012
This product was meant as a temporary solution to getting some use from the removed Apple drive on your 2010-2011 MacBook Air while a more customized solution was in development. The Mercury Aura Pro Envoy is that customized solution: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/...

The second instruction booklet is to show what is different for installation of the MacBook Air SSD as opposed to a 2.5" hard drive that the On-The-Go line was designed for:
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/fire...

Transfer speeds will vary depending on your setup, our marketing simply states the fastest theoretical speeds of the interfaces. The top speed limitation is always the lowest common denominator.

For example, while USB 3.0 has a maximum speed to 500MB/s - the fastest MacBook Air stock SSD we've seen has a maximum speed of 200MB/s (some models were slower), so right off the bat, the top speed can only hit 200MB/s if you have the fastest SSD. Now, let's say you're plugging the device into a USB 2.0 port as found on the 2010-2011 MacBook Air models that the drive would be removed from and the theoretical maximum speed is then reduced to 60MB/s.

The data itself can also be a determining factor on real world speeds. One large file transfers faster than a bunch of smaller files. It is kinda like driving - you can have a car that has a top speed of 200 mph, but if you're only driving a few feet at a time you're not reaching that full speed with each individual transfer.
Customer Avatar
TonyB
from Perth WA
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 External Enclosure for Apple MacBook Air 2010 & 2011 Flash Storage.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I need it. Product is good

PostedApril 19, 2012
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
apg028
from Hong kong
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from 750GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB2 7200RPM Storage Solution.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent solution to my VM requirements

PostedMarch 13, 2012
I have been using the OWC external drives for many years and rely on them for back-ups, Virtual Machines to host various applicaions for digital printing and color management, and booting specialized versions of operating systems to test new software. In every case, these devices have performed flawlessly.
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
agster
from Mid-West
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB2 5400RPM Storage Solution.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Quite a Triple

PostedMarch 7, 2012
OK, I should have been even more careful reading the micro-print and examining the images, but OWC has never mislead me in the many years I have used their services
Note the "Triple" refers to the chip set, not the ports, It has only FW800 and USB2, but no FW400. I thought this would be the ideal backup drive for my older iMac which has FW400 but not FW800. I would have ordered a converter if it were more obvious.
Cons: no fw 400 port
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Trebla
from SoCal
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable 2.5" FW800/USB2.0 Enclosure Kit for Serial ATA (SATA) NoteBook HDs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Bought this so that I could swap out my stock MacBook Pro hard drive with an OWC SSD. I used this to put the SSD in for cloning the existing boot drive. Then I swapped the HD from the mac with the SSD, putting the original HD in this case as an external for the road. Nice design, nice heat sink. One minor point is that the OWC SSD was a touch tight sliding into the heat sink, something that didn't happen when I put the standard HD into the case. It's a touch larger than some of the miniscule cases I have but this case provides far better ventilation and a metal heat sink.
Pros: easy assembly, good ventilation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Mitchw
from Upstate NY
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable 2.5" FW800/USB2.0 Enclosure Kit for Serial ATA (SATA) NoteBook HDs.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice looking

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Solid case good chipset, but if you want to switch out drive in the enclosure be prepared to remove 10 screws. Installation is not super easy and I am an advanced technician. Worked as advertised but ended up going with an all aluminium case for better heat transfer since I am not using solid sate and other case has only 6 screws two to hold the drive and four under the feet and has the a slightly better chipset and is much smaller. Do your home work before buying. Look at Mercury Pro Elite with esata and firewire as well since most Pc's do not have firewire ports!
Pros: Quality, includes case, can see the internal drive
Cons: Durability, scratches, size, install
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
Ramboxman
from Illinois
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable 2.5" FW800/USB2.0 Enclosure Kit for Serial ATA (SATA) NoteBook HDs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple, reliable, easy to assemble

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
I have tried several brands of external enclosures. This enclosure is the best of the lot, in my experience. It is easy to assemble and the heat sink design keeps the drive cool. Perfect for enclosing a 2.5" drive and putting it in your backpack.
I like the geek fashion of a transparent case that lets you see the drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability, easy assembly, good heat sink
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
RichT
from Albuquerque, NM
Age: 55-65
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution
This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable 2.5" FW800/USB2.0 Enclosure Kit for Serial ATA (SATA) NoteBook HDs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good portable solution

PostedJuly 9, 2011
I used this as a dock for reformatting and cloning additional drives, and now I am using it to house my old mac drive after I swapped it out for an SSD.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
darkchild415
Verified Buyer: true
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>