Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.934 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(152 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
5 stars
142
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
144 out of 145(99%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

480GB SSD HD

PostedMay 9, 2015
Purchased this 480 GB SSD HD for use on my 2011 2.3, 13" MacBookPro. I backed up my data using Carbon Copy, copied it over and started it up on the new SSD following Apple/Mac instructions for startup disk. Big improvement in terms of startup in comparison to 500GB 5400 HD. Works well with Adobe Phtotoshop as little to no buffering/ lag time. I would recommend this to anyone. Been using this SSD HD for three years now, no problem.When I purchased this SSD HD the price was higher but for those interested now price has dropped so much better purchase for typical user. You will notice a difference.
Pros: Quality, Durability, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Camarillo, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Old Macbook is working better than new with Mint 17 and the SSD. I followed a bunch of optimization instructions, but I'm unaware as to whether I got any big performance gains. . there's a long boot time, but suspend is working very well so I dont shut down very often anyhow. I'm ready to replace my desktop system drives with SSDs now. OWC was prompt, helpful and honest all the way from shopping to shipping and I will def use them again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedApril 28, 2015
Its been more than a month since I started using this ssd on my 2008 model macbook and really its very good experience so far.
Shipping to India was very quick after purchase, glad to get it with in 10 days from US.
Installation also was very simple.
And ever since this ssd is inside, macbook (2008) is running like a new one, boots with in 10 seconds, loads apps very quickly. Currently running Mavericks, in which I haven't experienced any crash/freeze so far. I hope it works the same way for long time.
Thanks OWC for this great product.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bangalore,India
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Execellent

PostedApril 23, 2015
I am very satisfied with the purchased from OWC , and execellent support. I can recomend overs to by you products, regards from Finn, from Norway.
Pros: Quality, Durability, good support
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Norway
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD

PostedApril 21, 2015
The decision to upgrade from an old mechanical drive to this new SSD is proving to be a good one. The installation was easy and the data transfer went smoother than anticipated which was probably due to the info posted on the OWC web site. This is my first SSD with no regrets. Boot up time as well as power down time is greatly reduced. So far everything appears more stable than with the old mechanical drive. Im sure it will last a long time. Thanks OWC.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a new Mac

PostedApril 20, 2015
I am a novice when it comes to installing and updating hardware. I purchased this Solid State Drive, watched the video for installation and had a little problem. I called tech support and my computer was up and running in minutes. Great company!! Thank you!!!
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Northfield, CT
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST COMPANY IN THE MARCKET!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 9, 2015
AWESOME SSD!!! EXTREAM Performance!!!! Because your are the best in the market!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! R&D Department is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never an issue in ANY Client!!! With you almost 7 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Quality, Durability, reliable, extream performance, fully compatible
Cons: none.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Puerto Rico
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection!

PostedApril 3, 2015
What can I say... When I order from OWC I expect everything to be perfect.
And it was! Arrived on time and worked as promised.
However, let us not forget that OWC provides a wealth of information prior to purchasing. You guys simply rock!
I have told everyone at work about OWC. Thank you!!!
(ok, I might have copied my previous review.. A bit :)
Pros: Quality, Durability, pre-sales help and info a+++
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NYC
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value SSD

PostedApril 2, 2015
Good value - works great, has given new life to an old 2009 iMac.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very efficient drive

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Very quick boot time. Definite boost in my macbook performance
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Queens, NY
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super SSD

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Replaced original drive in a 2007 iMac with this SSD. Required an inexpensive adapter (3.5" to 2.5"), and some adjustment to match the short hookup cables in the iMac. Cloned the old drive onto the new, and the increased speed was eyewatering! Highly recommend to get a few more years out of the oldies but goodies. Fine product at a great price. One month in, happy so far.
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from RI
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality and servicee

PostedMarch 27, 2015
With the help of the sales tech we chose a replacement ssd hd. It arrived promptly, well packaged, and complete as to parts. Good instructions, and great performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sanford NC
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's Like a New Machine

PostedMarch 27, 2015
My old mac mini struggled to open Yosemite so I had OWC install the OS on a 120GB SSD. Wow, what a positive performance difference. I would recommend that you contact OWC before placing an order to receive their advice on the size SSD you should order based on your requirements.
Pros: Quality, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from High Point, NC
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The SSD boost my mac performance, it makes everything smooth.

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Even though a lot of troubles happened during the installation of OSX Yosemite, finally after successfully installed on the SSD, I am very satisfied with the performance.
It drastically increase the boot time, and make launching and using apps faster.
However, there are a few things frustrate me during the installation.
1. A screw driver is required to replace current HDD to SSD. And that is a special screw(I think call hex key or what...), the usual screw driver can't fit. Since I have no idea(experience) about this, I have to order the screw driver from local store when I receive the SSD.
2. The office installation DVD purchased from Apple store can't detect the SSD(at least in my case). This made me think the SSD is broken at first and almost start proceeding the replacement process. Luckily I try to create a USB installer in the last minutes and using it, SSD can be detected during installation.
3. The OSX Yosemite usb installer caused problem during installation. After "About a second remaining", it waits for some minutes and showing "About 0 seconds remaining" and subsequently shows error message. I searched internet and try all the methods found, but no one succeed.
4. After several hours keep repeating and installation, I eventually give up and use my windows pc to make a OSX 10.6.8 USB installer. And this installer works great, all the installation finished quickly. After that, upgrading to OSX 10.10 is also just easy and smooth.
Pros: Quality
Cons: a bit trouble to install os
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Singapore
Age: 25-34
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast

PostedMarch 15, 2015
The company that installed this SSD into my iMac 2006 model and was quoted by a computer installer as saying it turned on to main screen "insanely fast". Still upgrading so as to keep this computer humming along but I know that sooner or later I will have to upgrade. Very very happy with the SSD. Totally recommend installing this in any computer.
Pros: Quality, quiet, fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Age: Over 65
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rocket Man

PostedMarch 12, 2015
My MacBook had gotten to the point where it was taking almost two minutes to boot up. Programs like Skype, for example, were taking 90 seconds to load. After upgrading the RAM along with installing the Mercury SSD, it now boots in 12 seconds and Skype loads in 4 seconds. Processes in general are much much faster. I am not an experienced computer technician--replacing the RAM and hard drive was straightforward and easy following OWC's directions. My 8 year old MacBook is now a very fast machine, and going this route easily saved me $1000 or more by extending the service life of my laptop.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Shenandoah Valley, VA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best drive for a 2010 Mac Pro

PostedMarch 5, 2015
All I can say is WOW! This drive is super fast. Boot times are just a few seconds and programs load up so fast! I was using a Crucial SSD and boot up time was much longer for same reason. Ever since Apple announced no third party TRIM support in Yosemite I went ahead and made the switch to this drive for future proof operation. Get this drive, you will will be very pleased with its performance, especially considering it is the older SATA 2 spec.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2008 macbook pro AMAZING

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
I put this in my MacBook Pro and I can't believe the difference. I also upgraded the RAM to 6GB from 2GB. I think I'm going to put SSD's in every computer in my household! The only issue I had was the screw to remove my old hard drive was stripped, so I had to cut it out with a dremel.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: pricey
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NJ
Age: 18-24
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works as advertised

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
I use this drive in an OWC Express enclosure as a "repair drive" and it is a bit disconcerting when a Mac boots and runs faster from the external repair drive than from the internal HD. Even better, my "repair drive" fits handily into a shirt pocket.
Pros: Quality, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fort Worth, Texas
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed speed speed

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
What a different. My 2009 MacBook Pro has gone from painfully slow to lightening quick. I also have a new Air- which seemed quicker before the upgrade notwithstanding the much better specs on the Pro. All has changed now. Well worth it. Great service as well. Received in Australia within days.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Australia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>