Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.948 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
5 stars
128
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
128 out of 128(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2008 macbook pro AMAZING

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
I put this in my MacBook Pro and I can't believe the difference. I also upgraded the RAM to 6GB from 2GB. I think I'm going to put SSD's in every computer in my household! The only issue I had was the screw to remove my old hard drive was stripped, so I had to cut it out with a dremel.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: pricey
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NJ
Age: 18-24
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works as advertised

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
I use this drive in an OWC Express enclosure as a "repair drive" and it is a bit disconcerting when a Mac boots and runs faster from the external repair drive than from the internal HD. Even better, my "repair drive" fits handily into a shirt pocket.
Pros: Quality, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fort Worth, Texas
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed speed speed

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
What a different. My 2009 MacBook Pro has gone from painfully slow to lightening quick. I also have a new Air- which seemed quicker before the upgrade notwithstanding the much better specs on the Pro. All has changed now. Well worth it. Great service as well. Received in Australia within days.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Australia
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Supercharge Your Macbook

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
I ordered a larger one of these for my Mac Pro 1,1 and left a review for it, said I'd probably buy one for everything in my house that had a hard drive. Well... I ordered this drive for my Macbook Pro 7,1 and here's my review...
Why Apple ever shipped this laptop with a 5300rpm drive is beyond me. This SSD has to be at least 5 times faster than the original drive, boot time is almost nonexistent running Yosemite. Installing it is a breeze, make a Time Machine backup prior and there will be no headache. If you like your Macbook with the factory drive, you'll love it with one of these, I am amazed at the speed of SSD drives. I use external storage for keeping my files, so I only needed a small drive for my actual OS install, makes TM backups quick and easy.
Shipping - well... fairly quick and they package your stuff with care. I'd like to see faster ship times cause I have zero patience and want it NOW but once it leaves OWC, well... they can't control the shipping service/weather.
In short, regardless of which size SSD you need/want, OWC is the place to buy it. I mean, they're made for Mac's by people who eat, sleep and breathe Mac's. I'm partial to Samsung EVO drives but never bought one, won't ever buy one either because I'll be buying Mercury Electra drives instead. Like the roofing commercials say, get off your asphalt, buy one of these drives. If your Mac can support faster transfer speeds, get one of the faster versions, I can only imagine the speed increase...
Pros: Quality, Durability, freaking sweet blue color, low power consumption, literally no heat, quiet
Cons: not free, wasn't buy one - get one, doesn't cook, seriously did you expect an actual con?
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Whiteville, NC
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful Mac Mini upgrade to SSD

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
My older model (2009) Mac Mini was slow...needed more memory and faster storage. Memory upgrade was trivial using helpful OWC videos. Physical install of SSD was also very easy following very complete instructional videos. Process for archiving and reinstalling OS and user data could have been a bit more complete for various upgrade scenarios, as I did an OS upgrade as well and also had a Time Machine disk for backup. The sequence of operations to complete the install should be a bit more clear about when & how to format the SSD and reinstall or update the OS and user data; since these drives are basically sold for Macs, it might be helpful for OWC to offer pre-formatted drives.
Ultimately I got everything working, and the end result of better memory and fast SSD resulted in great performance improvement...no need really for faster processor for this system & the work we do on it.
Pros: Quality, great instruction videos
Cons: need better data recover instructions
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fairfax, VA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Give my 2010 iMac another few years life

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
My 2010 iMac was getting really slow. It was taking nearly 2 minutes to fully boot from apple chime to usable.
Pretty easy to fit, using the iFixit instructions, and now boots in just under 30 seconds. Not bad at all for a SATA 2 computer.
Great for the money.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great upgrade for an old iMac

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
I have a 2007 iMac that was starting to show its age, not to mention running out of space with the 320GB HDD. I decided to try this drive to see how the SSD would improve the performance and, wow! Booting went from 2 1/2 minutes to just over 1 minute, programs launch much faster, and iPhoto is much snappier. It breathed new life into my old iMac, it's like a new computer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cupertino, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic speed boost

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Bought the SSD, Drive adapter, and temperature cable.
The hardware install went off without a single issue, my late 2010 imac saw the device and the format and install went good.
The performance is outstanding, boot time is now 15 seconds from power button to launching apps. The computer is now silent.
I did not get the tools here, harbor freight has them for much cheaper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from lexington
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
I put this in a 2006 white MacBook. Used to be my daughter's college computer. Santa brought her a new MacBook Pro. She couldn't use it anymore. It was so slow. The SSD turned it to a useable computer again.
Moved the hard drive into the optical bay with a sata to pata adapter. Took me a couple of hours including the time I spent crawling around on the floor looking for a dropped screw. Has me seriously considering an SSD for my Mini. If only it wasn't running Yosemite. I am pretty much convinced that TRIM is required no matter what OWC says.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Other World ComputingTechnical SupportTechnical SupportFebruary 16, 2015
With an OWC SSD, there really is no need for TRIM...For all the details see our blog articles:
http://blog.macsales.com/11051-to-t...
http://blog.macsales.com/21641-with...
http://blog.macsales.com/27116-disa...
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NE Ohio
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mac SSD

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Supper drive, easy install. Follow instructions and I was up and running in no time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Flint, MI
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives new life to an aging Macbook pro

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
After a relatively easy installation a late 2008 macbook pro boots like turning on a light bulb, almost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Calgary Alberta
Age: 45-54
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Gotta Buy One Of These

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
I put this into my 2006 Mac Pro 1,1 hoping for a little speed increase. In my opinion, it's faster than the 2014 Mac Mini with a Fusion Drive, that I recently returned to Apple. I am very impressed, maybe it doesn't take much to impress me but I'm impressed, it's fast. Of course it's silent, no moving parts. I've only had it a few hours but I'm very happy with it and I plan to buy another for my MacBook Pro. I just might buy one for everything in the house that has a hard drive.
For the record, my Pro is running Mavericks currently, maybe that helps the speed and maybe not. I know I'll never go back to a regular HD for a boot drive ever again. If you are thinking of buying one or even just a little doubtful, buy it... they offer a money back on these things and they are well worth it.
Pros: Quality, Durability, price, it's fast - fast
Cons: it isn't free, overnight shipping wasn't overnight, none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Whiteville, NC
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customer Support Gets It Right

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Wasn't totally sure about which product I needed so I did an online chat with a customer support person. He took my information and came back with recommendations. As soon as we were done, I ordered the product and it arrived 4 days earlier than promised. It was easy to install and has made my computing life much easier and faster.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Little Rock
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my 2011 MacBook Pro

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Easy to install and works like a charm. It's like having a new computer.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Florida
Age: 55-65
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Rebuilt a Mac Pro 1,1 with the operating system on this drive. A very noticeable improvement in the speed of starting the OS and loading applications. Highly recommend this upgrade!
Pros: speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alabama
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turbo Charged My Early 2009 iMac with OWC

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
This is a no-brainer for anyone looking to speed up their Mac. Before the upgrade it was taking minutes to start-up and shut down even with a clean install of Yosemite. Adobe apps like Dreaweaver and Photoshop would take at least 30 sec to start-up. So I decided to remove the HD and replace it with the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD, the process was rather simple and the guides and videos from OWC were perfect. Used the NewerTech Adapta Drive also from OWC to mount it. I opted not to clone the old drive and started fresh with the OS and apps and the end result is fantastic. Machine boots up in less than 30sec and apps like Dreamweaver, Photoshop, MS Word, Excel start within 2-3 sec! If you have a older Mac and are searching for the best SSD upgrade, search no more, OWC is the way to go! Unlike many other sellers/sites they point you to exactly the SSD that meets your machines specs, thanks OWC!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast drive

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
This is a great drive to help speed up working on a 4 year old Mac Pro. Not as hard as we thought to install, and the videos at OWC made it really easy!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Once you go SSD, there's no going back. This just added another 4-5 years to my MacBook!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SSD for old Mac Mini

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
The drive works great... faster then the mechanical one that it replaced...
Installing it in a mid-2009 Mac mini is what I am writing about.. it required very careful disassembly and reassembly of substantial parts of the computer. However, the How-To Videos are excellent and if you have the right tools, patience, a steady hand and can follow directions you should be able to do it yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Re-birth of a MacBook

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
I added this SSD to my 2.0 gHz, C2D (5,1) MacBook along with a new battery (also from OWC) in an effort to make the "old Book" suitable as a travel computer. Despite having watched the various online videos extolling the SSD's virtues NOTHING prepared me for the reality of the vastly decreased boot time or the similarly reduced launch time for applications. Launching Photoshop and MS Office was reduced from "eternity" to being reasonably measured in seconds.
Yes, the old MacBook is now my traveling computer, but I can also use it daily without feeling punished by reduced performance as compared to my MacBook Pro (although I do miss the Pro's 15" screen).
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New England
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>