Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.969 / 5
5
 / 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 out of 62(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Drive

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Bought the 960GB SSD for my 2009 iMac to help speed things up. My startup time to the login page was 4 minutes. It is now 45 sec. Installation of the drive was not difficult but it is so much smaller it did not fit securely in place. I had to rig some adhesive backed Velcro to hold it in place. Overall, I love the drive and its improved performance (as well as no sound).
Pros: Quality, speed, sound level
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Kansas
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJune 26, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mid 2009 MacBook Pro is like a new computer!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
I'm very happy with this 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD. It was very easy to install with the terrific OWC DIY Instructional Videos. I expected that my Mid 2009 17' MacBook Pro would be faster waking from sleep or re-booting. What I didn't expect and I'm delighted to find out is that, everything I do is much faster now. Opening or closing applications, surfing the internet, whatever. I feel as though my MacBook Pro has a new lease on life. Also, and this is a biggy, I can finally play various high quality audio instrument libraries in real time using Native Instruments Kontakt 5 Free player with a latency so low that it's practical for performing in front of a live audience. No hiccups at all. The CPU and Disk Usage Meter hardly even registers. A great improvement over my 7200 RPM internal drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability, extends useful life of computer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Southern California
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedJuly 21, 2014
I could not believe how fast my computer became after installing the drive.
Pros: Quality, excellent
Cons: no problem
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superfast startups and app launching

PostedJuly 11, 2014
1st time with a SSD. I love it. I can't believe I waited so long to get one. It was easy to install and setup in my Mac Pro 4,1 as the boot drive. Everything is so much faster from booting up to launching apps. Its like have a brand new computer.
Pros: Quality, ease of use
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOLY WOW!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
For years I read all the reviews about the speed of an SSD upgrade. Well it's almost laughable how much faster my macbook is now. This thing screams, my mac feels twice as fast. To avoid any issues.... with all that is mac... I bought from OWC, and as usual top notch product, service, and support. In all fairness, I haven't had my drive very long, so I cant attest to it's reliability. Bottom line, if you have a 5 year old mac, this SSD will bring new life to it.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Macbook white 5,2

PostedJuly 1, 2014
I have been using this SSD for some weeks, and it has really speeded up the performances of my mac! Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vast improvement

PostedJune 21, 2014
My 2007 Macbook now powers up in 20 seconds and reboots in 24 seconds. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fayetteville, GA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Drive increased computing speed heavily.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Highly recommended! easy to install -spend 15 minutes installing the SSD drive-. In my G5 MacPro.
Easy to transfer data from my previous non SSD disk, if you follow instructions available in OWC web site.
I have ben using flawlessly this SSD drive, for more than a month now.
Pros: Quality, Durability, reliability
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Antonio, TX
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super fast drive refreshes dated Macs

PostedJune 14, 2014
This is the second 120 GB OWC SSD bought in the last two years, solid performance. Bought this one to refresh a 2006 iMac 5,2 to run Lion. The OS is snappy--even though the link speed is maxed at 1.5 GB, transforming the dated computer into a contender with modern macs and PCs. The first drive is still performing well in dual hard drive setup in a Macbook 7,1. I haven't seen a bouncing app in some time. Don't wait for your data buy a SSD!
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed, ease of install
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great super fast SSD

PostedJune 10, 2014
My MacBook 2,1 is booting up in 20 seconds!
Before replacing its hard drive it was booting in 60 secs at its best
Applications run smooth n fast! I can't keep up sometimes
It's running faster than MacBooks pro I've seen around
I hope this product last long in good condition
I've been using it for just 1 month. So far so good
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Melbourne
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

240 Mercury 3© SSD

PostedJune 7, 2014
I received several responses to my Imac SSD install & compatibility issue questions from OWC staff before going ahead with the purchase. In fact along with telephone conversations, additional emails provided links to videos and other helpful guides. While it might be a daunting task for some to attempt the installation on an Imac, all went well--no glitches!!
PERFORMANCE: especially at start up was slower than I had hoped for & while I did not time it, it appears to be not much faster than the former internal hard drive.
However once up and running, the SSD does feel a bit snappier than the former hard drive.
I added the software to control the heat problem on the Imac-- the internal fan runs slower now.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Seattle
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product + good price

PostedMay 29, 2014
Part received was exactly as advertise.
Easy to install in a Macbook Pro 13".
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Montreal, Qc
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance

PostedMay 17, 2014
I installed it in a MacBook Pro 2010. Installation was easy I connected the original drive as an external drive and the Migration Assistant made the transfer really easy. The MacBook Pro is like a completely different computer, very fast - for instance the startup is only 25 seconds compared the the old over 2,5 minutes.
I really recommend the drive!
Pros: Quality, easy installation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lohja, Finland
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD

PostedMay 16, 2014
This is the 2nd Mercury I've purchased. They're fast, dependable and the instructions make them almost foolproof.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Illinois
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The need for speed

PostedMay 5, 2014
Sprucing up some older Mac Pros in our system and these SSD's are the trick.
Apps are quicker, fewer "spinning beachballs" and more productivity.
Pros: Quality, performance
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Denver
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, easy installation

PostedApril 19, 2014
The hard drive on my mom's old white MacBook finally bit the dust, so when I heard she was about to take it to Best Buy for repair I knew this was a great opportunity to introduce her to OWC. I've bought RAM from you guys in the past with no issue, and installing this new drive with the 5-piece toolkit was a breeze. It feels like a new computer too, so fast! In the future when solid-state prices drop a little more I'll buy a 1 TB SSD for my MacBook Pro from you guys.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Antonio, TX
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features !

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
I utlise 2 discs of this type in a box "Icy Dock MB982SPR-2S" placed in a Mac Pro with HW Raid Manager JMicron.
Pros: Quality, Durability, slimly
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hong Kong
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Problem Solved!!!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Outstanding SSD Drive. Highly recommend. I originally purchased and returned an equivalent drive from another popular vendor because of major compatibility issues. NO ISSUES WHAT SO EVER WITH OWC'S MERCURY ELECTRA. Out of the box into my Mid 2009 Macbook Pro without one single problem. Performance is outstanding!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Buy...Adds value

PostedApril 2, 2014
I purchased this for my son's older MBP model 5,5. It had been sitting around at the office for a while since I bought him the 13" MBA with SSD for college. I did the BlackMagic speed test before the upgrade; WRITE = around 30 mb/s READ = around 45 mb/s. After upgrade WRITE = never below 160 mb/s READ = never below 260 mb/s. Boot-up time after pressing the ON button around 40 sec. Here's where this upgrade blew my mind. Once you click on an app (itunes, safari), app comes up within 2 sec of clicking on it. Office for Mac loads up fast also except the icon takes an extra "bounce" or two before opening (around 3-4 sec). Definitely worth the upgade. Just don't know how much this upgrade affects battery cycle from fully charged (we'll see). But speed alone offsets that IMO. I just purchased the 8GB RAM upgrade from OWC for this machine as well and will write a review for that once I get it. Great job OWC!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Illinois
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>