Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.964 / 5
5
 / 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
5 stars
80
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
78 out of 78(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turned a Paperweight into a Heavyweight

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
I had to replace my 13" Macbook Pro because it had just gotten so slow... and then I bought this drive and it's almost as fast the 15" Retina Display that replaced it! Still glad to have the new one by my wife is going to enjoy the hot new Macbook that will be replacing her Dell very soon.
Pros: Quality, fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Upgrade for a 2009 MacBook

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Used this SSD and maxed out the RAM (8.0 GB) to make this MacBook run like new.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Chicago, IL
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

240GB SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm 3Gb/s

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Easy install,fast transfers.
The older notebook has a new and cooler life, and is faster than before.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Greenbush, USA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Good value - product as advertised. Performance matches specs - pleased with this drive.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Missouri
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right choice for my particular Mac

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
I appreciate the extra information OWC provides. The Mercury Electra 6G (a SATA 3 SSD) is faster, and the price is about the same, so it seems to be a better choice. However, OWC provided a "special note" relevant to certain Mac models (including the 2009 Mac mini). It says that for those specified Mac models with SATA 2, a faster SATA 3 SSD would work but only operate at the slower SATA 1 speed. To achieve full compatibility and potential speed, OWC recommends the Mercury Electra 3G (a SATA 2 SSD), for those specified Mac models. Most other vendors would not have bothered to provide such detailed information (or even have such knowledge).
I also appreciate the installation videos. They are well-produced with clear narration. I have it playing on an iPad, while working on the Mac mini.
This Mac mini is older, but now feels a lot more "snappy." I leave it running all the time, so start-up time is not as important, but it is noticeably faster at doing things that require disk access, even basic activity such as loading a web page. I had it in an open external drive case (to clone) before installing it, and it stays very cool, compared to a hard drive.
Pros: Quality, low heat
Customer Avatar
ken1w
from San Francisco, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance, easy upgrade

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Installed into my MacBook Pro 5,3 and I am very pleased! Only 20 seconds from off to ready to use! Given new life to my machine. A little pricey but I think it will be worth it.
Pros: performance
Cons: price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ohio
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One great SDD very fast vs OLD HDD

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Very easy to use and to install with the kit appropriate, that also can be acquired in this same store online. Really it is worth the pain to acquire it like main unit of starting of the Mac Pro 2010
Pros: Quality, Durability, more fast vs hdd
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Madrid-Spain
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Drive

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Bought the 960GB SSD for my 2009 iMac to help speed things up. My startup time to the login page was 4 minutes. It is now 45 sec. Installation of the drive was not difficult but it is so much smaller it did not fit securely in place. I had to rig some adhesive backed Velcro to hold it in place. Overall, I love the drive and its improved performance (as well as no sound).
Pros: Quality, speed, sound level
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Kansas
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC SSD

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Great drive. Completely revamped my MacBookPro. I use my computer for everyday use and as my main audio DAW computer. I used OWC's kit for converting my CD/DVD drive to an additional internal drive for samples, etc. and it is a killing machine. Fast. Starts up in 14 seconds. Thanks. Products are great and service is excellent.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NYC
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a huge speed boost for my daughter's white Macbook

PostedAugust 28, 2014
the boot time is hugely different now that I replaced the stock 5400RPM 250GB drive with a Mercury SSD. This was my second Mercury SSD purchase.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brandon, MS
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mercury SSDs are awesome as always

PostedAugust 28, 2014
This was my fifth Mecury SSD purchase. They've all been great.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brandon, MS
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was as described

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Was as described
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My laptop returns to high speed

PostedAugust 24, 2014
My MacBook Pro kept slowing down, and I would clean everything up. Then slow down again. Well, enough is enough, and I purchased the 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Finally, I have a high speed computer.
The only problem was with moving my current data to the new drive. I wasn't sure if I was doing the procedure correctly, so I called support. He gave me incorrect information, telling me that even though I had a SuperDuper backup, i would still have to move my data over like I had a new computer under Mountain Lion. Well, all I had to do was to format the drive, and then let SuperDuper bring the data over. All is well without spending all that time in porting the data.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: not providing any installation info
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I couldn't be more pleased with the high speeds.

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Starting my computer previously required over 1 minute to get to my sign-in screen. It now takes less than 10 seconds to get to my sign-in screen. MS Word and Excel now take about 2 seconds to load. Same for Quicken and iPhoto.
I find it hard to believe my hew world of high speed.
Pros: Quality, speed, ease of use
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Canyon Lake, TX
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prices have come down, fewer reasons not to have one

PostedAugust 21, 2014
I avoided swapping out the original drive in my laptop because the 500 Gb SSD was exceedingly expensive. Now, it's so much more affordable, and for my older laptop past AppleCare, it has returned to functionality--so much cheaper than going out and buying the newer model. I'd love to be able to upgrade all the time, but this is kind of the next best thing.
Pros: Quality, Durability, ease of installation
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great upgrade for my MBP15"

PostedAugust 14, 2014
My OEM hard drive crashed and I decided to give my MBP15 a SSD upgrade, since these disks are now relatively affordable. I opted for the 250GB capacity Mercury Electra 3G, plus converting the DVD slot for a second 7200rpm 1TB drive. Installation was a breeze and set up went smoothly. I set up the SSD as the boot drive containing the OS and Applications; whereas the secondary drive was allotted the Home directory. Everything worked flawlessly. My MBP now booted much faster and certain applications launched slightly faster.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

more power

PostedAugust 13, 2014
this SSD drive is faster than normal HD drive. the computer's response is great, almost instantaneously.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Jeremy70
from Mexico
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJune 26, 2014
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid State Drive is quick, quiet and cool

PostedAugust 10, 2014
My new Mac Mini, in which I replaced the 2 TB hard drive with this SSD, now starts up in 22 seconds instead of a minute plus.
It is quiet, and stays cool.
The only time the Mac Mini got warm was when I used a long, microprocessor intensive operations lasting hours. And the SSD did not heat up, just the microprocessor.
A cool computer lasts longer. Heat is the enemy of microprocessors.
This drive, which formatted easily and accepted a clone backup fairly quickly is totally silent and vibration free. I am sold on SSDs.
Pros: Quality, Durability, quiet, cool
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Valdosta GA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gave new life to 2009 Mac Mini

PostedAugust 4, 2014
This in addition to the 8GB memory upgrade gave new life to my 2009 Mac Mini.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>