Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.98 / 5
5
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 out of 47(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, easy installation

PostedApril 19, 2014
The hard drive on my mom's old white MacBook finally bit the dust, so when I heard she was about to take it to Best Buy for repair I knew this was a great opportunity to introduce her to OWC. I've bought RAM from you guys in the past with no issue, and installing this new drive with the 5-piece toolkit was a breeze. It feels like a new computer too, so fast! In the future when solid-state prices drop a little more I'll buy a 1 TB SSD for my MacBook Pro from you guys.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Antonio, TX
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features !

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
I utlise 2 discs of this type in a box "Icy Dock MB982SPR-2S" placed in a Mac Pro with HW Raid Manager JMicron.
Pros: Quality, Durability, slimly
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hong Kong
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Problem Solved!!!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Outstanding SSD Drive. Highly recommend. I originally purchased and returned an equivalent drive from another popular vendor because of major compatibility issues. NO ISSUES WHAT SO EVER WITH OWC'S MERCURY ELECTRA. Out of the box into my Mid 2009 Macbook Pro without one single problem. Performance is outstanding!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Buy...Adds value

PostedApril 2, 2014
I purchased this for my son's older MBP model 5,5. It had been sitting around at the office for a while since I bought him the 13" MBA with SSD for college. I did the BlackMagic speed test before the upgrade; WRITE = around 30 mb/s READ = around 45 mb/s. After upgrade WRITE = never below 160 mb/s READ = never below 260 mb/s. Boot-up time after pressing the ON button around 40 sec. Here's where this upgrade blew my mind. Once you click on an app (itunes, safari), app comes up within 2 sec of clicking on it. Office for Mac loads up fast also except the icon takes an extra "bounce" or two before opening (around 3-4 sec). Definitely worth the upgade. Just don't know how much this upgrade affects battery cycle from fully charged (we'll see). But speed alone offsets that IMO. I just purchased the 8GB RAM upgrade from OWC for this machine as well and will write a review for that once I get it. Great job OWC!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Illinois
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mercury 120GB SSD

PostedMarch 25, 2014
I bought this drive late last year, and I finally got a chance to install it this week.
After repairing an acer laptop ,I chose to use the Mercury instead of a 500gb drive. The result was amazing! Faster boot time , less heat , and extended battery life. the Acer is presently running Fedora 20 with no issues. This Product is Excellent!!! Thanks OWC!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Barbados
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was a great buy

PostedMarch 24, 2014
This replacement hard drive was relatively easy to install in my IMAC computer using the video instructions provided by OWC. Once I formatted the new drive and transferred data from the old drive, I was up and running again.
I also appreciate the technical assistance provided by Trish when placing my order.
Pros: Quality, Durability, solid state drive
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Atlanta, GA
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Value for your money

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Mac Pro is faster than ever, thanks to Mercury Electra 3G SSD!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Finland
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and company

PostedMarch 8, 2014
The product was shipped quickly, and installation was a snap. Works wonderfully. I pretty much trust OWC for all my drive needs.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Germantown, MD
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teaching an old dog new tricks

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
I got the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD drive for my MacBook 3,1 computer from back in 2007. The computer had begun running very slow with the original HDD and I was getting tired of seeing the spinning rainbow pie. My first upgrade was the 6GB RAM upgrade from OWC and it sped up things considerably. I began researching about SSDs and decided to pick up the OWC SSD after the help of the wonderful OWC Tech Support team. I put in the SSD in an external drive to clone my HDD and then swapped places. BAM!!! The machine booted up from a cold start in about 20 seconds. The old HDD took roughly 2 full minutes to boot. Overall use of the SSD made everything feel like I wasn't using my old MacBook but, instead a new computer! Funny thing is that ended up loving my MacBook 3,1 more than my new MacBook Air 5,1. I purchased pretty much all my computer upgrades from OWC because my own brother has been buying from them for a long time and told me about their great customer service. You won't be disappointed with an OWC SSD or their RAM upgrades.
Pros: Quality, assembled in the usa
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hercules, CA
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Performance

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Put this SSD in my Late 2007 Black Mac Book, coming from a WD 320 Gb 2.5 HDD. The WD was no dog as I use iDEFRAG yearly, so it was quite peppy.
Cloned everything with Super Duper, slipped it into place in the laptop, and timed the boot up to useable desktop, 26.5 SECONDS, compared to 45.5 seconds with the Hard Drive, click on a program or file it opens INSTANTLY!
Before WORD would take 30+ seconds to open, now it is 5 seconds if it is unopened, if is open, it is INSTENTANEOUS! To say I am pleased is an understatement. Next is the 2008 Black Mac Book to make better than new!
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Citrus county Florida
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Choice!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
As I expected this SSD made my 2010 iMac as fast as a plane!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Kilkis, Greece
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3Gb/s Solid State Drive

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
After my hard drive went south in my 2007 MacBook Pro Laptop I replaced it with the 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. I prefer the Samsung 840 but wanted to try OWC to see if there was a difference in performance. The old drive would write around 35 and read at 39. With the new OWC SSD Drive my write is now 120 and the read is 130. Not bad for a 6 yr old laptop. The boot was around 1:30sec, now is 21sec. Very happy with the final outcome.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from United States
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice to Speed Up Macs G4 G5 Etc.Etc.

PostedDecember 30, 2013
OWC Is My Favorite Provider for Mac Upgrades. There are 6 Macs
in my family and they all working fine today.
As I have written before about Buying Hardware parts and other Accessories.
Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
kallim123
from Arnessysla, Iceland
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for speeding up older Macs G4 - G5

PostedDecember 30, 2013
I have already Upgraded 1 G4 MDD FW 1.42 - And 1 G5 2.7 Ghz
Dual with 3G SSD Disks and They work Amazing. Thanks to
OVC
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
kallim123
from Arnessysla, Iceland
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "Apple" of SSDs

PostedNovember 9, 2013
I just installed two of these SSDs in my late 2011 17" MacBook Pro with the data doubler and configured them together in a RAID 0 configuration and all I have to say is she is a whole new machine! I have never used anything so fast in my life. Next purchase will have to be bumping this 8GB RAM up to 16GB!
As you are well aware there are many different SSDs on the market at various different price points. In my search for what SSD to put in my MacBook Pro I probably spent the better part of a month actively researching, reading through every forum comparing the drives. Many forums talk highly about the OWC products. Many say that they are overpriced and not economical at a $/GB rate however there were some very helpful comments I had read which talked about the durability and longevity of the OWC drives being top notch. That is all great however what really sealed the deal in my decision to purchase these drives from OWC were, one, my own past experiences with OWC which I have always been more than pleased with and two, the comments from other OWC customers who spoke so highly about the company and their customer service experiences. I don't believe there is any other SSD manufacture out there that sells the entire package quite like OWC. From the top notch products to in depth how to videos, to the outstanding customer service, it is truly a no brainer. I cannot tell you how many times I read through those forums where so and so got this ultra fast 6g SSD from company x for half the price of company z but when it stopped working they could barely get through to customer service. To me OWC is much like Apple in the sense that they are perhaps a bit more expensive than the competition however you can rest assured that you are purchasing a top notch quality product and you are buying into a customer service base which is beyond reproach. I am certainly not saying that other SSD manufactures do not make quality products however OWC has certainly gained a loyal customer out of me.
Pros: Quality, Durability, customer support/service, longevity
Cons: she's not cheap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great, Runs Fast!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Installed this drive and some RAM on my late 2008 macbook pro and it brought it back to life! Quick and easy install. Why did I wait so long???
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Life to a 2010 MBP

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
My MBP 2010 had a 1TB internal (also from OWC with no problems). As my data needs grow the drive was nearing capacity. The machine (8GB Ram MAx installed) has become exceedingly slow at basic launching, task switching etc. Even though its been defragged,etc, the fact that it is almost full anat 1TB makes it pretty crawly. So after salivating over SSD for a while, I I finally let go of the idea of having EVERYTHING on my laptop, broke down and archived off a lot of non-essential stuff. Installed this drive, migrated over (use tools like CCC or Time Machine restore to be safe, don't count on the OWC instructions for migration which are over simplified). The result is that my Mac now screams! Boot so Fast. Launches apps so fast! task switching etc FAST! The bottleneck is broken. No more waiting on the machine, it waits for me, and I am a power user , i.e. usually at least three to five large tasks OR MORE going on at any time. I can see living with this machine for at least another year or two, if not more, when I was SERIOUSLY considering trying to save up for a Retina or air. Very Pleased. Cannot speak to longterm reliability but do backups regularly and not worried.
Pros: Quality, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Plain WOW

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
After considering replacing my MacBookPro 2009
with a new one, and seeing how the macbook air zips thru life,
I looked at many different SSD's as an inexpensive upgrade,
... and I chose this SSD.
It was very easy to install, loaded my OS faster, and opens Photoshop CS5
faster than I could believe.
I will test it over the next few weeks and look forward to enjoying
my "Better than when it was NEW MacBookPro"
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Burlington, VT
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to claims

PostedJuly 21, 2013
I have (I am told) an ancient 2006 Mac Pro running 10.6.8. I have added more memory but still find it slow by modern standards so started looking at the concept of updating the HDD to an SSD. After much surfing I came to the conclusion that if the product lived up to the blurb then OWCs SSD should do the job. Life has many hiccups and in my case I obviously had been supplied a faulty product, since my computer could not find it. I contacted the support and found them to be absolutely wonderful - bearing in mind that at this stage it was not clear whether the problem was with the new product or lay within the depths of my ancient computer. After several suggestions, tests with various applications it became clear that the problem was almost certainly with the new product. I sent it back and within a few days received a new unit which was fitted, loaded with the system and now my computer is like a space age rocket - I cannot believe the difference - certainly lives up to all the claims made in the blurb and then some - I suggest to anyone with an older machine that this is one way of adding a few more years to your trusty servant. On the subject of receiving a product that was not OK bear in mind that I live on the opposite side of the world from OWC and that any electronics in parcels can be given a hard time by virtue of various scanning processes during the course of travel through the postal/customs services etc - having been in the electronics manufacturing myself I am aware of these occasional problems so i hold no blame to OWC in this respect - their follow up and support being so good that there was no area left for me to take exception to!
Pros: Quality, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New Zealand
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent service!!

PostedMay 25, 2013
got my hard drive within 3 working days delivered to Japan !! although i had to return one for replacement due to product faulty but replacement is equally fast !!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Japan
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>