Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.95 / 5
5
 / 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
5 stars
115
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
114 out of 114(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Rebuilt a Mac Pro 1,1 with the operating system on this drive. A very noticeable improvement in the speed of starting the OS and loading applications. Highly recommend this upgrade!
Pros: speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Alabama
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turbo Charged My Early 2009 iMac with OWC

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
This is a no-brainer for anyone looking to speed up their Mac. Before the upgrade it was taking minutes to start-up and shut down even with a clean install of Yosemite. Adobe apps like Dreaweaver and Photoshop would take at least 30 sec to start-up. So I decided to remove the HD and replace it with the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD, the process was rather simple and the guides and videos from OWC were perfect. Used the NewerTech Adapta Drive also from OWC to mount it. I opted not to clone the old drive and started fresh with the OS and apps and the end result is fantastic. Machine boots up in less than 30sec and apps like Dreamweaver, Photoshop, MS Word, Excel start within 2-3 sec! If you have a older Mac and are searching for the best SSD upgrade, search no more, OWC is the way to go! Unlike many other sellers/sites they point you to exactly the SSD that meets your machines specs, thanks OWC!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast drive

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
This is a great drive to help speed up working on a 4 year old Mac Pro. Not as hard as we thought to install, and the videos at OWC made it really easy!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Once you go SSD, there's no going back. This just added another 4-5 years to my MacBook!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SSD for old Mac Mini

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
The drive works great... faster then the mechanical one that it replaced...
Installing it in a mid-2009 Mac mini is what I am writing about.. it required very careful disassembly and reassembly of substantial parts of the computer. However, the How-To Videos are excellent and if you have the right tools, patience, a steady hand and can follow directions you should be able to do it yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Re-birth of a MacBook

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
I added this SSD to my 2.0 gHz, C2D (5,1) MacBook along with a new battery (also from OWC) in an effort to make the "old Book" suitable as a travel computer. Despite having watched the various online videos extolling the SSD's virtues NOTHING prepared me for the reality of the vastly decreased boot time or the similarly reduced launch time for applications. Launching Photoshop and MS Office was reduced from "eternity" to being reasonably measured in seconds.
Yes, the old MacBook is now my traveling computer, but I can also use it daily without feeling punished by reduced performance as compared to my MacBook Pro (although I do miss the Pro's 15" screen).
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New England
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New life into my mid-2010 iMac 27!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
I just installed one of these as my primary drive in my iMac. Wow - what a difference. I was previously running Bootcamp with windows 7; the process to upgrade was relatively painless thanks to the excellent OWC video guides. I don't think I could have done it without the video. The DIY kit was very helpful - especially the tweezers - I used them on multiple occasions to help. Thanks OWC for a great product and service.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Houston, Texas
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and compatible

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
This drive was used to upgrade a 2009 MacBook Pro and what a difference it made. It feels like a new machine.
Pros: Quality, Durability, fast, compatible
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect solution for aging core duo

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Purchased before another SSD disc (Samsung brand) but it went south in a couple of moths. I could not take another risk, so I choose a good brand for Mac hardware and red carpet service for Mac users - OWC, don't search other place.
My order arrived sooner that expected, because the warehouse was located in Nevada.
I followed the video instructions in the "Install videos sections", this videos are foolproof; followed the step by step instructions and I was using my laptop in less than 30 minutes.
Using a SSD drive is a new machine,my mac now takes 9 seconds to have the login display vs. 50 seconds aprox. recommend this upgrade if you have a core 2 and you feel that you need to shell out more $$$ for an aging laptop, well my MBP know feels like a new one, programs loads more faster that usual.
Pros: Quality, Durability, nice blue design
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lima - Peru
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and excellent service.

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Easily fit on my MacBook Pro, it gave new life on my laptop.
Higly raccomeded.
Shipment was very fast, in a safe package.
Thank you very much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Milan (ITALY)
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine for an older MacBook Pro

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
I got this to speed up an older MacBook Pro—3 G because there is no advantage from a faster interface, and this allows me to put it into my Data Doubler if necessary. Because I had the Data Doubler, I put my system + apps on this disk, and my files on a 1 GB disk. If I didn't have the Data Doubler, 240 GB would not have been enough storage.
It worked great. It is easy to install in an earlier MacBook Pro — just be sure to tighten the screws in the outer case, otherwise they will unscrew themselves and fall out.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oakland, CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blazzing Fast SSD for RAID configuration

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
4x Mercury Electra 3G SSD´s in RAID 5 configuration and getting Avg. 370 MB/s write and 520 MB/s read speeds,
Pros: Quality, Durability, fast !!!, easy to install
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Chile
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
SSD performs flawlessly and streams complex virtual instruments with zero perceived latency even in complex passages - synthogy ivory II American D and Garritan Abbey Road CFX. This data is streamed off the same drive as my boot volume. Impressive. Older Macbook
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast! My 2008 MBP runs like new!

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Fast boot time and application launch time.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very speedy increase

PostedDecember 27, 2014
My hard drive on my MacBook , made late 2008, was starting to act funny and losing speed. I talked to the people at OWC and decided to replace the hard drive with a solid state drive. My laptop is faster than when new, plus the battery last a lot longer.
The time it took to install the new drive and copy everything over to it from the old hard drive was probably 2 1/2 hours, but I now have a lot faster MacBook, then when new, at a cost of about $80.00, what a deal.
The staff at OWC were very helpful and friendly, which was a big plus,as I'm by no means a computer tech.
Pros: Quality, Durability, great staff
Cons: non
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Florida
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Zoom!!

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Great way to make on older i7 feel like a brand new Pro!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
If you are shopping around and see what you need here, NO NEED TO LOOK ANYWHERE ELSE! Customer service is outstanding. As for the SSD product in question, it can be combined with a carrier and a thermal sensor adaptor and work flawlessly in an iMac. Mine, a 27" 2011, runs blistering fast now. MS office applications blast open in about two seconds. Even web browsing is faster (quicker cache access ???).
This product, and OWC - highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This drive has brought a 4 year old iMac back to life

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Excuse my english, as you'll be able to see on my location, I'm Spanish.
Upgraded the slow and noisy HDD on my iMac with this marvellous SSD. Working perfectly, no problems during installation (It was a bit difficult though).
OS X Yosemite (clean install) boots in about 15 seconds versus the minute or more that it required with the mechanical disk.
Love the quality of the drive itself too: really thin, perfectly painted...
iMac 11,2 (Mid-2010)
Intel Core i3 3,2 GHz
It came with a Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 (noisier than any HDD ever installed on an iMac) that was quite slow and loud, mainly when accessing random data (like when booting the OS).
(I also bought the OWC multimount (3,5" to 2,5") and it fits as nicely as I expected)
I bought a toolkit too, a waste of money: the product is great, but it isn't required to open this computer. All you'll need is a couple of torx screwdrivers (T8 and T10)
I encourage everyone reading this to upgrade their drives with solid state ones, specially if the computer is an upgradeable MacBook Pro or a Mac Pro (because of the simplicity on the installation).
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: installation was a bit tricky (on an imac)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Barcelona, Spain.
Age: 18-24
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Upgrade

PostedDecember 3, 2014
I purchased this for my Mid-2009 15" MacBook Pro. Installation was simple. It reduced my boot to password screen time from 44 seconds to 25 seconds. Launching Photoshop CS5 dropped from 19 seconds to 3 seconds... Excellent product, great service.
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed improvement
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Edmond, OK
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made my laptop faster than new!

PostedNovember 26, 2014
I put this SSD in my 2009 Macbook Pro laptop and it made it better than when it was new. Faster than fast! I also added 8 GB of RAM. With the SSD the computer boots so fast I can't believe the difference. Going from 2 to 8 GB has speeded up the operation some too!
Pros: Quality, Durability, easy to install w/video
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Saskatchewan Canada
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>