Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.967 / 5
5
 / 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
86 out of 86(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Upgrade

PostedOctober 19, 2014
I chose to upgrade my late 2009 Mac Mini rather than purchasing new, and have found an instant 'new feeling' with the new SSD drive and RAM from OWC. I really appreciated the step by step DIY videos on here as well as it made the transition simple.
Highly recommend this route if you wish to see your Mini last a few more years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Solid Drive

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Smooth no problems with this drive
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Baxter,Tn
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't waist your time and money with other SSDs

PostedOctober 18, 2014
I replaced the old Samsung 470 SSD 256 GB with the new OWC Mercury 3G SSD 240 GB on my old MacBook Pro late 2008. The migration of data was easy thanks to Carbon Copy Cloner and the physical installation was done in less than 2 minutes. After the replacement I noticed a speed improvement. However, what really impressed me was the low fan noise. The fans didn’t kick in, as it was the case for the Samsung SSD. After the OWC SSD installation, my mac runs faster than before and very very very quiet. Even working with resource demanding applications, such as Photoshop, Aperture or AutoCAD, the fan noise is acceptable. With the OWC I do not need to hack the operating system to enable the trim support. Whereas in my Samsung I had to hack the operating System to enable the Trim support, in the OWC this is not necessary due their internal technology that manages the SSDs garbage collection in a proper way. This means that you don’t need to hack the system after every update.
Pros: Quality, Durability, faster computer, no need to hack the operating system for trim supp, quiet operations, finally something assembled in the usa
Cons: in switzerland you are going to pay import taxes, i should have used owc parts before
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC ROCKS! Solid State Drive is FANTASTIC

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Converting any hard drive isn't as easy at is looks however OWC makes it very easy with their installation videos. The delivery was quick and I would highly recommend converting any hard drive to a OWC Solid State Drive as soon as possible for speed and durability. Don't wait until your mechanical hard drive fails.
Pros: Quality, installation videos online, quick shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Pittsburgh PA
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Noob
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed Great!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Loaded my MacBook Pro 2008 with this SSD made a great improvement to my computer speed. Photoshop CS5 loaded in three seconds compared to an eternity previously. This 240GB drive also gave me some needed headroom from my 160GB traditional drive.The 3G gave my ailing computer new life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Tempe, Az
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

System at double speed

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Mounted the disc, transferred the data with Time Machine and everything works just fine. The disc is now installed for a little longer than three months and up to now no problems whatsoever have occurred. The Mac really works about twice as fast as before. I am very pleased !
Three months is not very long, so I can't say anything about long time durability, but I have high hopes... :-)
Greetings, T.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Austria
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Bought for my late 2009 mac mini when the old HHD died. It's back and better than ever maxed out with 8 GB of ram too. I love the speed improvements. Installation was insanely easy. They make 2009 mac mini upgrades seem like you need a degree in computer repair, but I think a monkey with youtube could probably get it done.
Pros: Quality, Durability, ease of installation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect compatibility with MacBook 5,2

PostedOctober 2, 2014
While I can't say anything about durability yet, this is definitely a trouble-free upgrade, and the 3-years warranty helps to relieve the fear of the unknown. Just have your clone ready, pop the SSD in, then clone back. The SSD is almost uncomfortably light and silent, which can be weird for persons used to the slight buzzing of a rotating HDD, but rest assured, what it gives back to an older machine such as the MacBook 5,2 is astonishing, especially paired with 4GB RAM.
Why this one and not the 6Gbps, at least to be able to use it in a newer computer? Well first, while they are about the same price, the SSD's firmware has a slight incompatibility with nVidia's chipset, clocking the 6Gbps down to 1.5Gbps even on 3Gbps capability. Then the performance gain is so large that you're unlikely to want it out of the MacBook ever again, unless capacity becomes a problem. It has a beautiful finish, honestly that's useless from its completely hidden location, but surely helps with the branding as I always remember OWC as the "dark blue website".
I chose the 120GB because the MacBook 5,2 was a secondary machine and that it didn't need to hold so much data. But it's now so comfortable to use again that I do routinely take this one instead of the more recent MacBook Pro whenever I feel too lazy to eject all drives, and even installed one small virtual machine since there's no slowdown. The only catch is that it's easy to get hooked to that kind of performance and try what was never thought possible on an old machine, and end up filling the drive completely.
Speed regularly breaks the 250MBps barrier, and it especially shines on full Gbps LAN, meaning I also use it as a download point before transferring to other supports.
Bottom line being, it's easier than you expect to give a useful life back to an old machine, even for power users.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Cubytus
from Montréal, QC
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turned a Paperweight into a Heavyweight

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
I had to replace my 13" Macbook Pro because it had just gotten so slow... and then I bought this drive and it's almost as fast the 15" Retina Display that replaced it! Still glad to have the new one by my wife is going to enjoy the hot new Macbook that will be replacing her Dell very soon.
Pros: Quality, fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Upgrade for a 2009 MacBook

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Used this SSD and maxed out the RAM (8.0 GB) to make this MacBook run like new.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Chicago, IL
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

240GB SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm 3Gb/s

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Easy install,fast transfers.
The older notebook has a new and cooler life, and is faster than before.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Greenbush, USA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Good value - product as advertised. Performance matches specs - pleased with this drive.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Missouri
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right choice for my particular Mac

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
I appreciate the extra information OWC provides. The Mercury Electra 6G (a SATA 3 SSD) is faster, and the price is about the same, so it seems to be a better choice. However, OWC provided a "special note" relevant to certain Mac models (including the 2009 Mac mini). It says that for those specified Mac models with SATA 2, a faster SATA 3 SSD would work but only operate at the slower SATA 1 speed. To achieve full compatibility and potential speed, OWC recommends the Mercury Electra 3G (a SATA 2 SSD), for those specified Mac models. Most other vendors would not have bothered to provide such detailed information (or even have such knowledge).
I also appreciate the installation videos. They are well-produced with clear narration. I have it playing on an iPad, while working on the Mac mini.
This Mac mini is older, but now feels a lot more "snappy." I leave it running all the time, so start-up time is not as important, but it is noticeably faster at doing things that require disk access, even basic activity such as loading a web page. I had it in an open external drive case (to clone) before installing it, and it stays very cool, compared to a hard drive.
Pros: Quality, low heat
Customer Avatar
ken1w
from San Francisco, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance, easy upgrade

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Installed into my MacBook Pro 5,3 and I am very pleased! Only 20 seconds from off to ready to use! Given new life to my machine. A little pricey but I think it will be worth it.
Pros: performance
Cons: price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ohio
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One great SDD very fast vs OLD HDD

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Very easy to use and to install with the kit appropriate, that also can be acquired in this same store online. Really it is worth the pain to acquire it like main unit of starting of the Mac Pro 2010
Pros: Quality, Durability, more fast vs hdd
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Madrid-Spain
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Drive

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Bought the 960GB SSD for my 2009 iMac to help speed things up. My startup time to the login page was 4 minutes. It is now 45 sec. Installation of the drive was not difficult but it is so much smaller it did not fit securely in place. I had to rig some adhesive backed Velcro to hold it in place. Overall, I love the drive and its improved performance (as well as no sound).
Pros: Quality, speed, sound level
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Kansas
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC SSD

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Great drive. Completely revamped my MacBookPro. I use my computer for everyday use and as my main audio DAW computer. I used OWC's kit for converting my CD/DVD drive to an additional internal drive for samples, etc. and it is a killing machine. Fast. Starts up in 14 seconds. Thanks. Products are great and service is excellent.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NYC
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a huge speed boost for my daughter's white Macbook

PostedAugust 28, 2014
the boot time is hugely different now that I replaced the stock 5400RPM 250GB drive with a Mercury SSD. This was my second Mercury SSD purchase.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brandon, MS
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mercury SSDs are awesome as always

PostedAugust 28, 2014
This was my fifth Mecury SSD purchase. They've all been great.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brandon, MS
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was as described

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Was as described
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>