Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 / 5
5
 / 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
5 stars
99
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
98 out of 98(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This drive has brought a 4 year old iMac back to life

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Excuse my english, as you'll be able to see on my location, I'm Spanish.
Upgraded the slow and noisy HDD on my iMac with this marvellous SSD. Working perfectly, no problems during installation (It was a bit difficult though).
OS X Yosemite (clean install) boots in about 15 seconds versus the minute or more that it required with the mechanical disk.
Love the quality of the drive itself too: really thin, perfectly painted...
iMac 11,2 (Mid-2010)
Intel Core i3 3,2 GHz
It came with a Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 (noisier than any HDD ever installed on an iMac) that was quite slow and loud, mainly when accessing random data (like when booting the OS).
(I also bought the OWC multimount (3,5" to 2,5") and it fits as nicely as I expected)
I bought a toolkit too, a waste of money: the product is great, but it isn't required to open this computer. All you'll need is a couple of torx screwdrivers (T8 and T10)
I encourage everyone reading this to upgrade their drives with solid state ones, specially if the computer is an upgradeable MacBook Pro or a Mac Pro (because of the simplicity on the installation).
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: installation was a bit tricky (on an imac)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Barcelona, Spain.
Age: 18-24
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Upgrade

PostedDecember 3, 2014
I purchased this for my Mid-2009 15" MacBook Pro. Installation was simple. It reduced my boot to password screen time from 44 seconds to 25 seconds. Launching Photoshop CS5 dropped from 19 seconds to 3 seconds... Excellent product, great service.
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed improvement
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Edmond, OK
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made my laptop faster than new!

PostedNovember 26, 2014
I put this SSD in my 2009 Macbook Pro laptop and it made it better than when it was new. Faster than fast! I also added 8 GB of RAM. With the SSD the computer boots so fast I can't believe the difference. Going from 2 to 8 GB has speeded up the operation some too!
Pros: Quality, Durability, easy to install w/video
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Saskatchewan Canada
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 18, 2014
I'm very pleased with this fast drive. Great service. Great price.
Pros: Quality, Durability, price, warranty
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Canada
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly in Late 2008 13" MacBook (Aluminum Unibody)

PostedNovember 17, 2014
I bought the 480GB Mercury Electra 3G to replace the stock 5,400 RPM 160GB Fujitsu hard drive. Installation was easy – I used an online guide for reference. The newer OWC drives are 7mm thick (height), which is not an issue in the compatible MacBooks. The only tricky thing is to make sure you've screwed the T6 Torx side screws from the original hard drive all the way into the new drive's holes, otherwise it won't sit flush under the retaining bracket. Also, try not to put any force on the thin SATA connector in the MacBook... there is enough slack in the cable to disconnect and connect the drives without a problem.
I installed a fresh copy of OS X 10.9.5 on the new drive and I used Migration Assistant to import data from the old hard drive, installed fresh copies of all the applications, and everything is running perfectly. I haven't run any benchmarks, but the performance improvement is obvious – I strongly recommend upgrading your MacBook's memory to 8 GB (supported by OS X 10.6 and later) along with your storage. I plan to upgrade to OS X 10.10 soon and I'll let the drive manage its own garbage collection, as OWC recommends.
Pros: Quality, Durability, performance, power savings, lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Install of SSD

PostedNovember 15, 2014
I can't believe how easy it was to install the new hard drive. I was worried I might damage something, but the videos on the site helped me walk through the process. The laptop has new life now, and it very fast, compared to having the old HDD.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Diego
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed up an old computer

PostedNovember 9, 2014
I put this SSD in a Late 2005 PowerMac G5. Works perfectly and I used a great mounting bracket I got here. Looks cool.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Farmington, MO
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great. . . . . .so far

PostedNovember 8, 2014
I use this drive as my scratch disk for rendering Poser stuff and it has stepped up this process tremendously. The same with Photoshop saves, etc.
If I have a complaint it is something is causing an occasional computer hang requiring a complete restart. Something that would really, really irritate me except the restart is so fast with this drive I hardly have time to complain.
Response from Other World ComputingTechnical SupportTechnical SupportNovember 10, 2014
9 times out of 10, occasional system hangs are actually software-based. Try repairing permissions on the drive.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SSD is as fast as advertised

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Installed the 120 GB SSD in my MacBook Pro 2009 model and the difference is almost scary. I literally have a new MacBook. Startup is in 15 seconds or so compared to several minutes with the original HD. All Apps run faster as does the internet connection. Was easy to install. Didn't really need instructional video but it was great also.
Thank you
Pros: Quality, Durability, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hollywood, FL
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

128GB on MacBook pro 2006

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Updated my old macBook Pro 2006 with this: I just have a new laptop now!
Amaizing speed. boot-up time of less than 30 sec. with Mac OS X Lion.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Switzerland
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy install and works fine

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Dropped right into my MBP 5,1, works fine.
Noticeable speedup at boot and application launch.
Pros: easy install, silent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New Jersey
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SSD fit perfectly, 2010 Mac Mini is real snappy

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Arrived OK, well packaged. The online installation video made it super easy and it only took 15 minutes. My Mac Mini boots in 20 sec and apps load almost instantly. A new lease on life for my 2010 mini and OSX 10.6.8 allows me to run in 32 bit mode so my fax modem still works! YAY
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from dimples
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More power efficient than Kingston SSDs

PostedOctober 27, 2014
I purchased two of these SSDs for a 5,1 Macbook Pro. The optical drive has been removed, and the second SSD put in its place via a converter bracket. The two drives are in RAID 0 configuration.
I have used this same configuration with Kingston SSDs, and I have to say that the battery life on the Macbook Pro has been better. With the Kingstons, a full charge would have yielded a reading of 3 hours or so. The OWC drives give an reading of over 4 hrs.
The Kingstons lasted 2 years and 3 months before giving trouble. Time will tell how the OWCs do.
As for speed: In Yosemite, Photoshop CS3 launches in 5 seconds. Approximately the same for iPhoto.
Yes, I will be recommending these little gems to other users. Definitely.
Pros: power efficiency
Cons: bit more expensive that other ssds but worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Upgrade

PostedOctober 19, 2014
I chose to upgrade my late 2009 Mac Mini rather than purchasing new, and have found an instant 'new feeling' with the new SSD drive and RAM from OWC. I really appreciated the step by step DIY videos on here as well as it made the transition simple.
Highly recommend this route if you wish to see your Mini last a few more years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Solid Drive

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Smooth no problems with this drive
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Baxter,Tn
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't waist your time and money with other SSDs

PostedOctober 18, 2014
I replaced the old Samsung 470 SSD 256 GB with the new OWC Mercury 3G SSD 240 GB on my old MacBook Pro late 2008. The migration of data was easy thanks to Carbon Copy Cloner and the physical installation was done in less than 2 minutes. After the replacement I noticed a speed improvement. However, what really impressed me was the low fan noise. The fans didn’t kick in, as it was the case for the Samsung SSD. After the OWC SSD installation, my mac runs faster than before and very very very quiet. Even working with resource demanding applications, such as Photoshop, Aperture or AutoCAD, the fan noise is acceptable. With the OWC I do not need to hack the operating system to enable the trim support. Whereas in my Samsung I had to hack the operating System to enable the Trim support, in the OWC this is not necessary due their internal technology that manages the SSDs garbage collection in a proper way. This means that you don’t need to hack the system after every update.
Pros: Quality, Durability, faster computer, no need to hack the operating system for trim supp, quiet operations, finally something assembled in the usa
Cons: in switzerland you are going to pay import taxes, i should have used owc parts before
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC ROCKS! Solid State Drive is FANTASTIC

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Converting any hard drive isn't as easy at is looks however OWC makes it very easy with their installation videos. The delivery was quick and I would highly recommend converting any hard drive to a OWC Solid State Drive as soon as possible for speed and durability. Don't wait until your mechanical hard drive fails.
Pros: Quality, installation videos online, quick shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Pittsburgh PA
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Noob
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed Great!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Loaded my MacBook Pro 2008 with this SSD made a great improvement to my computer speed. Photoshop CS5 loaded in three seconds compared to an eternity previously. This 240GB drive also gave me some needed headroom from my 160GB traditional drive.The 3G gave my ailing computer new life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Tempe, Az
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

System at double speed

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Mounted the disc, transferred the data with Time Machine and everything works just fine. The disc is now installed for a little longer than three months and up to now no problems whatsoever have occurred. The Mac really works about twice as fast as before. I am very pleased !
Three months is not very long, so I can't say anything about long time durability, but I have high hopes... :-)
Greetings, T.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Austria
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Bought for my late 2009 mac mini when the old HHD died. It's back and better than ever maxed out with 8 GB of ram too. I love the speed improvements. Installation was insanely easy. They make 2009 mac mini upgrades seem like you need a degree in computer repair, but I think a monkey with youtube could probably get it done.
Pros: Quality, Durability, ease of installation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>