Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.927 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(219 Reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 219 reviews
5 stars
204
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
210 out of 211(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy For Now!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2016
I am purchased the drive because a 120 gt 3G died on may after only a year. The customer service was great and I receive a new 120 gt 3G. I felt if I was going to go through the trouble of re-installing a 3G SSD into my Mac mini it may as well be larger. So I am very happy for now. How long the drive last remains to be seen. The price is reasonable and the instructional videos are fantastic. Each day it runs I am happier!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Secondary SSD

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Used this SSD as my secondary SSD. Replace the regular one in my G5. It made my whole system run soooo much faster. It felt like I had a new, faster processor installed. And it also runs so much quiter. Files copy so much faster from Internal SSD-1 to internal SSD-2.
Pros: Quality, Durability, silent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from New York
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speeds up the current processor!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Used this SSD to replace the regular one in my G5. It made my whole system run soooo much faster. It felt like I had a new, faster processor installed. And it also runs so much more quite.
This is my second G5 I'm replacing with a SSD since the other G5 SSD works so well.
Pros: Quality, Durability, quite
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from New York
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes an Old macbook run great

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
Installed it on my 2010 Macbook and it runs like a Pro. Fast and super responsive. OWC products are top class.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Santa Rosa, California
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

revived my mid-2007 MacBook Pro!

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
great drive, great price, Well worth doing.
one part of the instructions was a little trickier than expected, but i still got it done in under an hour, and the speed/storage boost is terrific.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Western Mass
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SSD made my computer much much faster!

PostedJanuary 20, 2016
My iMac is quite old- about 7 years old. It became super slow. Once I bought this SSD drive with the necessary bracket and had it installed, my iMac became much much faster. It almost flies now. It's quite close to the speed of a brand new iMac now. I love it!
Pros: Quality
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, working great!

PostedJanuary 19, 2016
My grandson and I just installed this in my wife's 2008 Macbook Pro last Friday, so we don't have a lot of experience with it yet. For the things my wife uses her notebook for, I don't expect to see a dramatic improvement in speed. But I have noticed that it does boot up from a restart a lot faster than before. If she gets another couple of years from the Macbook Pro before some other issue forces her to get a new one, it will be well worth the cost.
Pros: Quality, good price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't change computer, throw away mechanical HDD and switch to SSD!

PostedJanuary 15, 2016
Installed on a 2009 Mac Mini... just makes an amazing difference, even if the Mini controller is only "Sata 2".
Mac Mini 2009 + 8GB Ram + SSD = EL CAPITAN boots in 19 seconds.
No need to say anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Italy
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD Drive!

PostedNovember 29, 2015
These drives are great. I have had it for awhile now and it has improved performance of my 2009 Mac Pro.
Pros: Quality, Durability, size
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Torrance, Ca
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great - prefer the 6 but the 3 works well....

PostedJanuary 12, 2016
needed another SSD to do some startup shuffling and create another new OS start up - so this was perfect for the job.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Aus
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

M old Mac now a goes like a rocket!

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
I put this drive into my mid 2010 Macbook Pro and it goes like a rocket. Super fast boot, very quick access. Very happy - it will keep this old Macbook running for many years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Australia
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MBP just flies like an Eagle

PostedDecember 28, 2015
Replaced a slow 5400rpm 320GB internal harddrive with this SSD. What a difference it makes. My late '08 MBP boots up in 20 seconds or less. Only 2 turns of the turning circle on OS X 10.6.8 & I'm up & running. Couldn't be better pleased. At first I thought an SSD was expensive but delighted now that I bit the bullet.
Pros: Quality, Durability, very easy to install
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have done this a long time ago,

PostedDecember 19, 2015
I have had this in my Mac Book Pro Mid 2009 for the last 2 months with no problems what so ever, faster startup, faster all-round
Pros: Quality, price, size of drive
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Massive performance boost

PostedDecember 14, 2015
I replaced my 250GB HDD in my 2009 Macbook Pro and the increase in performance was immediately noticeable. This is my first OWC product and I am extremely happy with it.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product easy to install

PostedDecember 13, 2015
Thanks so much, I was able to salvage my 2009 macbook pro and now it performs better than it ever did. Much faster disc access and start up. The video on how to install was great as was the tool kit
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from canada
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for my use.

PostedDecember 13, 2015
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from France
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Performer

PostedDecember 12, 2015
I have several 2008 20" iMac's in my home. I just upgraded my son's machine with this drive and what difference it has made. Along with the great OWC AdaptaDrive (really well made) and the Mercury 3G, this was a simple replacement. The machine performs so well, I am very pleased. My son is very happy with his "new" iMac, and I think we will get many more years of service out of this machine thanks to this drive upgrade.
Pros: Quality, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Silver Spring, MD
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 5, 2015
I purchased this drive to replace the slow, aging HDD in my early 2009 27" iMac. The iMac only has SATA II and this drive is perfect for the slower interface. Read and Write speeds are in the upper 200's and the overall performance boost of SSD versus HDD has actually made me not want to buy a new 5K iMac. This old one should have many years left in it thanks to a speedy hard drive.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Franklin, PA
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SSD really make a difference in performance

PostedNovember 30, 2015
I had an old Mac Mini from 2007 with just 1 GB of RAM and 80 GB HDD. It became new life with this upgrade (and 4 GB RAM)
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Denmark
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it: speedy and reliable

PostedNovember 16, 2015
This is my second unit.
Speeds up any mac. Incredilble, feels like having a brand new computer.
OWC's install videos are also great.
First one had a problem, under warranty. No questions asked, replaced very quickly.
Great service.
Pros: Quality, cheap !
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>