Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
All
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.928 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(235 Reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 235 reviews
5 stars
219
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
224 out of 225(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Install couldn't be easier!

PostedMay 1, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mid-2009 MacBook Pro - reborn with SSD!

PostedApril 30, 2016
The Hard Drive was dying on my MBP. While it was tempting to buy a new Mac, I decided that there was really nothing else wrong with the ol' girl, so I decided to get an SSD from OWC to give her a bit more life. It arrived from the USA when expected and changing the drive was a breeze thanks to the online instructions. Reinstallation of my software items was trouble free and then, when I finally re-booted......."WOW!" I'm absolutely amazed at the boost in performance - the advertised comparisons are not an exaggeration! I'm going to get some more RAM from OWC, and I reckon I'll get many more years before I have to think about a new Mac. Thanks MacSales and OWC!
Pros: Quality, Durability, performance gains
Cons: prevents me from getting a new macbook pro
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fountain of Youth for an Aging Mac

PostedApril 23, 2016
Greatest upgrade ever. Put this SSD in a '08 Unibody Mac and it ran like a new machine. Wonderful. It's been in there for years now and still performs without a complaint. I found keeping your SSD under 50% capacity keep it at peak performance so keep this in mind when purchasing. This wasn't a problem, I find it easiest to keep huge media files on an external drive anyway.
OWC was really helpful in selecting the right drive and in providing installation support. Great company and a great drive. Good performance. No complaints.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Install, Great Performance

PostedApril 18, 2016
Summary says it all. My MacBook feels snappy and responsive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic improvement to old MacBook

PostedApril 9, 2016
I have a 2008 MacBook unibody laptop that was starting to struggle. Installing this SSD drive as well as additional RAM was incredibly easy (including data & systems files transfer) especially given the online videos. This has resulted in refreshing my machine and giving it a new life. Well worth the cost. Cannot thank OWC enough; they really remove the significant issue of parts compatibility (a major problem with Macs at least for me) as a concern.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Toronto
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD for older Macs

PostedApril 7, 2016
If you need to speed up your older Mac, this SSD is a great choice. It made my Mid-2010 MacBook Pro feel like a new machine. It fitted perfectly, and now the spinning beach ball of waiting isn't a constant feature of my computing experience. The OWC video showed me exactly how to do the installation myself, and all went very well. No funky TRIM enablement is needed with OWC SSDs, so you can just install and use the drive without concern.
Pros: Quality, speed, easy
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Baton Rouge, LA
Experience Level: Home User
Verified Buyer: true
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

240GB Mercury 3G SSD

PostedApril 5, 2016
The perfect upgrade for and MacBook Pro. Upgraded two 2010 MacBook Pros and now they run better than new.
Pros: Quality, Durability, fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New SSD for a failing HD on an old MacBook Pro

PostedApril 4, 2016
This replaced the 400gb hard drive that was going bad that came with my MBP (bought in Jan '09). I had never tinkered with anything inside a computer before but OWC's installation videos are spot on. Also, customer support responded to my emails promptly. As far as durability, it's hard to tell but I bought this on Oct. 28 and waited to write this review so I'd know if I got a lemon or what. So far, so good!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 25, 2016
One problem the finder takes up to 60 seconds to wake up, otherwise very happy
Pros: Quality, easy to install
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMarch 25, 2016
Upgraded my MacBook Pro with ram, battery, and an SSD. It has been sluggish for quite some time. Now it is very responsive and acts like it did when I purchased it new. The videos and how-to's made this upgrade very easy. Glad that I found MacSales & OWC.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This drive really helped speed up my old MacBook.

PostedMarch 21, 2016
I have a 2009 MacBook which seemed always slow. So I bought one of these, installed it using the video on the OWC site, and wow, seems like a whole different computer. Boots fast, apps open fast--very pleased!
Pros: speed boost
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD for an old MacBook Pro

PostedMarch 15, 2016
I was surprised how much of a performance improvement an SSD would make in my old 2007 MacBook Pro. I'd definitely recommend it for those who have an old MBP. I've only had it for a month now, so I can't speak about it's longevity.
Pros: Quality
Customer Avatar
from Reims, France
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 18, 2016
It gave new life to my MacBook Pro 2009
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Puerto Rico
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Speed upgrade

PostedFebruary 14, 2016
Added this drive as to get a speed update by using it as the boot drive and putting the user files on a 4tb drive separately. It seems to be working well.
Pros: Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from kansas city
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speedy now

PostedFebruary 13, 2016
Computer uploads in less than a minute. It gets the job done.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
from Va.
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, but...

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
I wish it wasn't that expensive and that I could go even to a higher capacity.
Overall, this SSD has given my 10-year old MacBook new lease on life - way cheaper than a new Mac, but still - would have been nice to be able to go to a higher capacity SSD.
The install was a breeze, once I prepped it (had an external SATA enclosure).
Now, if I only could get some $$$ back for the 640 GB HD that I pulled out...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Ottawa, ON
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy For Now!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2016
I am purchased the drive because a 120 gt 3G died on may after only a year. The customer service was great and I receive a new 120 gt 3G. I felt if I was going to go through the trouble of re-installing a 3G SSD into my Mac mini it may as well be larger. So I am very happy for now. How long the drive last remains to be seen. The price is reasonable and the instructional videos are fantastic. Each day it runs I am happier!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Secondary SSD

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Used this SSD as my secondary SSD. Replace the regular one in my G5. It made my whole system run soooo much faster. It felt like I had a new, faster processor installed. And it also runs so much quiter. Files copy so much faster from Internal SSD-1 to internal SSD-2.
Pros: Quality, Durability, silent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from New York
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 3Gb/s Solid State Drive..
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speeds up the current processor!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Used this SSD to replace the regular one in my G5. It made my whole system run soooo much faster. It felt like I had a new, faster processor installed. And it also runs so much more quite.
This is my second G5 I'm replacing with a SSD since the other G5 SSD works so well.
Pros: Quality, Durability, quite
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from New York
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes an Old macbook run great

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
Installed it on my 2010 Macbook and it runs like a Pro. Fast and super responsive. OWC products are top class.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Santa Rosa, California
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>