Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
All
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.93 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 244 reviews
5 stars
228
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
233 out of 234(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality of item was great.

PostedJuly 28, 2016
Quality of the wrapping was high-standard.
Quality of item was great.
Fantastic service.
Recommended.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Muscat,oman
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good replacement

PostedJuly 24, 2016
I got this for my 2010 17" MacBook Pro when the original hard drive failed. I decided to replace it with a SSD since prices had become so affordable finally. My original hard drive was 250 GB and only half full after nearly 6 years, so this 240 GB replacement seemed a perfect size and the price can't be beat. It was super easy to install (I already had the tool kit), and the only problem was that it wasn't formatted and thus was not recognized by the computer. I called OWC and got quick and efficient help—they told me what to do and then sent an email with instructions right away. I guess I would suggest that these instructions be included in the drive package. The drive itself is hugely faster than the old HD, and all is working perfectly. OWC products and service are stellar, same as I've always experienced over many years of purchasing from them.
Pros: Quality, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC Mercury Electra 3G 2.5" 120GB SSD

PostedJune 26, 2016
I purchased the OWC 120 GB SSD to replace two HD's in 2012 Mac Mini's. Definite speed increase during startup. I also have a 1TB OWC SSD. SSD's in general are much faster and cooler than typical platter HD's. I would recommend the 120GB SSD for use as the Operating System HD. One can save money with the slower platter style HD's for file,music,video storage. However, I must state that as soon as the OWC SSD's come down in price I will purchase a 2TB SSD.
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed(fast start-up)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Camarillo, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent ssd for Older Computers

PostedJune 20, 2016
I had a macbook 5,2 from mid 2009 with a 500 gb 7200rpm Hard Drive.There were times where there would be little bits of lag in random places.When i put the ssd in my macbook, everything i did was 3-4 times faster.With the ssd there is no lag.I would highly recommend this ssd for older computers that cannot use the full 6gb/s speed of a sata III ssd.Also , this ssd does not need to have trim enabled.Great for older macbooks.I was able to get 210 MB/s write and 262 MB/s read speeds consistently.
Pros: Quality, Durability, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Naples,FL
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Mercury Electra Revived my MacBookPro

PostedJune 19, 2016
After I updated to El Capitan, in my mid2010 MacBrookPro, almost anything I did caused the color wheel to appear and seemed to take forever to disappear. It was so bad that I looked into buying a new computer but decided to first replace my hard drive. That was a great decision since now the color wheel rarely appears and my computer seems faster than the day I bought it
I chose MacSales to buy it, since they have a 30 day return policy, and chose the Electra based on its specifications. Before I installed the SSD, I put it into an external hard drive box and used DIsk Utility to initialize the drive, and Carbon Copy Cloner to replicate my internal drive stuff. The online information showed that there was some installed software but it didn't show up. Instead, the SSD launched Disk Utility. After Cloner finished, which took over five hours, I installed it in my computer. Installation was very easy because I had the drivers to remove the computer cover, and the hard drive screws. Too bad they aren't included with the drive. I expect the Electra to last the remaining life of my MacBookPro. Only time will tell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Viagra for older iMacs

PostedJune 2, 2016
Seriously, if you're thinking of getting this, get it. Don't be afraid. Their installation tutorial videos are the best. The videos are so simple, even my 7 year old kid can follow it and get the job done.
SSD upgrade gave my mac a second chance in life. My HD was dying so I replaced it with this. Now my 2009 iMac is like an energizer bunny on viagra. So fast. Better than when I first got it.
Thanks OWC for all the help. From finding out my what my system needs to replacing the irregular suction cup. You guys made everything a breeze.
10/10 would deal with you guys again.
Pros: Quality, Durability, customer service is superb!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from maple ridge, bc
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To revive and old mac mini

PostedMay 17, 2016
These is the third SSD I buy in the last 6 month. Not because they don't work. Just because I am obseced with SSD's. When you try it you will know what I am talking about. These time is for and old Mac Mini 2009 2.53Ghz 8Gig with El Capitan. Before the SSD it was slow, and the beach ball always present on the screen. After setup it's like a new mac. Starting up takes always less than 20 secs. Apps open faster. It works better than when I bought it in 2009. It gave new life to these computer. Now I have it in my office as an additional computer on my network and everybody is happy with the speed it performs.
Pros: Quality, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Puerto Rico
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best most affordable investment !!!! Buy it, thank me later

PostedMay 16, 2016
I was almost ready to junk my late 2008 MacBook pro... I then started reading about the SSD from OWC and decide to invest on the SSD and the ram. installation was a breeze. When I turn my machine for the first time, I was baffle. Day and night difference. My friend has an 2015 MacBook and he was just amaze that mine was way older than his but mine was as quick as his is not faster. From a $200 dead weight to a super fast and functional work horse in 5 minutes flat. amazing. I run photoshop like a pro and nothing slow down my MacBook. My friend is so in love that he is going to upgrade his hard drive as well OCW. I did also put a 8 GB ram so, if you buy the SSD also upgrade the RAM. You would love Mac all over again. the crazy beach ball is a thing of the past.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay WI
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Life

PostedMay 14, 2016
Installed this in a 2010 MBP that was getting slow with pinwheel a regular sight. This drive has given my old laptop extended life. Will wait on the purchase i was planning. Great support made the purchase that much better.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Install couldn't be easier!

PostedMay 1, 2016
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mid-2009 MacBook Pro - reborn with SSD!

PostedApril 30, 2016
The Hard Drive was dying on my MBP. While it was tempting to buy a new Mac, I decided that there was really nothing else wrong with the ol' girl, so I decided to get an SSD from OWC to give her a bit more life. It arrived from the USA when expected and changing the drive was a breeze thanks to the online instructions. Reinstallation of my software items was trouble free and then, when I finally re-booted......."WOW!" I'm absolutely amazed at the boost in performance - the advertised comparisons are not an exaggeration! I'm going to get some more RAM from OWC, and I reckon I'll get many more years before I have to think about a new Mac. Thanks MacSales and OWC!
Pros: Quality, Durability, performance gains
Cons: prevents me from getting a new macbook pro
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fountain of Youth for an Aging Mac

PostedApril 23, 2016
Greatest upgrade ever. Put this SSD in a '08 Unibody Mac and it ran like a new machine. Wonderful. It's been in there for years now and still performs without a complaint. I found keeping your SSD under 50% capacity keep it at peak performance so keep this in mind when purchasing. This wasn't a problem, I find it easiest to keep huge media files on an external drive anyway.
OWC was really helpful in selecting the right drive and in providing installation support. Great company and a great drive. Good performance. No complaints.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Install, Great Performance

PostedApril 18, 2016
Summary says it all. My MacBook feels snappy and responsive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic improvement to old MacBook

PostedApril 9, 2016
I have a 2008 MacBook unibody laptop that was starting to struggle. Installing this SSD drive as well as additional RAM was incredibly easy (including data & systems files transfer) especially given the online videos. This has resulted in refreshing my machine and giving it a new life. Well worth the cost. Cannot thank OWC enough; they really remove the significant issue of parts compatibility (a major problem with Macs at least for me) as a concern.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Toronto
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD for older Macs

PostedApril 7, 2016
If you need to speed up your older Mac, this SSD is a great choice. It made my Mid-2010 MacBook Pro feel like a new machine. It fitted perfectly, and now the spinning beach ball of waiting isn't a constant feature of my computing experience. The OWC video showed me exactly how to do the installation myself, and all went very well. No funky TRIM enablement is needed with OWC SSDs, so you can just install and use the drive without concern.
Pros: Quality, speed, easy
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Baton Rouge, LA
Experience Level: Home User
Verified Buyer: true
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

240GB Mercury 3G SSD

PostedApril 5, 2016
The perfect upgrade for and MacBook Pro. Upgraded two 2010 MacBook Pros and now they run better than new.
Pros: Quality, Durability, fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New SSD for a failing HD on an old MacBook Pro

PostedApril 4, 2016
This replaced the 400gb hard drive that was going bad that came with my MBP (bought in Jan '09). I had never tinkered with anything inside a computer before but OWC's installation videos are spot on. Also, customer support responded to my emails promptly. As far as durability, it's hard to tell but I bought this on Oct. 28 and waited to write this review so I'd know if I got a lemon or what. So far, so good!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 25, 2016
One problem the finder takes up to 60 seconds to wake up, otherwise very happy
Pros: Quality, easy to install
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMarch 25, 2016
Upgraded my MacBook Pro with ram, battery, and an SSD. It has been sluggish for quite some time. Now it is very responsive and acts like it did when I purchased it new. The videos and how-to's made this upgrade very easy. Glad that I found MacSales & OWC.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This drive really helped speed up my old MacBook.

PostedMarch 21, 2016
I have a 2009 MacBook which seemed always slow. So I bought one of these, installed it using the video on the OWC site, and wow, seems like a whole different computer. Boots fast, apps open fast--very pleased!
Pros: speed boost
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>