Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(178 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
5 stars
168
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
170 out of 171(99%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Budget SSD

PostedAugust 11, 2015
This Electra 3G SSD was easy to clone and install. It improved the performance of my 2006 Mac Mini tremendously. I will certainly buy more of these drives in the future.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sounds of silence!

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Installed the Electra 3G in my late 2009 Mac Mini on Saturday. Bought it to replace my 5-year-old 750GB WD Scorpio Black. The WD is a wonderful drive that has proven to be fast and reliable. I did, however, want to replace it before any problems cropped up. Decided to make the move to the OWC SSD. I have been buying from OWC for more than 20 years and have always been pleased with their products and customer service. Drive swap was easy and uneventful. Popped the SSD into my Mercury Elite-AL Pro enclosure, formatted it and then cloned my Scorpio Black to it. Pulled it out, popped open my mini and replaced the Scorpio with the new Electra. Since I had the Mini opened, I also replaced the PRAM battery and Optical Drive ... which had ceased to operate reliably a year ago. (I bought the Optiarc DVD RW AD-7800H at the same time I bought the Electra.) Put the Mini back together, transferred the old Scorpio to the Elite-AL Pro enclosure (to use in my back-up routine) and fired the Mini up. What I noticed immediately is how QUIET the Mini's fan actually is!!!! Could never hear the fan (unless it ramped up) over the sound of the Scorpio! As far as speed ... am very pleased. The Scorpio was no slouch ... but the SSD is obviously faster. Only problem I had during the installation process was that I had to remove and rebuild the trash after I booted with the SSD. I am sure this had nothing to do with the SSD itself, but some glitch that happened during cloning. Everything has been running wonderfully since installation and I anticipate years of reliable service before replacing this drive. (I love this late 2009 2.53Ghz Mini configuration and plan to keep it until it eventually dies .... though I do have a spare in the event this happens!!) Thank-you OWC!
Pros: Quality, Durability, capacity
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Corry, PA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New life for my iMac

PostedAugust 10, 2015
I replaced the internal drive in my 2009 iMac with a Mercury SSD and the optical drive with a larger hybrid disk. It's like buying a new machine. Strongly recommended.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Brookline, MA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great speed improvements on 2010 Macbook Pro

PostedAugust 10, 2015
I ordered this SSD together with the 16GB RAM memory upgrade kit for my Mid 2010 Macbook Pro, as it was totally not performing anymore with the 4GB base RAM and a standard 7200RPM HD.
After having received and placed the OWC SSD and memory, the Macbook is performing like a new one again, with much shorter application load times, quicker browsing and general application usage. I was most happy to see that Apps like Apple Photos, containing a huge library of images is now running smooth and fast in both browsing and editing.
Although not totally convinced upfront about the possible hassle of ordering in the US, paying taxes and going through customs, the process went very smooth and the package was delivered in the Netherlands on Friday morning after having ordered Wednesday!
Pros: Quality, speed
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from The Netherlands
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Upgrade

PostedAugust 8, 2015
I considered replacing my late 2008 MacBook Pro with one of the new MacBooks but thought I'd try saving a lot of money by getting the 480GB Mercury Electra SSD. It's worked out great. Speed is considerably faster, boot time is a fraction of what I had with the original drive. Everything about this machine is improved to the point it feels like a new computer. I first cloned the HD with Carbon Copy Cloner then fitted the new SSD. Installation was a breeze. I highly recommend this product. Never been disappointed with OWC.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Illinois, USA
Experience Level: IT Professional
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast

PostedAugust 7, 2015
love the speed and ease os installation
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

iMac transformation

PostedJuly 31, 2015
this drive has transformed my 2007 iMac, saving it from the e-waste pile and adding years to its useful life.
So good I've ordered a bigger version for my Mac Pro. Hopefully the performance gains will be the same.
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from BrisVegas
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"New iMac"

PostedJuly 21, 2015
I have a mid 2008 24" iMac that was in serious need of being replaced. I decided to give OWC a try after having successfully upgraded a 2012 MacBook Pro with an OWC SSD. I was incredibly happy with the MacBook so why not.
I couldn't be happier with the iMac upgrade. The video on disassembly of the iMac went as shown. The kit to remove the front glass worked beautifully. All in all, a most worthwhile upgrade. By replacing the internal drive with a 480 GB SSD and upgrading the RAM, the iMAC is like buying a brand new computer. Well worth the effort and time.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC Delivers Again

PostedJuly 16, 2015
I replaced the hard drive in my 2010 Macbook with this SSD and what a difference. Boot times are phenomenal and the speed increase is almost as good as a processor upgrade. I received it fast and at a reasonable price.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Riversde CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Went in easy, made a big difference.

PostedJuly 13, 2015
My older 2009 iMAC is fast now. I run Photoshop and Light room on this old bird and she loves it. The how to videos were perfect and this device installed easily. I loaded the OS on it and off it went. Running like a champ. Boot up speed went from over 3 minutes to under 20 seconds. compared to my HDD. I did this as a practice / experiment before I do my main iMAC. So pleased, when I have time I'll be doing my day to day iMAC.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Elgin, IL
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So good i recently ordered another for my laptop

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Wow, this thing is quick, quiet, and cool!! Very nice SSD, wish I had bought one sooner!!
Pros: Quality, Durability, cost
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD upgrade for MacBook Pro mid-2009

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Fast delivery and great installation instructions. Would definitely recommend to older MacBook users who consider upgrading their hardware thus extending the lifetime of their machines for the foreseeable future.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from HK
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive upgrade

PostedJune 28, 2015
I install these hard drives in all my computers and the speed increase is pretty amazing. Everytime someone advise me to upgrade the ram, or optimize the hard drive I never quite notice that my computer was running faster until I installed solid state hard drives. My computer start up so fast, Photoshop Office and Iphoto that usually took for ever to load, no anymore. You can really experience real speed.
Pros: easy t install, affordable speed improvement
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Greenville SC
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very glad I did the upgrade

PostedJune 25, 2015
Pros
- Super Fast Boot Times
- Super Fast App Launching
- Excellent read/write speeds
- Silent
Cons
- Expensive per GB compared to HDD
- Limited Max Size
- Was forced to migrate media files to an external HDD
My original hard drive for my early-2009 iMac was getting full and bogged down. I looked at two upgrade options;
1. Upgrade to a 4TB Seagate fusion drive (similar to what is sold in iMacs now)
2. Upgrade to a 256GB SSD with a 3TB external HDD
I decided to go with option two. Even though it was the more expensive option (about $150 more total than the fusion drive) I figured if I was going to go through the hassle of taking apart my iMac, I might as well go for the fastest speeds. Installation did not go smoothly (I accidentally formatted the partition instead of the HDD) and very time consuming. Migrating my iTunes library was a cinch, but the iPhotos library migration took almost a full day of transferring files and then resenting with iCloud. Ultimately, I got it working and WOW! When people say it's like a new computer, they mean and entirely new computer. My computer never booted up and launched apps so quickly, and I don't even notice a lag accessing files on my external HDD. Note that app performance once it was open did not improve, upgrading my RAM helped with that. Either way, a very worthwhile upgrade that probably added another 2-3 years on my old 2009 iMac.
Pros: Quality, silent operation, fast boot times, fast app launches, excellent read/write speeds
Cons: expensive compared to hdd, limited max size, forced to migrate media files to an external hdd
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You cannot go wrong with these SSD's

PostedJune 22, 2015
I have bought four or five of these SSD's over the last many months. They work very well and really speed the computers up. They install easily enough, even the iMac one I bought thanks to the OWC installation videos.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Payson, AZ.
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive Speed Boost

PostedJune 22, 2015
Fast and perfect for older MacPro machines. Combine with NewerTech AdaptaDrive bracket.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 20, 2015
Cheap, efficient. No complaints
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful SSD for my 17" MacBook Pro

PostedJune 16, 2015
I have tried other brands. OWC SSD works super well and reliably with Mac. I have installed some OWC SSDs in my PCs and they works great too. The assistance from OWC was very helpful. They have shipped me brand new SSD to replace my malfunctioned SSD without hesitation a few years ago. I really trust OWC. I will continue to support them and use their high quality products, especially OWC SSDs.
CHEERS!
Pros: Quality, Durability, customer service
Cons: have to wait for shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Hong Kong
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 15, 2015
Utilized this to update an older 13" MacBook Pro, easy install (with video provided from OWC). Now working much faster with the installation of additional Ram (also purchased from OWC). So for about $200 the life of this computer has been extended for at least another 2-3 years. Well worth the investment.
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Rochester Hills, MI
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent across the board

PostedJune 13, 2015
OWC continues to deliver the best products, site, & customer service.
I am a long time customer, & look nowhere else for these products.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from FL
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>