Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive

Other World Computing 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive

960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive. Tier 1 NAND Flash storage with 7% Over Provisioned Redundancy. Mac and PC compatible. Built in the USA. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.942 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(171 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 171 reviews
5 stars
161
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
163 out of 164(99%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Review 1 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"New iMac"

PostedJuly 21, 2015
I have a mid 2008 24" iMac that was in serious need of being replaced. I decided to give OWC a try after having successfully upgraded a 2012 MacBook Pro with an OWC SSD. I was incredibly happy with the MacBook so why not.
I couldn't be happier with the iMac upgrade. The video on disassembly of the iMac went as shown. The kit to remove the front glass worked beautifully. All in all, a most worthwhile upgrade. By replacing the internal drive with a 480 GB SSD and upgrading the RAM, the iMAC is like buying a brand new computer. Well worth the effort and time.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Maryland
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC Delivers Again

PostedJuly 16, 2015
I replaced the hard drive in my 2010 Macbook with this SSD and what a difference. Boot times are phenomenal and the speed increase is almost as good as a processor upgrade. I received it fast and at a reasonable price.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Riversde CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Went in easy, made a big difference.

PostedJuly 13, 2015
My older 2009 iMAC is fast now. I run Photoshop and Light room on this old bird and she loves it. The how to videos were perfect and this device installed easily. I loaded the OS on it and off it went. Running like a champ. Boot up speed went from over 3 minutes to under 20 seconds. compared to my HDD. I did this as a practice / experiment before I do my main iMAC. So pleased, when I have time I'll be doing my day to day iMAC.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Elgin, IL
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So good i recently ordered another for my laptop

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Wow, this thing is quick, quiet, and cool!! Very nice SSD, wish I had bought one sooner!!
Pros: Quality, Durability, cost
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD upgrade for MacBook Pro mid-2009

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Fast delivery and great installation instructions. Would definitely recommend to older MacBook users who consider upgrading their hardware thus extending the lifetime of their machines for the foreseeable future.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from HK
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive upgrade

PostedJune 28, 2015
I install these hard drives in all my computers and the speed increase is pretty amazing. Everytime someone advise me to upgrade the ram, or optimize the hard drive I never quite notice that my computer was running faster until I installed solid state hard drives. My computer start up so fast, Photoshop Office and Iphoto that usually took for ever to load, no anymore. You can really experience real speed.
Pros: easy t install, affordable speed improvement
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Greenville SC
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very glad I did the upgrade

PostedJune 25, 2015
Pros
- Super Fast Boot Times
- Super Fast App Launching
- Excellent read/write speeds
- Silent
Cons
- Expensive per GB compared to HDD
- Limited Max Size
- Was forced to migrate media files to an external HDD
My original hard drive for my early-2009 iMac was getting full and bogged down. I looked at two upgrade options;
1. Upgrade to a 4TB Seagate fusion drive (similar to what is sold in iMacs now)
2. Upgrade to a 256GB SSD with a 3TB external HDD
I decided to go with option two. Even though it was the more expensive option (about $150 more total than the fusion drive) I figured if I was going to go through the hassle of taking apart my iMac, I might as well go for the fastest speeds. Installation did not go smoothly (I accidentally formatted the partition instead of the HDD) and very time consuming. Migrating my iTunes library was a cinch, but the iPhotos library migration took almost a full day of transferring files and then resenting with iCloud. Ultimately, I got it working and WOW! When people say it's like a new computer, they mean and entirely new computer. My computer never booted up and launched apps so quickly, and I don't even notice a lag accessing files on my external HDD. Note that app performance once it was open did not improve, upgrading my RAM helped with that. Either way, a very worthwhile upgrade that probably added another 2-3 years on my old 2009 iMac.
Pros: Quality, silent operation, fast boot times, fast app launches, excellent read/write speeds
Cons: expensive compared to hdd, limited max size, forced to migrate media files to an external hdd
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Portland, OR
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You cannot go wrong with these SSD's

PostedJune 22, 2015
I have bought four or five of these SSD's over the last many months. They work very well and really speed the computers up. They install easily enough, even the iMac one I bought thanks to the OWC installation videos.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Payson, AZ.
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive Speed Boost

PostedJune 22, 2015
Fast and perfect for older MacPro machines. Combine with NewerTech AdaptaDrive bracket.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 20, 2015
Cheap, efficient. No complaints
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful SSD for my 17" MacBook Pro

PostedJune 16, 2015
I have tried other brands. OWC SSD works super well and reliably with Mac. I have installed some OWC SSDs in my PCs and they works great too. The assistance from OWC was very helpful. They have shipped me brand new SSD to replace my malfunctioned SSD without hesitation a few years ago. I really trust OWC. I will continue to support them and use their high quality products, especially OWC SSDs.
CHEERS!
Pros: Quality, Durability, customer service
Cons: have to wait for shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hong Kong
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 15, 2015
Utilized this to update an older 13" MacBook Pro, easy install (with video provided from OWC). Now working much faster with the installation of additional Ram (also purchased from OWC). So for about $200 the life of this computer has been extended for at least another 2-3 years. Well worth the investment.
Pros: Quality
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Rochester Hills, MI
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent across the board

PostedJune 13, 2015
OWC continues to deliver the best products, site, & customer service.
I am a long time customer, & look nowhere else for these products.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from FL
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing improvement!

PostedJune 11, 2015
My 2008 iMac got really bogged down after I downloaded Yosemite. But I didn't want to replace it, it was a great machine! So I ordered the SSD, received it quickly, and had fun installing it with the guidance of the video OWC provides a link to.
If you don't have the tools already (torx drivers, etc.) order them with the SSD. Don't worry about pulling off the glass, a couple of pieces of packing tape stuck to the upper corners as handles will do the job.
Pros: Quality, ease of installation
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from upstate NY
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TRIM

PostedJune 7, 2015
I bought this because TRIM is necessary and OWC sales told me this SSD takes care of TRIM itself. I got rid of a Samsung SSD because they do not have internal TRIM and the Yosemite OS disables TRIM for non-Apple SSDs.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Miami, FL
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice choice

PostedJune 7, 2015
I bought the 120GB, so I had to delete some of my photos and videos from the disk. I suggest at least 240GB.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Athens, Greece
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT

PostedJune 6, 2015
Easy to install, Longer battery life & Much Faster avg. response time. I Have taken my laptop to Alaska by Motorcycle and had 0 Problems. Love it. Wish i had done this Much Sooner.!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from MO
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly

PostedJune 2, 2015
Works great.
It did not automatically go into set up mode as I had expected it to after reading that OWC drives are set up to do. I did get it going with disc utility just fine and then it went online to download Yosemite.
I'm glad the staff was available to talk to when I bought it so it matched my older Mac Pro.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from houston, tx
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My second SSD works great as outboard with 10.10

PostedMay 22, 2015
Back in April 2012, I purchased my first SSD- also 120GB electra 3G to replace internal HD. After cloning and running it as an external for a month or two, Installed it into my Mini. Major reduction in boot times, and to date flawless running 10.8.5. This second one is running via firewire as outboard and after cloning the 10.8.5, I upgraded it to Yosemite 10.10. No problem. Ive partitioned both into 4 discs plus a boot disc of 30 GB. That way when I back up the 4 data disks weekly via Airport- USB to WD 1 terabyte discs, it goes without a hitch and takes a few minutes at most. Eventually after a few months more of 10.10 outboard I will then run my mini on 10.10. Price is right, installation is easy with videos. Equivalent on a ' best buy' IMHO.
Pros: Quality, Durability, reliabilitywa
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from WA STATE
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid State Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

480GB SSD HD

PostedMay 9, 2015
Purchased this 480 GB SSD HD for use on my 2011 2.3, 13" MacBookPro. I backed up my data using Carbon Copy, copied it over and started it up on the new SSD following Apple/Mac instructions for startup disk. Big improvement in terms of startup in comparison to 500GB 5400 HD. Works well with Adobe Phtotoshop as little to no buffering/ lag time. I would recommend this to anyone. Been using this SSD HD for three years now, no problem.When I purchased this SSD HD the price was higher but for those interested now price has dropped so much better purchase for typical user. You will notice a difference.
Pros: Quality, Durability, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Camarillo, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>