Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive via USB 3.0 interface. Adapter w/Power. Fast, Simple, Plug & Play. GREAT for transferring data, etc. 1 Year NewerTech Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.805 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 37(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Review 1 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to work

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
I had a pile of old IDE drives lying around and wanted to see what was on them before trashing them. I was able to successfully use the adapter to connect to some of the drives, but not all of them. Not sure if it was an issue with the drives, or the adapter.
The cables, and power supplies take up a good bit of desktop space and are a bit clumsy to use.. but they do seem to work.
Pros: Quality
Cons: clumsy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from NC
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drive Adapter: Home Run

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
Great product when you've got a mac to update! This is my second one - a friend borrowed it and never returned it!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Newtown, CT
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Small

PostedDecember 18, 2015
I like to keep some offsite back ups. With this I can just use bare drives which is a nice cost savings. It is also nice to clone drives to new discs. The local service wanted 99$ !!! to clone my dad's new OWC SSD before they put it into his iMac. I ran over with this and did it for him.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Ventura, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential tool if you have multiple drives

PostedDecember 7, 2015
Well made, plugs a little tight till you use it a few times, works as it should and better. After I moved my drives to SSD it made transitions so much easier than the A to B and move to another bay and so forth.
The old drives, still good but slow are now in cases for backups and transfers off site.
It paid for itself in minutes....
Pros: Quality, Durability, universal
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Largo, Tampa Bay Area
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drive Reuse

PostedNovember 12, 2015
This is a great product! It has allowed me to re-use the 160GB hard drive from my late 1st generation AppleTV. The AppleTV died from a power supply failure but the hard drive was still perfectly good. Now I have a small extra backup drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the ticket

PostedOctober 20, 2015
I live a 1 hour airplane ride away from any qualified Mac repair shops. So, when my 27-inch iMac died, retrieving my data looked like it could be a major ordeal , until I came across this awesome device. It shipped quickly, was pretty inexpensive for what it was. I had the tools to take out my SDDs, and used this adapter to painlessly connect to them and to retrieve all my data. No software needed. Makes me feel that my data is much safer since it's easily retrievable from any of my other computers (so long as the SDD drive doesn't die). Probably worth having even if you've not had to retrieve data from a dead computer drive. Sooner or later that day comes to a lot of us, but if you're prepared, you'll be able to take that kind of event in your stride, or might be able to help out a friend in need.
Pros: Quality, easy to use
Cons: can't think of any
Customer Avatar
from Virgin Islands
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Any disk possible

PostedSeptember 14, 2015
this is great, got data off all my old drives, even the ancient IDE ones, sweet
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from BrisVegas
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOT like the cheapies!

PostedJuly 17, 2015
This one's made for the long haul-I've purchased three so far. One for hubby-one for the house 'puter, and one for the "travel 'puter". Works on any kind of computer, Mac, PC, is recognized by any OS (well, maybe not, but OSX, Windows, and Linux for sure.) Husband was skeptical because he's already gone through two "similar" units. Cheaply-made ones that die within a couple years. He sighed when I handed him "yet another" adapter. (His last adapter wasn't being recognized by Windows when it was attached.) I told him to give this one a try. He did. He likes. Life is good. Another winner product from OWC. What else needs to be said other than Thanks again for offering such excellent quality add-ons. Please continue doing what others don't, and I'll continue to be a loyal customer!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Hollywood
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Had a bad power cord on my first one, that was replaced as soon as I mentioned it, with no cost and no drama. The unit works great, and it one of the most useful tech tools I have ever owned.
Pros: Quality, Durability, cost
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely practical

PostedJuly 3, 2015
I had a 5.25" Drive rolling around my home and I decided to put it to use. I got this kit and it's awesome. Storage space is getting cheaper, but with a kit like this, nothing goes to waste.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Arecibo. PR
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could Be Perfect

PostedJune 22, 2015
This adapter arrived with one wire loose on the feed to power the drives. It took me a while to figure out why the drives were not spinning up. I crimped it back on and it works just fine. Could be better quality control and perhaps a nice soldered connection.
Pros: adaptability
Cons: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Other World ComputingMarketingMarketingJune 23, 2015
We do spot check those cables for Quality Control. It is possible that either one cable was lose or became that way during the rigors of shipping. Regardless we'e glad you got it up and running. We do cover all the components with a 1 year warranty for exactly this reason.
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent adapter, very complete

PostedJune 11, 2015
Does just what the catalog says. I've used it to mount and clone a new HD for my MacBook. Very clear instructions; good quality. I am sure I'll use this many more times since I fix all the extended families' Macs.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: none
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 3, 2015
This device has been superb. Moving data between older discs and new computers or using it with recovery software has been superb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Functionally great, but one caveat

PostedApril 20, 2015
Product works very well to connect a bare drive to a computer via USB when a drive enclosure's connectors/electronics fail, to still use the old drive on occasion after upgrading to a higher-capacity internal drive without having to spend money on a separate enclosure for the old, low-cap drive, or if one wants to regularly use a bare drive for backup storage to put in a safe-deposit box, for example, among other uses.
The only complaint I have is that the quality and construction of the connector that connects with the cable from the power supply is abysmally poor - the individual pins move separately within the connector housing and must be individually aligned with the holes in the connector of the power supply cable. They are also easily pushed backwards out of the housing when trying to mate with the power supply cable. Other than that one connector, the quality of everything else seems just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Left Coast
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedApril 10, 2015
This adapter was just the thing to make my installation of an SDD go smoothly.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Berea, Ohio
Age: 55-65
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blazingly Fast!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Plug this adapter in a USB 3 port and the drive runs at full speed, unlike the previous versions of this product. 400 GB in about 1 & 1/2 hours. It also works with slower ports.
Each version of this product improves on its cabling though it is still a bit clunky. It is not meant for a permanent installation but very handy in an emergency.
Pros: Quality, really fast
Cons: connection is still a bit clunky
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Westport, CT
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedApril 5, 2015
Finally a product that enables old drives to be accessed externally!!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Brunei
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was fantastic!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
I bought this drive adapter to retrieve information from broken computers. My daughter had an old Apple iBook and lost the power / charger adapter. I took the drive out of it and in a few minutes had all of her information safely stored on my computer. Worked like a charm!
Pros: Quality, easy to use
Customer Avatar
from Wauconda, IL
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved the day

PostedMarch 21, 2015
My G4 Powerbook died unexpectedly and my back up wasn't current. First, I bought a OWC hard drive case. It didn't fit my very old Tech drive. This recommended adapter worked! It let me copy my files off the old hard drive. The connection is a bit funky, you have to carefully align the hard drive and the adapter. This has saved me hours of time updating files. Thanks OWC!
Pros: works for old tech
Cons: temporary use only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Acton, MA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product... as expected!

PostedMarch 16, 2015
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Montréal, Québec
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>