Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive via USB 3.0 interface. Adapter w/Power. Fast, Simple, Plug & Play. GREAT for transferring data, etc. 1 Year NewerTech Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Review 1 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMay 19, 2014
It is a very simple and useful product that allows to recover information from many different kind of old hard disks.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Santiago, Chile
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 28, 2014
Allowed me to easily recover valuable data from dead computer's hard drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability, all connectors provided
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features ...

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
A transparent housing would be appreciated for storage.
Pros: Quality, Durability, versatility
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hong Kong
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have for the techie ones!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
A very useful accessory...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just works

PostedDecember 12, 2013
An excellent utility device, helps me deal with the numerous raw drives and client computers in my crazy world.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfectally!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Works exactly as described. I tried it with 3.5" SATA and IDE drives as well as 2.5" SATA and IDE and all mounted and worked great. Only drives that did not show up were 100% Dead! I for sure would and have recommended this to other people.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Modesto, Ca
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works perfectly

PostedNovember 17, 2013
I really recommend it, easy to use and you can use it for any usb hard drive adapter. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bronx, New York
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what I needed... except

PostedJuly 18, 2013
To start, the thing is well built. I can tell it's not some cheap, crummy parts bin assembled device. As most Newer Technology things go, this is well made.
The adapter works great for me. I was looking for an adapter that supported USB 3.0, as I work on computers all day and constantly have to use USB 2.0 to transfer anywhere from 500MB to 400GB in one transfer.
It works great for that.
However, I have one complaint: It's not particularly portable. There are drive adapters that do not require the SATA (most often used connection these days) to have it's own dedicated power brick. It's great you can use 2.5" IDE drives without the brick, but you don't see IDE drives much in machines made in the last 8 years. I would have liked to see power and USB 3.0 plug into the block, with the SATA and SATA power connections on the adapter itself, so I don't have to have to juggle 5 different components excluding the drive itself to simply hook up a 2.5" SATA drive. USB 3.0 is easily capable of powering a 2.5" drive, so it would have been a full 5 stars if I could have used 2.5" SATA drives the same as it supports 2.5" IDE drives.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: unnecessary complexity
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Supports 4TB drives

PostedJune 22, 2013
I use it to attach a 4TB drive to my old 500GB TimeCapsule.
The TimeCapsule only seems to support 3TB internally.
Pros: Quality, Durability, inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Taiwan
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Universal Drive Adapter

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Works fantastic
i will give this product the thumbs up5 stars
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: no case
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Carnegie Australia
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Should I?

PostedNovember 30, 2012
This device does pretty much what it says. It has some drawbacks, which are minor, so here are the caveats: If you have USB 2 and not USB 3, don't expect fast speeds, but it will make the drive accessible and for just looking, it's O.K. If you want to do large file copying, be patient. Nothing like USB 3 or eSATA for this. I tried this unit with 3.5" IDE and a 3.5" SATA on a Mac, and a 2.5" IDE drive. It seems to work best with SATA. For IDE, one drive didn't mount reliably (it would disconnect itself after half a minute or so), and the others mounted a bit slowly, or on a second try. My 2.5" drive would not mount if directly connected to the unit. It worked fine with a cheap 2.5" to 3.5" adapter when I plugged into the cable for the 3.5" drives. This is on my system with a USB hub, you may have a different experience. Pay attention to the instructions, as jumper positions on 3.5" IDE drives are important. Without proper jumpers in place or the drive named properly, it will not mount. Also, remember that both USB plugs on the blue cable must be plugged in. I ran mine off a powered hub, which seemed to work O.K. Don't try to mount multiple drives. Once you have your setup going, don't touch anything! I found the wires to be touchy. The 12VDC power plug was a tight fit on and off, and one of the USB plugs was easy to pull out if you just barely moved the wire, so be careful. Basically a handy tool if you have an occasional drive land in your lap you want to get into.
Pros: useful time saver
Cons: connectors could use some fine tuning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Silverer
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Swiss Army Knife of Connectors

PostedJuly 11, 2012
This truly universal connector does the job; I just used it to connect a new SSD drive for loading before installing in a MacBook Pro. It is really the Swiss Army Knife of Connectors and will connect to most anything one can have.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
eash
from Las Cruces NM
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJune 16, 2012
functions as advertised
good quality cables, etc
with the salvaged drives I have on hand I was able to test all interfaces
my Macbook Air runs quieter and cooler with this unit because it provides power to the drives
I am able to use my full size drives (both ata(ide) and sata as well as full size DVD with my Macbook Air which gives me all the abilities of a desktop.
I couldn't be more pleased!
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
tobdaryl
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedMarch 5, 2012
I have paired this product with the newtech silicon sleeve and use this on a daily basis as an extra timemachine backup drive which I can put away in a safe. I have also used it to recover data from friends/family crashed hard drives. Great quality, comes with all the necessary adapters and dongles you'd ever need and, it is USB 3.0 capable. For the price, you can't beat this little gem.
Pros: Quality, Durability, cost, supplied accessories
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Weston, Fl
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as described, but manual missed a major step

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Instructions were wrong. and tech support gave me the wrong solution. You are supposed to plug in the USB 2.0 cable to your computer, but my unit did not work. My first tech support told me to jump pins 5 and 6. It isn't easy finding jumpers but I finally bummed one from a friend only to find it didn't help. A second tech support call told me I had to plug both of the 2 usb ends of the cable to the computer...which was the solution. The printed manual for the unit made no mention of this procedure; my assumption was that you only used one of the 2 USB connections.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
jrjung
from southern California
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: false
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.