Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
All
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive via USB 3.0 interface. Adapter w/Power. Fast, Simple, Plug & Play. GREAT for transferring data, etc. 1 Year NewerTech Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.83 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 out of 43(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Review 1 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works like it says. easy and adaptable!

PostedJuly 7, 2016
got this because of a dying drive...works perfect. shipped quick and the price is right! to bad my drive was more dead than alive :( but at least I was able to diagnose it with this tool! now I have this drive adapter for any future needs at all! :)
Pros: Durability, Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product to have

PostedJune 24, 2016
If you do your own computer repairs this is a great piece of equipment to have. I have used it to hook up hard drives to recover data.and also as a temporary external drive.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Northampton, MA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Upgrade from first gen Universal Drive Adapter

PostedJune 11, 2016
I purchased the first generation Universal Drive Adapter years ago and it had received quite a bit of use from formatting previously internal hard drives through to recovering data from failed external hard drives. With changes in hard drive size, I figured it was time to update to a new version and the speed difference is noticeable. Comes with all the required cables. Assisted greatly in quickly recovering data from a failed old network drive.
Very happy and almost essential for anyone who might find themselves fixing or upgrading their own or other peoples computers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Victoria, Australia
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does many jobs very well

PostedMay 15, 2016
Works exactly as advertised. Have used it to read from, write to, and sometimes initialise for Mac or Windows a variety of IDE and SATA drives, big and small. Also used it to read and write to CDs and DVDs.
Where devices need external power the included power-brick works flawlessly on Australia's 240V supply through a plug-adapter, and more recently after replacing its plug.
This Universal Drive Adapter has done every job I've given it so far very well. Those jobs included just about every drive variety listed in the adapter's specs. I deal with all types of bare drives so this is the tool I've always been dreaming about.
Pros: Quality, versatility
Cons: keeping its bits together
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Fremantle, Western Australia
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Tool

PostedMay 14, 2016
This worked just as advertised. Made the hard drive exchange a simple process.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect tool

PostedMarch 11, 2016
Must have for drive swapping easy to use and covers all combinations
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne Australia
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to work

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
I had a pile of old IDE drives lying around and wanted to see what was on them before trashing them. I was able to successfully use the adapter to connect to some of the drives, but not all of them. Not sure if it was an issue with the drives, or the adapter.
The cables, and power supplies take up a good bit of desktop space and are a bit clumsy to use.. but they do seem to work.
Pros: Quality
Cons: clumsy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from NC
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drive Adapter: Home Run

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
Great product when you've got a mac to update! This is my second one - a friend borrowed it and never returned it!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Newtown, CT
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Small

PostedDecember 18, 2015
I like to keep some offsite back ups. With this I can just use bare drives which is a nice cost savings. It is also nice to clone drives to new discs. The local service wanted 99$ !!! to clone my dad's new OWC SSD before they put it into his iMac. I ran over with this and did it for him.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Ventura, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential tool if you have multiple drives

PostedDecember 7, 2015
Well made, plugs a little tight till you use it a few times, works as it should and better. After I moved my drives to SSD it made transitions so much easier than the A to B and move to another bay and so forth.
The old drives, still good but slow are now in cases for backups and transfers off site.
It paid for itself in minutes....
Pros: Quality, Durability, universal
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Largo, Tampa Bay Area
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drive Reuse

PostedNovember 12, 2015
This is a great product! It has allowed me to re-use the 160GB hard drive from my late 1st generation AppleTV. The AppleTV died from a power supply failure but the hard drive was still perfectly good. Now I have a small extra backup drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the ticket

PostedOctober 20, 2015
I live a 1 hour airplane ride away from any qualified Mac repair shops. So, when my 27-inch iMac died, retrieving my data looked like it could be a major ordeal , until I came across this awesome device. It shipped quickly, was pretty inexpensive for what it was. I had the tools to take out my SDDs, and used this adapter to painlessly connect to them and to retrieve all my data. No software needed. Makes me feel that my data is much safer since it's easily retrievable from any of my other computers (so long as the SDD drive doesn't die). Probably worth having even if you've not had to retrieve data from a dead computer drive. Sooner or later that day comes to a lot of us, but if you're prepared, you'll be able to take that kind of event in your stride, or might be able to help out a friend in need.
Pros: Quality, easy to use
Cons: can't think of any
Customer Avatar
from Virgin Islands
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Any disk possible

PostedSeptember 14, 2015
this is great, got data off all my old drives, even the ancient IDE ones, sweet
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from BrisVegas
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOT like the cheapies!

PostedJuly 17, 2015
This one's made for the long haul-I've purchased three so far. One for hubby-one for the house 'puter, and one for the "travel 'puter". Works on any kind of computer, Mac, PC, is recognized by any OS (well, maybe not, but OSX, Windows, and Linux for sure.) Husband was skeptical because he's already gone through two "similar" units. Cheaply-made ones that die within a couple years. He sighed when I handed him "yet another" adapter. (His last adapter wasn't being recognized by Windows when it was attached.) I told him to give this one a try. He did. He likes. Life is good. Another winner product from OWC. What else needs to be said other than Thanks again for offering such excellent quality add-ons. Please continue doing what others don't, and I'll continue to be a loyal customer!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Hollywood
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Had a bad power cord on my first one, that was replaced as soon as I mentioned it, with no cost and no drama. The unit works great, and it one of the most useful tech tools I have ever owned.
Pros: Quality, Durability, cost
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely practical

PostedJuly 3, 2015
I had a 5.25" Drive rolling around my home and I decided to put it to use. I got this kit and it's awesome. Storage space is getting cheaper, but with a kit like this, nothing goes to waste.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Arecibo. PR
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could Be Perfect

PostedJune 22, 2015
This adapter arrived with one wire loose on the feed to power the drives. It took me a while to figure out why the drives were not spinning up. I crimped it back on and it works just fine. Could be better quality control and perhaps a nice soldered connection.
Pros: adaptability
Cons: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Other World ComputingMarketingMarketingJune 23, 2015
We do spot check those cables for Quality Control. It is possible that either one cable was lose or became that way during the rigors of shipping. Regardless we'e glad you got it up and running. We do cover all the components with a 1 year warranty for exactly this reason.
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent adapter, very complete

PostedJune 11, 2015
Does just what the catalog says. I've used it to mount and clone a new HD for my MacBook. Very clear instructions; good quality. I am sure I'll use this many more times since I fix all the extended families' Macs.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: none
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 3, 2015
This device has been superb. Moving data between older discs and new computers or using it with recovery software has been superb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Functionally great, but one caveat

PostedApril 20, 2015
Product works very well to connect a bare drive to a computer via USB when a drive enclosure's connectors/electronics fail, to still use the old drive on occasion after upgrading to a higher-capacity internal drive without having to spend money on a separate enclosure for the old, low-cap drive, or if one wants to regularly use a bare drive for backup storage to put in a safe-deposit box, for example, among other uses.
The only complaint I have is that the quality and construction of the connector that connects with the cable from the power supply is abysmally poor - the individual pins move separately within the connector housing and must be individually aligned with the holes in the connector of the power supply cable. They are also easily pushed backwards out of the housing when trying to mate with the power supply cable. Other than that one connector, the quality of everything else seems just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Left Coast
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>