Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

Newer Technology NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive via USB 3.0 interface. Adapter w/Power. Fast, Simple, Plug & Play. GREAT for transferring data, etc. 1 Year NewerTech Limited Warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Review 1 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedApril 10, 2015
This adapter was just the thing to make my installation of an SDD go smoothly.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Berea, Ohio
Age: 55-65
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blazingly Fast!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Plug this adapter in a USB 3 port and the drive runs at full speed, unlike the previous versions of this product. 400 GB in about 1 & 1/2 hours. It also works with slower ports.
Each version of this product improves on its cabling though it is still a bit clunky. It is not meant for a permanent installation but very handy in an emergency.
Pros: Quality, really fast
Cons: connection is still a bit clunky
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Westport, CT
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedApril 5, 2015
Finally a product that enables old drives to be accessed externally!!
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
jep7375
from Brunei
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was fantastic!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
I bought this drive adapter to retrieve information from broken computers. My daughter had an old Apple iBook and lost the power / charger adapter. I took the drive out of it and in a few minutes had all of her information safely stored on my computer. Worked like a charm!
Pros: Quality, easy to use
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Wauconda, IL
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved the day

PostedMarch 21, 2015
My G4 Powerbook died unexpectedly and my back up wasn't current. First, I bought a OWC hard drive case. It didn't fit my very old Tech drive. This recommended adapter worked! It let me copy my files off the old hard drive. The connection is a bit funky, you have to carefully align the hard drive and the adapter. This has saved me hours of time updating files. Thanks OWC!
Pros: works for old tech
Cons: temporary use only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Acton, MA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product... as expected!

PostedMarch 16, 2015
This customer did not provide a text review.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Montréal, Québec
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to have around for transferring data

PostedMarch 8, 2015
I bought this Universal Drive Adapter to replace the previous model, which I had misplaced and believed to be lost (I eventually found it). This model has all the capabilities of the prior model in being able to interface to any 2.5, 3.5 or 5.25 inch drive of any interface type (SATA, IDE, SCSI) but also has a USB 3 interface to the Mac (the prior model had USB 2). None of my Macs are USB 3 capable, but that will change as I replace them, and then this adapter will really come into its own.
Pros: ability to handle all types of drives
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Westland, MI
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 3-4 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Just what i needed to do the job!
Fast delivery, worked right out of the box and save the HD from my dead LaCie and didn't have to pay for a useless transformer from LaCie.
I know i'll be using it again in the future.
If you think you need it then buy it
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-saver in difficult situations

PostedDecember 1, 2014
This adapter makes connecting, backing up, rescuing/restoring hard disks of different sizes and configurations a breeze. It has been a life-saver in situations of unforeseen hard disk crashes. Highly recommended tool for any computer user and enthusiast.
Pros: Quality, Durability, just works
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Great multi connection hardware kit. I need to wipe out old business hard drive and this kit is very helpful to help me accomplish such a task.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedAugust 31, 2014
This product performs exactly as promised.
One minor problem was connecting the power feed to the sata connector due to one loose terminal. With some gentle persuasion it seated just fine but I won't disconnect it unless I have to.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: power connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Souther NH
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 19, 2014
This is a great item for anyone with extra hard drives laying around or for a tech wanting the ability to connect with a wide array of devices.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Canada
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMay 19, 2014
It is a very simple and useful product that allows to recover information from many different kind of old hard disks.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Santiago, Chile
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 28, 2014
Allowed me to easily recover valuable data from dead computer's hard drive.
Pros: Quality, Durability, all connectors provided
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features ...

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
A transparent housing would be appreciated for storage.
Pros: Quality, Durability, versatility
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hong Kong
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have for the techie ones!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
A very useful accessory...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just works

PostedDecember 12, 2013
An excellent utility device, helps me deal with the numerous raw drives and client computers in my crazy world.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfectally!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Works exactly as described. I tried it with 3.5" SATA and IDE drives as well as 2.5" SATA and IDE and all mounted and worked great. Only drives that did not show up were 100% Dead! I for sure would and have recommended this to other people.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Modesto, Ca
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works perfectly

PostedNovember 17, 2013
I really recommend it, easy to use and you can use it for any usb hard drive adapter. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bronx, New York
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Home User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what I needed... except

PostedJuly 18, 2013
To start, the thing is well built. I can tell it's not some cheap, crummy parts bin assembled device. As most Newer Technology things go, this is well made.
The adapter works great for me. I was looking for an adapter that supported USB 3.0, as I work on computers all day and constantly have to use USB 2.0 to transfer anywhere from 500MB to 400GB in one transfer.
It works great for that.
However, I have one complaint: It's not particularly portable. There are drive adapters that do not require the SATA (most often used connection these days) to have it's own dedicated power brick. It's great you can use 2.5" IDE drives without the brick, but you don't see IDE drives much in machines made in the last 8 years. I would have liked to see power and USB 3.0 plug into the block, with the SATA and SATA power connections on the adapter itself, so I don't have to have to juggle 5 different components excluding the drive itself to simply hook up a 2.5" SATA drive. USB 3.0 is easily capable of powering a 2.5" drive, so it would have been a full 5 stars if I could have used 2.5" SATA drives the same as it supports 2.5" IDE drives.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: unnecessary complexity
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>