Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Matias Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!

Matias Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!

Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period! Uses Alps mechanical keyswitches, for positive feel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! White color. Matias 1 Year Limited Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Review 1 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
I forgot how much I liked the older style keyboards. I am not a super fast typer but I absolutely can type faster on this device. It sounds great - some may think loud - but I think it sounds awesome.
The immediate feeedback of pressing the keys is something you miss more than you remember.
Let's get the old Mac one button mouse back from 1984?
Pros: Quality, feel
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from New York
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Mac Mechanical Keyboard

PostedAugust 3, 2015
I was sick of using the "chiclet" keyboard that comes with all new Macs. I yearned for the good old days of mechanical keyboards. So I thought I'd give this keyboard a try. I couldn't be happier! My typing speed and accuracy have improved on this keyboard. It's USB so it was just plug and play, (it has a really nice LONG cord) set up was super simple, no drivers to install. This is an extended keyboard, so you have the number pad included. All the function keys are the same as the standard Mac keyboard, including the media eject button. A nice touch is that the keys have the character, shift character, AND option/shift characters printed right on them. So accessing special characters is very easy and convenient. This is a mechanical keyboard, so be aware that it's NOT whisper quiet, rather, this keyboard sings to you. This is exactly what I was looking for!
Pros: Quality, Durability, special characters printed on keys
Cons: only available in white, slightly rounded sides give it a larger footprint
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Spring Valley, CA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE keyboard for touch typists

PostedJuly 30, 2015
The best keyboard since the legendary Apple Extended II Keyboard. Clickity-clack, sculptured keycaps and the positive feel of the key hitting home. If you're a touch typist this keyboard is worth every penny. The laptop-style keyboards Apple is selling now are complete JUNK. I can't feel a thing. If I'm going to be doing some serious work on someone else's computer I take my keyboard along.
Pros: Quality, Durability, excellent tactile and audible feedback
Cons: price (but who really cares?)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Mid-atlantic USA
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedJune 11, 2015
I received the product in two short days. Unfortunately, there was a problem with the Caps Lock button such that half the letters would be wrongly capitalized. No problem. I called service, got the info to e-mail the correct department about the problem, and within another two days, I received a new keyboard which has worked flawlessly. Their service people were polite, professional, and quick. The keyboard works great, as advertised, and, to me, is worth the money. It's the closest computer keyboard to the old typewriters I used to type 100 wpm on that I've experienced. Mainly, the depth of touch makes it superior, in my opinion. The noise it produces is negligible to me, though I suppose if there's an office mate in very close proximity and they're sound-sensitive, it might be annoying.
Pros: Quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from western mass
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch! Hands Down, The Best!

PostedApril 29, 2015
My last Matias lasted me through 4 or 5 Macs. After years, I had a problem with key repeat on two keys. Without hesitation, I purchased the new Tactile Pro, which, I might add is even better than my old one, and I am just thrilled. Some people complain about the noise this keyboard makes, but it is a non-problem for me. I am a fast typist running about 60 wpm and I could never reach any decent speed with the stock keyboard for the Mac. I find this keyboard is ever so much more accommodating to the touch typist. I really like the fact that all of the different characters are so easily available to include in any text you might create. This keyboard seems to have everything that a Mac user could possibly want. Yes, it is not cheap, but when my first keyboard lasted for so many years, I felt it was well worth it. I would do it again too.
Pros: Quality, Durability, full mac support, 3 usb ports
Cons: some complain of the noise
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from SF Bay Area, CA
Experience Level: Power User
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

PostedApril 28, 2015
This isn't an Apple Extended Keyboard II (still my favorite, bar none), but it's about as close as you can get. The quality is great and Matias's customer service is excellent if you ever have any trouble. I'd highly recommend this, as long as you and the people around you can handle the noisy keys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from caddyzig
Age: 35-44
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Keyboard

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Bought this keyboard for my Mac Pro due to it's 100% compatibility and "stock-ness" of the keys.
Anyone looking into purchasing a mechanical keyboard for any Mac should consider this keyboard. The only drawback, as many know, is the sound this makes when typing; just a bit on the loud side. Perfect for those who work in a closed office or workspace but not good for those working near others.
So, I am going to purchase the quite version of this keyboard and re-purpose this to my second office, and not my primary.
Pros: Quality, Durability, great feel, tactile keys
Cons: loud, cheap plastics
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Hobbiest
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry folks, but this is FAR from the best

PostedDecember 23, 2014
If you read customer reviews on the keyboard on sites like Amazon, you'll see it gets high ratings from everyone ... until the thing stops working. Then Matias' paltry 1-year warranty comes back to bite you. That's what happened to me, 15 months in my A key stops working. Contacting them nets you an "enhanced" "loyalty discount" of 30% off / free shipping on a replacement. No chance of getting fixed -- either junk it and eat the cost or pay them to get a replacement. Seriously?? I want to buy quality stuff, not throwaways. But can buy 5 wireless keyboard from a Big Box for the price of one of these. All I can say is, think twice before you spend money with Matias.
Cons: Durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Most Pleased

PostedNovember 18, 2014
The price is more than "a bit much" so the missing star is for that reason, otherwise it is a definite 5 Star product. I've only had it for about a month and all seems to be working well. It's nice to have a trackpad that requires the occasional USB charge for it's wireless needs (Logitech T651) so the USB port, on both sides, comes in very handy.
The feel and sound of the board gives me the reassurance that I am really typing and not "feeling up" some flimsy plastic. The F keys, to F18 are working well and do all those Apple things we enjoy, including the release of the DVD though few newer Apple products have optical drives. I am willingly and happily giving into the USB cable that goes from this device to my IMac for the all the above reasons. In actiont is close to my Unicomp Window keyboard and for that I am most pleased.
Pros: Quality, Durability, sound & feel
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from California
Age: Over 65
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only Keyboard 4 Me

PostedOctober 20, 2014
After reading reviews from various computer mags, I decided to take the plunge. Boy am I happy I did! Over the years, as laptops became more popular, low profile keyboards have become standard for the iMac. When I use these, I have far more typos. Not with this new keyboard! I can "feel" the keys and the stroke is long enough to give the confidence that the key is correctly typed.
I can fly on this keyboard, easily doubling my old speeds on those "flat" keyboards. Needless to say, I love my keyboard.
Pros: Quality, Durability, "feel", accuracy
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Southern Calif
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Bought this for my mom and she loves it! I have used hers occasionally and am thinking of getting one for myself. :) It is a little noisy, but otherwise a great keyboard.
Pros: Quality, solid reponds well
Cons: noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Gamer
Owned Product: over 6 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC - Products & Service

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Service is alway great. and as far as the product - a Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - I just received my second one, for our other computer.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb keyboard

PostedMay 25, 2014
In Spring 2012, I purchased two of these keyboards -- one for work and one for home -- after I was diagnosed with carpal-tunnel syndrome brought on by intense writing sessions on my 2008 MacBook Pro. My investment was imminently worthwhile. I have nearly completely recovered from my RSI, despite continuing to type extensively. One of my keyboard's space bar failed this past spring, so I immediately replaced this keyboard with another Matias Tactile Pro 4.0 from OWC.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent recommendation from OWC

PostedMay 1, 2014
I was thinking of the quieter, Matias keyboard and, while speaking with one of the OWC crew, I asked what she preferred. She asked me when I came into computers and was able to ascertain my affection for earlier, clackity clack mechanicals and also disclosed that this keyboard was what she used. I have not regretted the choice. Smooth, with a low resistance key stroke, with great auditory feedback and a crisp definition of effective depression. Some have stated that the keyboard looks cheap..., not to my eye. It is clean and sleek. The key labels are helpful, if a bit busy. I haven't been using it long enough to comment on durability. Time will tell. Although I don't particularly like USB keyboard, my experience with this keyboard and the Matias Alps mechanical key switches, as well as the wonderful sculpted key tops, I'll be purchasing another for my home computer. The service and responsiveness of the OWC team is phenomenal. Best service I've ever encountered. So much so, that I always check to see if components I'm interested are available from them. They are my first choice.
Pros: Quality, look, feel, sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, MN
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute best keyboard made for a Mac

PostedMay 1, 2014
Use with my Mac Pro works as well as the old IBM keyboards I learned on. Current Keyboards do not give any feed back when typing this one does
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good keyboard but not for everyone

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
The keyboard has a very solid feel and I really like the full size of the keyboard with its number keypad. I also like the tactile feel of the keys and the clicking sound of the mechanical switches. However, my wife hates it because of the the afore mentioned keyboard clicking - which I love.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Central NY
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great keyboard, but does't last long

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
I've been crazy enough to go through four of these keyboards over the years, and honestly, I've had enough. While they are good, they always fail after about 1-3 years, after the warranty is out. My first two had the letters wear off, which they improved with later models. My third keyboard had some keys stop functioning. Now my fourth keyboard, bought a few years ago, will not work at all (just the Shift Lock key lights up, nothing more).
For what I have paid for these keyboards, I would expect this to last for many years, but they have not. I will not spend another $100+ on poor durability. Goodbye Matias, forever!
Pros: Quality
Cons: Durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Keyboard

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Yes, it is the absolute best keyboard I have ever used!!! I have a heavy touch and really like the feel of the Pro Keyboard 4.0. My previous keyboard: DasKeyboard, was considerably more expensive and does not compare
to this one.
For some reason I cannot explain, my typing is now almost error free, a considerable improvement.
I would give this keyboard a 10 star rating if I could. Try it, you will like it.
Pros: Quality, Durability, touch feel
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Morristown, New Jersey
Age: Over 65
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Feels Great, but E-key Died After 1 Month of Use.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I love the feel of the keyboard. The tactile feedback when typing is great. It does remind me of my original Apple Extended Keyboard from the days of my ADB Macs. The noise of the keyboard clicks is nice too, unless you're typing late at night.
For the first month, I thought that this was a great keyboard. I was happy until the E-key died. This keyboard is too expensive for a key to have died after less than a single month of use.
I am working to get a replacement keyboard, but at the moment, I am a frustrated typist since I've had to go back to my Apple keyboard.
Pros: great tactile feedback
Cons: Durability
Response from Other World ComputingMarketingFebruary 27, 2013
Your experience definitely isn't typical encountering a non-functional key on these keyboards. The product does come with a 1 Year Warranty directly through Matias and they're usually quite expedient with warranty repairs and replacements. You can contact them directly at 1-888-663-4263 if you haven't already done so.
Customer Avatar
from Southern California
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Matias Tactile Pro USB 2.0 Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"HANDS DOWN" BEST KEYBOARD EVER!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
This keyboard hands down is the nicest I have ever owned, BAR NONE. The built in USB hub is a bonus!!!!!!! All I can say is keep on pumping out the wonderful products. :-)
Pros: Quality, Durability, built in usb hub
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
from Southwestern Michigan
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>