Other World Computing Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Other World Computing

Customer Reviews for Matias Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!

Matias Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!

Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period! Uses Alps mechanical keyswitches, for positive feel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! White color. Matias 1 Year Limited Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Review 1 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
I forgot how much I liked the older style keyboards. I am not a super fast typer but I absolutely can type faster on this device. It sounds great - some may think loud - but I think it sounds awesome.
The immediate feeedback of pressing the keys is something you miss more than you remember.
Let's get the old Mac one button mouse back from 1984?
Pros: Quality, feel
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Jchirico
from New York
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OWC - Products & Service

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Service is alway great. and as far as the product - a Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - I just received my second one, for our other computer.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Seattle, WA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb keyboard

PostedMay 25, 2014
In Spring 2012, I purchased two of these keyboards -- one for work and one for home -- after I was diagnosed with carpal-tunnel syndrome brought on by intense writing sessions on my 2008 MacBook Pro. My investment was imminently worthwhile. I have nearly completely recovered from my RSI, despite continuing to type extensively. One of my keyboard's space bar failed this past spring, so I immediately replaced this keyboard with another Matias Tactile Pro 4.0 from OWC.
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent recommendation from OWC

PostedMay 1, 2014
I was thinking of the quieter, Matias keyboard and, while speaking with one of the OWC crew, I asked what she preferred. She asked me when I came into computers and was able to ascertain my affection for earlier, clackity clack mechanicals and also disclosed that this keyboard was what she used. I have not regretted the choice. Smooth, with a low resistance key stroke, with great auditory feedback and a crisp definition of effective depression. Some have stated that the keyboard looks cheap..., not to my eye. It is clean and sleek. The key labels are helpful, if a bit busy. I haven't been using it long enough to comment on durability. Time will tell. Although I don't particularly like USB keyboard, my experience with this keyboard and the Matias Alps mechanical key switches, as well as the wonderful sculpted key tops, I'll be purchasing another for my home computer. The service and responsiveness of the OWC team is phenomenal. Best service I've ever encountered. So much so, that I always check to see if components I'm interested are available from them. They are my first choice.
Pros: Quality, look, feel, sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Rochester, MN
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute best keyboard made for a Mac

PostedMay 1, 2014
Use with my Mac Pro works as well as the old IBM keyboards I learned on. Current Keyboards do not give any feed back when typing this one does
Pros: Quality, Durability
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good keyboard but not for everyone

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
The keyboard has a very solid feel and I really like the full size of the keyboard with its number keypad. I also like the tactile feel of the keys and the clicking sound of the mechanical switches. However, my wife hates it because of the the afore mentioned keyboard clicking - which I love.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Central NY
Age: Over 65
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great keyboard, but does't last long

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
I've been crazy enough to go through four of these keyboards over the years, and honestly, I've had enough. While they are good, they always fail after about 1-3 years, after the warranty is out. My first two had the letters wear off, which they improved with later models. My third keyboard had some keys stop functioning. Now my fourth keyboard, bought a few years ago, will not work at all (just the Shift Lock key lights up, nothing more).
For what I have paid for these keyboards, I would expect this to last for many years, but they have not. I will not spend another $100+ on poor durability. Goodbye Matias, forever!
Pros: Quality
Cons: Durability
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Milwaukee, WI
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Keyboard

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Yes, it is the absolute best keyboard I have ever used!!! I have a heavy touch and really like the feel of the Pro Keyboard 4.0. My previous keyboard: DasKeyboard, was considerably more expensive and does not compare
to this one.
For some reason I cannot explain, my typing is now almost error free, a considerable improvement.
I would give this keyboard a 10 star rating if I could. Try it, you will like it.
Pros: Quality, Durability, touch feel
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Morristown, New Jersey
Age: Over 65
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Feels Great, but E-key Died After 1 Month of Use.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I love the feel of the keyboard. The tactile feedback when typing is great. It does remind me of my original Apple Extended Keyboard from the days of my ADB Macs. The noise of the keyboard clicks is nice too, unless you're typing late at night.
For the first month, I thought that this was a great keyboard. I was happy until the E-key died. This keyboard is too expensive for a key to have died after less than a single month of use.
I am working to get a replacement keyboard, but at the moment, I am a frustrated typist since I've had to go back to my Apple keyboard.
Pros: great tactile feedback
Cons: Durability
Response from Other World ComputingMarketingFebruary 27, 2013
Your experience definitely isn't typical encountering a non-functional key on these keyboards. The product does come with a 1 Year Warranty directly through Matias and they're usually quite expedient with warranty repairs and replacements. You can contact them directly at 1-888-663-4263 if you haven't already done so.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Southern California
Age: 45-54
Experience Level: IT Professional
Owned Product: 1-3 months
Verified Buyer: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"HANDS DOWN" BEST KEYBOARD EVER!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
This keyboard hands down is the nicest I have ever owned, BAR NONE. The built in USB hub is a bonus!!!!!!! All I can say is keep on pumping out the wonderful products. :-)
Pros: Quality, Durability, built in usb hub
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Southwestern Michigan
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: 5-6 months
Verified Buyer: false
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great keyboard - should have bought one sooner

PostedMarch 30, 2012
The last mechanical keyboard I owned was an old Apple Extended II - and that was a long time ago. Since then, I've spent over a decade using the mediocre Apple keyboards (all rubber dome) that followed it. I held off on buying another mechanical keyboard for a long time before I finally caved in. I'm very happy I finally did.
Overall, the keyboard feels great. I'm already typing with far more accuracy than I was able to with the slim aluminum keyboard that came with my Mac Pro. I love these ALPS switches! The TP3 is built like a TANK and feels like it will last for years. The 3 downstream USB ports on the keyboard are very welcome. The extended characters printed on the alpha keys are a nice touch.
Being a tactile mechanical keyboard, the keys are noisy, especially when bottoming out. But I fully expected this prior to buying it, so it's not a deal breaker.
Perhaps my only complaints (very minor) are:
1. The Option keys are rather small (normal key size) and take getting used to.
2. Several Apple-specific F-key shortcuts (such as Expose, Dashboard, media transport controls) are completely missing. And since there is no second function (Fn) key, I don't think there's a way to map them as secondary functions on the F-keys. Strangely, they left the old classic OS "Help" key in the middle cluster on this board, which doesn't seem to do anything in OS X. So why not put an "Fn" key in its place?
3. Matias should consider adding Eject key functionality to their Windows driver. If Apple has been able to do this on their own keyboards using their Boot Camp drivers, I can't see why it cannot be done here.
In summary, I highly recommend this keyboard to any Mac user that does a lot of typing, as long as they're fine with the noise it generates. There's not a lot of high-quality keyboard options for Mac users and Matias seems to do the best job out of the very few that are available.
Pros: Quality, Durability, overall feel
Cons: loud (but expected), missing f-key shortcuts present on apple keyboards
I would recommend this to a friend!
Customer Avatar
Nick
from Tempe, AZ
Age: 25-34
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Matias Tactile Pro Keyboard 4.0 - the absolute BEST keyboard made for the Mac - period!
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best--Particularly if you come from the PC World

PostedDecember 3, 2011
What is it with dedicated Mac keyboards? Typically the best of them are like a bad laptop. Maybe it is because Mac users come from the visual world, or today's Mac user never learned to properly type. Well, I'm a graphic designer, studied industrial design and also am a writer and a fast typist. If you are used to a "proper" keyboard--one with key travel, and one you can type on, this is it. Will probably outlast your Mac, and maybe even you. It is everything they say it is. When the package arrived, I had mine installed in about 2 minutes. I'm a 100 WPM typer, and you CANNOT do that on a typical "sleek and sexy" Apple keyboard, or many similar low profile keyboards. If you complain about typical Mac keyboards, this will be the last keyboard you ever need. I installed mine on a Mac Pro tower.
Pros: Quality, Durability
Cons: corded not wireless
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
240GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 3G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm Solid State Drive.
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Customer Avatar
Mitch
from Michigan, USA
Age: 55-65
Experience Level: Power User
Owned Product: less than a month
Verified Buyer: true
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.